Oklahoma Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of campgrounds in which we have stayed in the state of Oklahoma.

For details on how we choose a campground and our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

The reviews you find here will be from most recent to oldest since the older the review, the less relevant it may be. The "Overall Rating" is on a scale of 1 - 10 with 10 being the best.

Also, you will notice that each listing shows a corresponding "Journal Site" number. This refers to when our stay occurred in our journey and the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our daily Journal. By going to our Journal for the dates indicated in the review, you may be able to find out more about the campground and the area - but no promises. :)


Direct Links To Oklahoma Reviews Below

Boiling Springs State Park Campground, Woodward, OK - June 2008

Washington Cove Park COE Campground, Copan Lake, OK - June 2008

Twin Bridges State Park, Wyandotte, OK - June 2008

Doris Campground, Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, Indiahoma, OK - May 2008

Bear's Den Resort, Grove, OK - October 2006

Coon Creek Cove Corps of Engineers Campground, Kaw City/Ponca City, OK - October 2006



Journal Site 104: Boiling Springs State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 6.5

Dates: June 19, 2008 - June 22, 2008
Location: In Northwest Oklahoma off U.S. 270 near Woodward.
GPS Coordinates: 36.45581N, 99.29448W
Our Site Number: 39
Reason Selected: Just a decent state park on our way across Oklahoma heading to southern Colorado for a summer job.
Setting: This sits in a rural state park. There are two campgrounds, Spring Hill & Whitetail. Spring Hill is a loop with well spaced campsites surrounded by woods. Whitetail has side-by-side full hook-up sites and looks more like an old RV park surrounded by woods.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Both campgrounds can accomodate large rigs. However, there are lots of low-hanging branches on the way into the park and campgrounds. You have to be cautious.
Hook-ups: Spring Hill sites have water and electric, but no sewer hook-ups. Whitetail has 10 full hook-up sites with 30 & 50 amps. There is a dump station at the entrance to the Spring Hill campground.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: Oklahoma State Parks charge a $10 base fee and then add on fees for hook-ups ($2/Water, $6/Electric, $3 Sewer.
Other Factors: The headliner at this park, the boiling springs, is rather lame. The bathhouse is old. There were a few sites where rooftop satellite was accessible. A good point is that there is a nice, reasonably priced, public golf course right outside the park entrance.
OVERALL RATING: 6.5 (out of ten)
This is an out of the way state park. To be honest, we didn't really explore it. We might have given the campground another half point, but no more than that. Our site was decent, but we wouldn't go out of our way to stay there again.

Boiling Springs State Park Campground

Back To Oklahoma Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 103: Washington Cove Park COE Campground - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: June 17, 2008 - June 19, 2008
Location: In Northeast Oklahoma near the Kansas/Oklahoma line. Just north of Bartlesville and a few miles off U.S. 75 on Copan Lake.
GPS Coordinates: 36.91236N, 95.9419W
Our Site Number: 80
Reason Selected: We were on our way from Branson, MO to a job in Pagosa Springs, CO. We always look for state parks or Corps of Engineers campgrounds on our route. This one made for a great stopping point.
Setting: This campground sits on a large lake. It is heavily wooded. Unfortunately, we couldn't get a complete read on it because about a third of the sites were under water from the heavy spring rains. Our site was waterfront though it wasn't supposed to be. :)
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: The campground can accomodate large rigs. However, it was hard to tell how many of the underwater sites may have been big enough.
Hook-ups: All sites have 30-amp electric only. There are numerous spigots to take on water and there is an easily accessed dump station on the way out.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: Nightly fee is $16.
Other Factors: This was certainly our type of campground. We only wish it hadn't been flooded. There were only a few sites where we could have gotten satellite, at least that we could see. There are two batthhouse with showers that were okay.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
This is an out of the way COE campground - just the kind we like. It probably wasn't an 8 when we stayed there due to the flooding, but we are giving it the benefit of the doubt. We would certainly stay there again if we happened to find ourselves in that area of the country.

Copan Lake, Washington Cove Park COE Campground

Back To Oklahoma Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 101: Twin Bridges State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 6.5

Dates: June 1, 2008 - June 6, 2008
Location: In Northeast Oklahoma on U.S. 60 where the Neosho River and the Spring River meet to form Grand Lake.
GPS Coordinates: 36.80188N, 94.75635W
Our Site Number: 3-10
Reason Selected: We were on our way to Branson, MO for the 2008 RV-Dreams Rally. It just happened to be the best state park option within a day's drive of Branson.
Setting: This campground sits between two rivers on a bluff. There are woods separating the campsites and the steep banks down to the rivers. Oklahoma state road 137 runs right through the middle of the park. There are campsites on both sides of the road. Though the sites are spaced okay, there isn't really any privacy between sites.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: The campground can accomodate large rigs in several sites. Roads are paved.
Hook-ups: The RV sites have water and electric, but no sewer. There is one dump station.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: Oklahoma State Parks charge a $10 base fee and then add on fees for hook-ups ($2/Water, $6/Electric, $3 Sewer).
Other Factors: Each of the three campground sections has a Bathhouse with showers or comfort station as they call them. As with most older state parks, the batthouses could use some upgrades. The rangers were very nice. We had a few site options for rooftop satellite. The website isn't very helpful regarding information about the campground.
OVERALL RATING: 6.5 (out of ten)
This was sort of stop to prepare for the rally. We didn't really get out much. With the two rivers and the lake, it's supposed to be a fishermen's paradise. However, with heavy spring rains, the whole area was quite flooded. The biggest problem with the campground is the busy Hwy 137 running through it. I wouldn't go out of my way for this campground unless I had a good fishing boat. :)

