Utah Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of campgrounds in which we have stayed in the state of Utah.

For details on how we choose a campground and our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

The reviews you find here will be from most recent to oldest since the older the review, the less relevant it may be. The "Overall Rating" is on a scale of 1 - 10 with 10 being the best.

Also, you will notice that each listing shows a corresponding "Journal Site" number. This refers to when our stay occurred in our journey and the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our daily Journal. By going to our Journal for the dates indicated in the review, you may be able to find out more about the campground and the area - but no promises. :)



Direct Links To Utah Reviews Below

Palisade State Park, Sterling, Utah - May 2009

Devil's Garden Campground, Arches National Park, Moab, Utah - March/April 2009

Goosenecks State Park, Mexican Hat, Utah - February 2009

Lockhart Basin BLM Boondocking Campsite, Monticello, Utah - May 2008

Squaw Flat Campground, Needles District, Canyonlands National Park, Monticello, Utah - May 2008

Devil's Garden Campground, Arches National Park, Moab, Utah - March/April 2008



Journal Site 122: Palisade State Park, Sterling, UT - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: May 4 - May 7, 2009
Location: In central Utah off U.S. Highway 89 north of I-70 and east of I-15. About 2 miles east of the small town of Sterling.
Our Site: 8 in the Wakara section.
GPS Coordinates: 39.20609N, 111.6648W
Reason Selected: Looked like a great stopping point between workamping gigs - between Moab, UT and Chester, CA.
Setting: Campground is in a mountain valley at 5,800 feet elevation on a small reservoir. The sites are all paved and all have varying degrees of lake views. The location of the park is beautiful. The campsites individually don't have a lot of character - many are like spurs in a parking lot.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Very big rig friendly. The Wakara section is new and the sites are enormous. But the other sections can accommodate large rigs as well.
Hook-ups: About half of the 53 sites have full hook-ups with 50-amp service. The other half have no hook-ups. There is a dump station, places to take on water, and bathhouses with showers.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts:$25 for full hook-ups. $16 for no hook-ups. Also, there is an extra vehicle fee of half the cost of whatever type site you are in. But if you have an extra vehicle and are traveling as a single or couple, they may waive the extra vehicle fee if you ask and assure them you won't be having several other people join you. :)
Other Factors: Satellite isn't a problem in most sites. Really nice 18-hole golf course on-site with a snack bar/grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner. A long way from everything, but there is a gas station in Sterling that has gas and diesel. Fourteen miles up U.S. Hwy 89 in the town of Ephraim is a Super Wal-mart. Canoe and paddle-boat rentals and fishing in the Palisade lake. Two hiking trails. Pretty good cell coverage.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
We heard that this state park is the most popular state park in Utah on weekends. It's a really nice out-of-the-way facility. The full hook-ups sites are very large, but the water pressure is lousy. We had to fill our fresh water tank and use our pump for better water flow. Almost all the sites are reservable and they get booked way in advance for the weekends, but availability is pretty good during the week. We loved this little state park, but we weren't crazy about the way the sites are set up. Don't get me wrong, it's much better than an RV park, but the sites don't have the privacy or character of most state parks we've visited. Still, an 8 rating certainly is pretty good. And if you are a golfer, add a half a point. :)

Palisade State Park


Back To Utah Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 121: Devil's Garden Campground, Arches National Park - Overall Rating: 8

See Devil's Garden Campground, Arches National Park, Moab, Utah - March/April 2008.


Journal Site 120: Goosenecks State Park, Mexican Hat, UT - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: February 23 - February 26, 2009
Location: In the southeast corner of Utah near the town of Mexican Hat. Turn off U.S. Hwy 191 onto Utah Hwy 261. About 4 miles off Hwy 261.
Our Site: No designated site numbers. But we were in the large parking area that is part of the park overlooking the gooseneck turns of the San Juan River. The website says "four" sites, but the sites are not designated and there is room for more.
GPS Coordinates: 37.17462N, 109.9263W
Reason Selected: Recommended by friends who we joined there on our way to Moab, Utah for a workamping job at Arches National Park.
Setting: Wide open spot on the edge of a 1,000 foot canyon overlooking the gooseneck turns of the San Juan River. The right photo above is looking out of the rear window of the RV. Red rock views to the north and south including distant views of Monument Valley, AZ.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of space for rigs of all sizes. The road is paved all the way to the park. However, the parking area for RVs is dirt with some rough, rocky areas. Not a big problem, but care is required when parking. At the time of our visit, we made a large loop in the paved visitor parking area so we could hug the right side as we entered the dirt area to avoid some larger rocks and rough terrain.
Hook-ups: None. Pure boondocking. Pit toilets only and no dump station. No place to take on water at the park, but you can get water at the gas station in Mexican Hat about seven miles away.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts:Free!!
Other Factors: A long way from everything, but minimal supplies and gas/diesel is available at Mexican Hat. Spectacular views. Not much to do at this small 10-acre park except enjoy the views and walk the canyon rim. Satellite is certainly no problem.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
A fantastic place to boondock. Excellent open area for satellite and solar panels. I would caution that the wind could get pretty bad. Goosenecks is about an hour's drive to Monument Valley and a few minutes' drive to the beautiful red rock formations of Valley of the Gods. Also, there are terrific views from the nearby Moki Dugway and Muley Point. Natural Bridges National Monument is also about an hour's driving time. If you like boondocking away from the crowds with spectacular views and easy access to more incredible landscapes, this ain't bad. :)

