Nevada Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of campgrounds in which we have stayed in the state of Nevada.

For details on how we choose a campground and our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

The reviews you find here will be from most recent to oldest since the older the review, the less relevant it may be. The "Overall Rating" is on a scale of 1 - 10 with 10 being the best.

Also, you will notice that each listing shows a corresponding "Journal Site" number. This refers to when our stay occurred in our journey and the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our daily Journal. By going to our Journal for the dates indicated in the review, you may be able to find out more about the campground and the area - but no promises. :)

Direct Links To Nevada Reviews Below

Terrible's Lakeside Casino & RV Park, Pahrump, Nevada - September 2009

Tamarack Beach, Walker Lake Recreation Area, Hawthorne, Nevada - September 2009

Rye Patch State Recreation Area, Rye Patch, Nevada - May 2009

Beverly Hills RV Ranch, Wells, Nevada - May 2009

Journal Site 127: Terrible's Lakeside Casino & RV Park, Pahrump, NV - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: September 16 - September 25, 2009
Location: In southern Nevada about 60 miles west of Las Vegas near the California border. Pahrump is off U.S. 95 on CA Hwy 160.
Our Site: Started in Site 107 on the lake, then moved to Site 131 as we needed to stay longer and other site was reserved.
GPS Coordinates: 36.13521N, 115.9594W
Reason Selected: We had planned to stay at the Escapees Pair-A-Dice RV Park in Pahrump on our way from northern California to our 2009 Rally in Texas, but we got bad directions. After a long day of driving, we ended up at our back-up choice, Terrible's. The reviews on were good, and we had several readers that had been to Terrible's and liked it.
Setting: Campground sits off Homestead Road a few miles off of CA 160 which is the main road through Pahrump. It's actually out in the desert, but is sort of its own little oasis. The RV park surrounds a small lake, there are a lot more trees than you would expect, and there is grass between all the sites - the only grass for miles. :) The park is bordered by roads on the east and south side. It's bordered by vacant property on the north and west sides, but they have built up grassy mounds on the north side, so you can't see the brown desert from the sites to the north. There are mountain views from the perimeters of the RV park. The interior roads and all the sites are paved.
Guidebooks: None used, but became aware of this park from the and Passport America websites.
Big Rig Friendly: Definitely big rig friendly. Easy entry from the side road on the south. Don't enter on Homestead Road - that's the main entrance for the casino but not the RV Park. Go past the main entrance to the next road on the right. Turn there and then it's a quick right.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50-amp electric.
Laundry: Three very nice laundry facilities.
Price & Discounts: Normal rates are $27 - $39 depending on your site and the time you stay. Weekends are higher. Half price discounts are available for Passport America and Camp Club USA members - three nights only.
Other Factors: Staff was very helpful and worked with us on getting repairs to our rig (thus the 9-day stay). With the surprising amount of trees, rooftop satellite can be an issue, but there are plenty of sites where it will work. Terrible's website does a decent job of describing the RV park amenities and provides a good site map. The sites are large and paved. The sites are separated by grass lawns, but they are still fairly close together (better than most RV parks, though). There is a large pool and hottub. The comfort stations are very nice bathhouses and laundry rooms attached. There are kayaks and pedal boats that are free for guest use. There is a sandy beach area on the lake for swimming or hanging out. You can fish without a license in the 7-acre lake. There is a 9-hole (very small) frisbee golf course. There are horseshoe pits. There is a paved sidewalk around the lake which makes for a nice morning or evening stroll. Of course there is a casino on-site (mostly slots with limited table games and no poker room). There is a decent restaurant in the casino. The casino is smoky and you have to go through it to get to the restaurant. But the restaurant is non-smoking and very reasonably priced with some really good specials. It's a very, very nice RV park. :)
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
With all the amenities and more character than most RV parks, Terrible's certainly deserves an 8. I almost gave it an 8.5 due to the half price discounts available. But, it is still an RV park with the sites being pretty close together. Also, there is quite a bit of road noise (the quietest sites will be in the northwest corner of the park, but they are also fartherest from the lake). It's most definitely worth a three-night stay with the half-price discounts, and (I don't say this often) it is a pretty good value at the regular rate as well. :)