Twin Bridges State Park

Back To Oklahoma Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 100: Doris Campground, Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: May 26, 2008 - May 31, 2008
Location: In Southwest Oklahoma off of I-44 near Lawton.
GPS Coordinates: 34.7182N, 98.64574W
Our Site Number: 60
Reason Selected: We were on our way from Texas to Branson, MO for the 2008 RV-Dreams Rally. We had heard wonderful things about this refuge and it was a great stopping point for us.
Setting: This campground sits in the middle of the wildlife refuge. All sites have shade and it is a very quiet campground. Some sites are on a lake.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: It's pretty tight for large rigs. The roads are paved, but narrow with lots of trees. You have to be careful with low hanging branches.
Hook-ups: There are five loops in the campground - A, B, C, D, & E. Only loops B & E have electric (30 amps). That's 23 sites out of 70. None of the sites have water or sewer. There are a few places to take on water and a dump station at the entrance. The dump station requires a U-turn on the way out and can be a little tricky for larger rigs.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: fees were $16 per night for electric sites and $8 per night for no hook-ups.
Other Factors: One bathhouse with showers for the whole campground. It's pretty old and not in great shape. It was clean, but still a little scary. Very few sites are good for roof-top satellite. We probably had the only electric site that would have worked for our satellite. Some sites with no hook-ups might have worked. The website is okay. The refuge has great wildlife viewing opportunities, deer roaming the campground along with turkeys and lots of other birds. Their are numerous hiking trails and lakes within the refuge.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
We really enjoyed our stay at the Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge. Though the campround was fine, we might have liked one of the no hook-up sites better. They offered a little more privacy, but it was 100 degrees when we were there and we needed the electricity. This was a strange one for us. Our site just didn't give us that feeling we look for, but it was the type of setting we like. We'd stay there again, but wouldn't go out of our way to do it.

Doris Campground at Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge

Back To Oklahoma Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 47: Bear's Den Resort - Overall Rating: 6

Dates: October 16, 2006 - October 22, 2006
Location: On U.S. Hwy 59 in Grove on Grand Lake in Northeast, Oklahoma
GPS Coordinates: 36.64878N, 94.82109W
Our Site Number: 126
Reason Selected: We were visiting family in Grove and my brother had some connections at this private Coast to Coast, RPI, AOR membership camgpround. We were able to stay for $18 a night.
Setting: This RV Park sits right on US HWY 59, but most of the sites sit away from the highway on a peninsula out into Grand Lake. Highway noise is still a factor, but there is nothing but water on three sides of most of the campground. The full hook-up sites are closest to the highway and closest to each other with no trees. Sites with water and electric only have more trees and more space, but they are not in very good shape.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig, but some pads are just concrete for wheels and are not properly spaced for big rigs.
Hook-ups: Some full hook-ups, but mostly water and 30 amp electric only; there is a dump station on the way out
Laundry: Yes, adequate but not great.
Price & Discounts: We paid $18 a night, but this is a private membership campground, so rates vary
Other Factors: Bathhouses have showers, but the bathhouses are pretty old and in bad shape for a "resort"; We had a few different site choices for satellite; Friendly staff; Pretty good website
OVERALL RATING: 6 (out of ten)
This was another place that we did not have a very good feel for. Being a "resort" we expected full hook-ups on all sites and we expected the sites and bathhouses to be in much better shape. Even the lake views were not enough to make us want to stay there again.

Bear's Den Resort

Back To Oklahoma Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 46: Coon Creek Cove Corps of Engineers Campground - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: October 8, 2006 - October 15, 2006
Location: Kaw City/Ponca City, Oklahoma. On Kaw Lake about 8 miles east of US Hwy 77 in northcentral Oklahoma
GPS Coordinates: 36.78704N, 96.9178W
Our Site Number: 14 (photo) and then moved to 29
Reason Selected: We wanted to drive about 100 miles from Wichita and looked at state and federal campgrounds in Oklahoma as we made our way south to Texas for the winter. After some web research, we chose this COE campground east of I-35.
Setting: This was a beautiful campground that sits on a peninsula that juts out into Kaw Lake. The upkeep could be better, but the views are very nice. There are water views from just about every site. There is nothing around but nature in this campground. It is treed with plenty of sun and shade sites.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig. Many sites are really large but they are all back-ins - no pull-throughs here.
Hook-ups: Water and 30 amp electric only; there is a dump station on the way out
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: $16 a night; Golden Age Passports are accepted for a 50% discount
Other Factors: Reservations are through ReserveAmerica.com April - September; All sites are first come, first served October - March; Bathhouses have showers, but the bathhouses are pretty old; We had a few different site choices for satellite; there were no attendants at the time of our stay and paid by deposit envelope; It looks like the sites could use an infusion of gravel and some weedeating, but we overlooked that easily in exchange for the views and solitude; It is tough to find good information and there are virtually no photos of the campground on the web
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
This campground should have received an 8.5 if the upkeep was a little better or the bathhouses were more updated. But this is our type of place. It is rural, quiet, wooded with good satellite openings, on the water, and a haven for a variety of wildlife (especially birds). Every campsite has a water view and several are waterfront.

Coon Creek Cove COE Campground on Kaw Lake

ReserveAmerica Reservations for Coon Creek Cove COE Campground

Back To Oklahoma Campground Reviews List