Goosenecks State Park


Back To Utah Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 95: Lockhart Basin BLM Boondocking Site - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: May 2 - May 7, 2008
Location: About 30 miles from Hwy 191 on County Road 211 going toward the Needles District of Arches National Park. Half mile from 211 on Lockhart Basin Road. About an hour and a half south of Moab.
Our Site: A big open dirt site
GPS Coordinates: 38.18240N, 109.668W
Reason Selected: Great free boondocking site from which to explore The Needles (Canyonlands NP) and surrounding area.
Setting: A beautiful spot on BLM land with red rock views in the high Utah desert. Just a few feet of the Lockhart Basin Scenic By-way dirt road.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of space for rigs of all sizes. We had two big rigs in there and both of us had extra vehicles. Need to be patient when driving in on the dirt road as it is a bit washboardy. There are two ways to get into the site - one is a little rocky with the possibility of dragging but the other is no problem.
Hook-ups: None. Pure boondocking. There is a dump station at the Needles Outpost about five miles away, but the better choice is at an RV park in Monticello about 45 miles away.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts:Free!!
Other Factors: A long way from everything, but minimal supplies and expensive gas (not diesel) is available at the Needles Outpost a few miles away.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
A great place to boondock. Excellent open area for satellite and solar panels. Because it is so close to the dirt road, it can get dusty with traffic if the breeze is not blowing the right way. And you can get sandblasted in high winds, although it is somewhat protected from the west by some rock outcroppings. We were able to get cell coverage with our amplifier. Be sure to arrive with water in your tanks. Our first true boondocking experience and it will be hard to beat. :)

BLM Camping Moab Division


Back To Utah Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 94: Squaw Flat Campground, Needles District, Canyonlands National Park - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: May 1, 2008
Location: About 35 miles from Hwy 191 on County Road 211. The county road is between Moab (about 60 miles) and Monticello (about 12 miles).
Our Site: 6
GPS Coordinates: 38.1456N, 109.7988W
Reason Selected: Had visited Needles while camphosting at Arches and we wanted to spend a few days to do some hiking.
Setting: Two camping loops. Paved sites. Loop A has some great views and the sites are sheltered from the west by large rock formations. Loop B has smaller sites and less protection. Lots of space between sites.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Limited big rig sites, and with them all being first come, first serve, it would be a heck of a gamble to drive 35 miles hoping to get one. There is room to maneuver if you can get in.
Hook-ups: No hook-ups. There are flush toilets and pit toilets (very, very clean). No showers. And there are a few water spigots to fill up fresh water tanks. There is NO dump station.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts:$15 per night. $7.50 with America The Beautiful Senior Pass.
Other Factors: We really liked this campground - we were able to get a site because of our camphost jobs at Arches National Park, a sister park to Canyonlands. But in order to get a site, you have to arrive early in the morning and hope to get one in which you can fit. If you can't get in, your options for big rigs are limited to the Needles Outpost commercial campground (more suited to tents, pop-ups, and truck campers), boondocking on BLM land outside the park, or driving at least 50 miles to an RV park.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
I'm giving this campground an 8 because it does have some terrific sites and it is really nice to be in Needles for exploring. But I would never go higher than that without hook-ups, no dump station, and no showers. And the risk of driving all the way in and not getting a site is just too high unless you are willing to do some boondocking. The best thing to do is take your tow vehicle or toad in around 7:30 or 8:00 am and scout the tickets on the posts to see which sites are supposed to be vacating. Then you just have to hang out and wait until they leave (they can still extend until the time they actually leave and check-out is 10:00 am) to claim the site you want. Then you can go get your trailer or motorhome. It's not a great system for big rigs, but it's about the best you can do. If you want to just drive in and chance it, your odds are better mid-week and when the weather is not very good. :)

Canyonlands National Park Camping


Back To Utah Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 93: Devil's Garden Campground, Arches National Park - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: February 28, 2008 - April 30, 2008 & February 26, 2009 - April 30, 2009
Location: Four miles north of Moab on Hwy 191. Actually, the campground is 18 miles into Arches National Park at the end of the park road.
Our Site: Well, we were campground hosts for most of our time there and lived in the host "cabin". But we did stay in Site 24 for a couple nights and Site 22 for a few nights as well.
GPS Coordinates: 38.61389N, 109.59333W
Reason Selected: Took a position as campground hosts for March & April 2008 and March & April 2009.
Setting: Absolutely beautiful Arches National Park with red rock formations all around and a view of the La Sal Mountains.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Yes, but sites for big rigs are limited. Shoot for site 7, 11, 19, 21, 22, 24 (a little narrow) in the non-reservable section. In the reservable section, sites 27, 46, and 52 are the best options. Be careful of the sites described as "pull-throughs" on the reservation website. They are really shoulders/pull-offs, on the campground road. They'll work, but they won't be what you expected.
Hook-ups: No hook-ups. Bathrooms with flush toilets, but no showers. And NO dump station.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: $20 a night. $10.00 with the America The Beautiful Senior Pass. Price increased from the 2008 rates of $15 & $7.50.
Other Factors: Arches National Park may be the single most spectacular place we have visited to date. Fortunately, we didn't have to make reservations or scramble for a first come, first serve site.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
Arches is wonderful and it is great to explore it over several days by camping in the park. However, it is not easy to get in. The reserved sites fill up quickly during the March - October reservation season. Non-reservable sites are given away at the park entrance starting at 7:30 in the morning. There may be a couple sites or several sites. The actual number available are posted at the entrance station the night before. If you do happen to get a site, there is no guarantee a large rig will fit in one of the available sites. It's not so tough when it's cold. You can get in November through February without too much trouble. So, as much as we love Arches, the lack of hook-ups, showers, and dump station along with not being able to easily get a site won't allow us to give it more than an 8.

NOTE: All sites are going to "Reservation Only" for the 2010 season. Walk-ins may available for sites that have not been reserved, but it will become even more difficult to get first-come, first served sites.



Arches National Park Camping


Back To Utah Campground Reviews List