Terrible's Lakeside Casino & RV Park

Back To Nevada Campground Reviews List

Journal Site 126: Tamarack Beach, Walker Lake Recreation Area, Hawthorne, NV - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: September 15 - September 16, 2009
Location: In western Nevada along U.S. 95. About 150 miles south of Reno and about 325 miles north of Las Vegas. Fourteen miles north of Hawthorne, but pretty much out in the middle of nowhere.
Our Site: No designated site numbers.
GPS Coordinates: 38.73805N, 118.76590W
Reason Selected: Needing to get from Northern California to the Hill Country of Texas in less than three weeks, preferably taking a route we had not yet taken, this option showed up as a good possibility about 250 miles from our starting point in Chester, CA. It's a BLM boondocking site with no fee and convenient to our chosen route.
Setting: Campground sits between U.S. 95 and Walker Lake. Mountains across U.S. 95 to the west and mountains across Walker Lake to the east. Nice gravel road into the camping area. Remnants of campsite pads, but it's mostly a park anywhere you feel comfortable place. Definitely no shade.
Guidebooks: None used, but originally found this campsite on
Big Rig Friendly: Easy entry from the highway. Some challenges getting turned around, but it is doable with a big rig.
Hook-ups: None. No dump station, no potable water. There are pit toilets.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: FREE!
Other Factors: Satellite isn't a problem at all. Not much info on the web. Looks like the place doesn't get much attention. Lots of trash on the ground. But it is easy access with great views. Wish it was a little farther from the highway as tractor trailers cruise U.S. 95 all night long. Also, the site is competely visible from the highway, so there are some thoughts of safety issues though we had no problems at all. As a sidenote, there are two other BLM campgrounds along the shore of Walker Lake. Tamarack is between 20 Mile Beach and Sportsman's Beach. Sportsman's Beach Recreation Site has "developed" campsites for a fee.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
Great views, convenient, and free! If it were more private, farther from the highway, and less trashy, we would give it an eight. However, if it wasn't free and didn't have the great views, it would probably be a five or six.

Walker Lake Recreation Area

Back To Nevada Campground Reviews List

Journal Site 124: Rye Patch State Recreation Area, Rye Patch, NV - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: May 8 - May 12, 2009
Location: In northwestern Nevada a couple miles off I-80 between the towns of Winnemucca and Lovelock. About 120 miles northeast of Reno.
Our Site: 19 in the riverside campground.
GPS Coordinates: 40.46742N, 118.30840W
Reason Selected: My research showed it was our kind of place on the way to our summer 2009 workamping gig in northern California. Also, it was highly recommended by RV-Dreams readers Laurie & Odel. See their
review of Rye Patch.
Setting: Campground sits down in a valley below the Rye Patch Reservoir Dam along the tailwaters which happen to be the Humboldt River. Some sites are along the river, but most are just a short walk from the river. Some sites have shade, some have partial shade, and some are open. All sites have a view of the mountains across the river. Roads and sites are all paved. It's a lovely setting.

NOTE: There is also a lakeside campground.

It's at the end of the park road by the busy boat ramp. It is basically a series of close-together, covered picnic tables with places just large enough for small RVs to park. Good views of the lake and the mountains beyond, but I'd leave those sites to the people with small RVs and those with boats on trailers that can be parked nearby.

Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Surprisingly big rig friendly for a state park out in the middle of nowhere.
Hook-ups: None. There is a nice dump station and potable water there (although the potable water wasn't turned on at the time of our visit). Also, there are numerous spigots within the campground to take on water. In Site 19, we filled up while in our site since we were able to reach a spigot with 50 feet of hose. There are four private bathrooms with flush toilets and sinks and two private showers (pay showers). There are a couple of pit toilets as well.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts:$10 per night (includes the $4 park entrance fee).
Other Factors: Satellite isn't a problem in about half the sites. Website is pretty weak. Easy access from interstate with limited interstate noise. We could hear an occasional train, but it wasn't annoying at all. We hear the fishing is good in the Rye Patch reservoir.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
We love this little campground. It has the "it" factor we look for. If not for the distant noise of the interstate, I might have given it an 8.5. If they had electric hook-ups, I probably would have added a half point as well. If ever in this area again, we know where to stay. :)

Rye Patch Recreation Area

Back To Nevada Campground Reviews List

Journal Site 123: Beverly Hills RV Ranch, Wells, NV - Overall Rating: 6

Dates: May 7 - May 8, 2009
Location: In the northeast corner of Nevada four miles west of Wells. About a 1/2 mile off of I-80.
Our Site: 17.
GPS Coordinates: 41.11476N, 115.0362W
Reason Selected: Recommended by RV-Dreams readers that knew we were coming through this part of Nevada on our way to a northern California workamping job. Also, a Passport America park, so half-priced camping.
Setting: Basically, an RV park out in a wide-open field with nothing else around. Mountain views in all directions. Sites are side-by-side and are mostly grass that has grown over the gravel. Green grass and some trees to break the wind, but the RV sites are mostly out in the open. Only a half mile from I-80, so there is highway noise.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of space for rigs of all sizes. It looks like they have doubled up some of the older, skinny sites to make wide sites for today's wider rigs with slides. Easy in and out and mostly pull-through sites.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 30-amp electric.
Laundry: There is a laundry facility, but we didn't check it out.
Price & Discounts:$30 nightly rate. However, it is a Passport America park and PA members stay for $15.
Other Factors: Nice folks. Satellite was no problem. No website (only a single page on the Passport America site). Four miles from a Flying J and Love's travel stops. Uncrowded.
OVERALL RATING: 6 (out of ten)
Certainly not our kind of place with the side-by-side sites and closeness to the interstate. But it is a nice layover spot when traveling across I-80. There are other RV parks in Wells, but this one was nice because it was out from town and uncrowded (actually empty during our stay). We would stay there again if our travels took us that way and we needed a place to stop for the night based on mileage. But we'd never pay the $30 regular rate. :)

Beverly Hills RV Ranch on Passport America Site

Back To Nevada Campground Reviews List