Missouri Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of campgrounds in which we have stayed in the state of Missouri.

For details on how we choose a campground and our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

The reviews you find here will be from most recent to oldest since the older the review, the less relevant it may be. The "Overall Rating" is on a scale of 1 - 10 with 10 being the best.

Also, you will notice that each listing shows a corresponding "Journal Site" number. This refers to when our stay occurred in our journey and the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our daily Journal. By going to our Journal for the dates indicated in the review, you may be able to find out more about the campground and the area - but no promises. :)


Direct Links To Missouri Reviews Below

America's Best Campground, Branson, MO - June 2008

Alley Spring Campground, Ozark National Scenic Riverways, Alley Spring, MO - August 2007

Stockton State Park, Dadeville, MO - August 2007



Journal Site 102: America's Best Campground - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: June 6, 2008 - June 17, 2008
Location: A few miles off of U.S. Hwy 65 in the southwestern corner of Missori about 50 miles south of Springfield.
GPS Coordinates: 36.68454N, 93.25915W
Our Site Number: 94
Reason Selected: This was the site of the first RV-Dreams Rally. We selected it because they are experienced in handling rallies, they have on on-site rally coordinator, it was centrally located in the U.S., and it had received the Good Sam Welcome Mat award several years in a row.
Setting: A basic RV park set-up (side-by-side sites) except it has a little more character than many of the treeless parking lots we've seen. There are rolling hills and trees throughout. It sits far enough away from the main roads and traffic of the Branson shows to be relatively quiet. However, there was a lot of construction along the western edge of the park which made for some annoying weekdays. The interior roads are gravel and many of the sites are not exactly level.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: The majority of the sites are pull-throughs and there is plenty of room to maneuver big rigs.
Hook-ups: All sites have full hook-ups with water, sewer, and 50/30 amp electric.
Laundry: Very nice facility with ten washers and dryers.
Price & Discounts: Sites are $35 daily plus tax or $196 weekly plus tax. For stays over seven days, the rate is $28 per night including tax. The daily rate for December 8 through March 8 is $20 including tax but several of the buildings are closed. Ten to fifteen percent discounts off the nightly rate are available for military veterans and Good Sam RV Club members.
Other Factors: The staff is fantastic! We would highly recommend this campground as a rally location. They have a pool and hot tub and offer free Wi-Fi and free satellite TV. They offer discount show tickets as well. They also have an RV/Car Wash for an extra fee. Most sites are shaded, but they do have several sites that are fine for rooftop satellite. The bathhouse was old but very clean. The website is very good and provides a lot of information.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
The success of the first RV-Dreams Rally and the wonderful staff get this campground an 8. We might have gone a little higher if not for the noisy construction next door. Being more of an RV park with side-by-side sites, it isn't really our cup of tea, but it does have more character than most. Branson is not really our thing either, but if we were to come back, this campground probably would suit us better than most if we wanted full hook-ups. It would for sure be our selection if we were to hold another rally in the area.

America's Best Campground

Back To Missouri Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 77: Alley Spring Campground, Ozark National Scenic Riverways - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: August 21, 2007 - August 26, 2007
Location: On State Hwy 106 about 10 - 15 miles north of U.S. Hwy 60 in southeastern Missouri. About 10 minutes west of the town of Eminence.
GPS Coordinates: 37.14538N, 91.44883W
Our Site Number: 618
Reason Selected: We wanted to spend some time in the Ozark Scenic Riverways Park and do some canoeing. Our research showed this was the best option for our tastes and rig size.
Setting: Nine different loops out in the middle of nowhere. Some are heavily wooded and some are wide open with very little shade. The campground sits on the very lovely Jack's Ford River, but the sites themselves are not on the river. The campground roads are paved as are the sites.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of room to maneuver, but most sites are too small for big rigs - lengthwise. Trailers can get into more sites because they are able to hang over the back of the paved part of the site, but the sites are pretty short. If we would have paid attention to the site lengths on the reservation website, we probably wouldn't have stayed there.
Hook-ups: Only Loop 600 has electric. It has 50/30 amps with water. All other sites have water only (water is shut off November through April 15). No sites have sewer, but there is a dump station.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: Electric sites in Loop 600 are $17. All other sites are $14.
Other Factors: Loop 600 is pretty open. We had one of the few sites in the middle of the loop that had a little bit of shade. But the lack of shade meant we had no satellite issues. There isn't much privacy in the electric loop and the sites are pretty close together. The loop was packed on the weekend with mostly pop-ups and small travel trailers. We didn't see any other large rigs. Bathhouses were decent. We never spoke to the campground hosts, but the rangers were very nice. The website doesn't tell you much.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
We really enjoyed our stay in that part of the country. The campground was good for a little bike riding and there is a beautiful part of the Jack's Fork River accessible from the campground. We even launched our canoe from the campground for one trip. But the electrical loop we were in didn't have the "it" factor at all. It wasn't very attractive and they jam a lot of rigs into a small space, so there is no privacy. We would stay there again when visiting the Ozark National Scenic Riverways, but the campground itself isn't the draw for us. :)

Ozark National Scenic Riverways Camping

Back To Missouri Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 76: Stockton State Park - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: August 16, 2007 - August 21, 2007
Location: On the south side of Stockton Lake in southwestern Missouri near the town of Dadeville.
GPS Coordinates: 37.60788N, 93.74177W
Our Site Number: 40
Reason Selected: We were looking for a state or federal campground between Kansas and the Ozark National Scenic Riverways in southeastern Missouri, and this one fit the bill.
Setting: Two loops. The East Campground sits up on a hill with some partial lake views. The West Campground sits down in a little wooded valley (we stayed in the West Campground). Most sites are shaded. Not a lot of privacy, but the sites are well spaced. The roads and sites are all paved. The campgrounds don't have direct lake access, but there is a ramp and a marina right outside the campground.
Guidebooks: No reliance.
Big Rig Friendly: There are plenty of sites available for big rigs, but there aren't any pull-throughs. It's pretty easy to get around the loops. However, getting to the state park can involve some very narrow, windy roads depending on which way you approach.
Hook-ups: Most sites have electric. There are a few scattered 50 amp sites, but most are 30 amps. There are no water or sewer hook-ups. Water spigots are readily available in each campground to fill fresh water tanks, but the only dump station is in the East Campground.
Laundry: The facilities were not great, but at least they had them in each campground.
Price & Discounts: $16 for electric sites during peak season (April 1 - October 31). $14 for November - March. Senior discounts (Age 65 and over) and discounts for disabilites are available. The rate is $14 year round for those that meet the criteria. Sites with no hook-ups are $9 in season, $8 in the off season, and $8 year-round for those eligible for discounts.
Other Factors: There were only a few sites that would work for rooftop satellite dishes. Bathhouses were old and could be in better shape, but they were okay. Now, the Missouri State Parks websites are fabulous for RVers. For the parks with campgrounds, you can get campground maps, wonderful details about individual campsites, and even photos of each site! Missouri has the best website for RVers I have seen thus far for any state.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
Stockton State Park is for boating enthusiasts and there is not much else to do. We took our inflatable pontoon boat out on the lake. But it is still a nice, out of the way campground for a fairly peaceful stay - especially during the week.

Stockton State Park

Back To Missouri Campground Reviews List