Mississippi Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of campgrounds in which we have stayed in the state of Mississippi.

For details on how we choose a campground and our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

The reviews you find here will be from most recent to oldest since the older the review, the less relevant it may be. The "Overall Rating" is on a scale of 1 - 10 with 10 being the best.

Also, you will notice that each listing shows a corresponding "Journal Site" number. This refers to when our stay occurred in our journey and the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our daily Journal. By going to our Journal for the dates indicated in the review, you may be able to find out more about the campground and the area - but no promises. :)


Direct Links To Mississippi Reviews Below

Davis Bayou Campground, Gulf Islands National Seashore, Ocean Springs, MS - November 2009

Frog Level RV Park, Philadelphia, MS - November 2007

Piney Grove Corps of Engineers Campground, Booneville, MS - November 2007



Journal Site 141: Davis Bayou Campground, Gulf Islands National Seashore - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: November 19, 2009 - November 22, 2009
Location: A few miles south of I-10 on the Mississippi Gulf Coast on the east side of Ocean Springs. A two mile drive south from the entrance at U.S. 90.
GPS Coordinates: 30.39674N, 88.79594W
Our Site Number: 29
Reason Selected: Got a couple of recommendations from readers. We were looking for a spot in southern Mississippi as we traveled toward Florida for the winter. This seemed to be one of only a couple public campgrounds near our route.
Setting: Small 51-site campground loop with trees around the outer edges. Through the trees, some sites backed up to an estuary. Campground roads and sites are all paved. Sites are a bit close together for a public campground and not much privacy.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Entry into campground is fine and there are a few sites with long pads. However, it's a tough squeeze to get both a big rig and another vehicle into the sites. There are a few overflow parking spaces. There is sort of a side loop that is more "campground like", but there are some low-hanging branches getting in and it would be quite tight for a big rig to make the turn at the end of that side loop.
Hook-ups: Water and electric only with 50/30 amp electric. There is a dump station, but it is not conveniently located for several of the sites. It sits in the middle of the campground on the one-way loop, so approximately a third of the sites have to head toward the campground exit, loop back in to the dump station, and then continue the loop back out.
Laundry: No laundry.
Price & Discounts: $16 a night plus tax. America The Beautiful Senior Pass is accepted making it $8 for pass holders. Sites are first-come, first-served.
Other Factors: Bathhouse was old. Several sites are fine for rooftop satellite (the sites on the inside of the main loop are more open). Website isn't very helpful at all. Convenient to a Super Walmart and the towns of Ocean Springs and Biloxi. Quiet, but it is within hearing distance of a railroad track. However, trains were not constant during our stay. There is a visitors center and a couple of trails, but there isn't much to do at the park.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
In our opinion, this was a so-so public campground. The sites were just too close together and it wasn't particularly inviting to sit outside. But of the area options it is probably the best natural setting and the price is right. We bumped it up a half point for the rate.



Davis Bayou Campground, Gulf Islands National Seashore

Back To Mississippi Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 83: Frog Level RV Park - Overall Rating: 5

Dates: November 12, 2007 - November 15, 2007
Location: On the west side of Philadelphia, Mississippi just off Highway 16. About an hour northeast of Jackson.
GPS Coordinates: 32.76023N, 89.15009W
Our Site Number: 39
Reason Selected: We were visiting friends in Philadelphia, MS. The choices for parking were limited, so we selected Frog Level for its conveniences and proximity to the Pearl River Resort casinos and championship golf courses.
Setting: Open campground with side by side, narrow, angled sites. Interior roads and sites are paved. The south side is bordered by a privacy fence with a gas station on the other side and the four-lane Hwy 16 just beyond. A Lowes home center is to the east. A mini-storage is to the north, and a field is to the west separating the RV park from two or three motels. Bradford Pear trees have been planted between sites for some shade, but the sites are so narrow they hinder awnings.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: All pull-throughs. But even the largest sites are barely large enough for a big rig and another vehicle.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric. Be careful though. The electric is a little suspect. Our SurgeGuard shut our 50 amp electric down several times due to high/low voltage. It was better on 30 amps, but we still had one system shutdown. I wouldn't plug in without a high/low voltage power monitor or power management system.
Laundry: Nice facilities - 4 washers, 4 dryers. And reasonably priced.
Price & Discounts: $20 a night plus tax. Passport America & Happy Camper 50% discounts are allowed for two weekday nights per stay (not good on weekends). Good Sam and Escapees discounts available. Weekly rates available - works out to be seven nights for price of six.
Other Factors: Campground office personnel were nice enough but very "matter-of-fact". Bathhouse was decent. No problem with satellite. Website is terrible. Gas and diesel is near at a tenth of a mile. Wal-mart is about a mile. Casinos and golf are three miles away. All campground interior roads can be accessed by a public road - it's not very secure and not remote enough to not worry about it.
OVERALL RATING: 5 (out of ten)
This is not the type of place we would normally stay. And everyone knows we don't like the side-by-side sites where the neighbors are a few feet away. Still, I'm trying to be objective. The good aspects are the full hook-ups, the level sites, the nice laundry facilities, and the convenience to all local attractions and services. However, the suspect electrical detracts just a little from the hook-ups. The website is not helpful at all and includes no information on discounts. The complete accessibility to the public is a little disconcerting as well. And it's certainly not the friendliest place we have ever been. Personally, we had a death in the family and had to leave suddenly. They wouldn't make an exception on their "ABSOLUTELY NO REFUNDS!" policy. I won't ding them too much on that, but most places that desire repeat business would make an exception. Next time we are in the area, we might stay here again because of the limited options, but we would probably opt for camping without hook-ups in the nearby casino lot.



Frog Level RV Park

Back To Mississippi Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 82: Piney Grove Corps of Engineers Campground - Overall Rating: 9.5

Dates: October 29, 2007 - November 12, 2007
Location: On the west side of Bay Springs Lake in northeastern Mississippi. About 10 miles off of the Natchez Trace Parkway. Can be accessed from either State Hwy 4 or State Hwy 30. Actually about 15 miles east of Booneville.
GPS Coordinates: 34.56466N, 88.32618W
Our Site Number: 53
Reason Selected: We were looking for natural settings in a state or federal campground along the Natchez Trace Parkway as we traveled south for the winter. Campground hosts at our prior campground recommended Piney Grove highly.
Setting: Mostly wooded campground right on Bay Springs Lake. Several waterfront sites with beautiful views. Many sites have privacy with trees and brush in between. Deer, turkey, armadillos, and other wildlife in and around the campground.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Several pull-throughs, but the back-ins are more suited to the larger rigs. Wonderful paved roads and sites. Plenty of room to maneuver.
Hook-ups: 50/30 amp electric with water. Two, nice, conveniently located dump stations.
Laundry: Decent facilities - 3 washers, 3 dryers
Price & Discounts: Waterfront sites are $20. All others are $18. America The Beautiful Senior & Access 50% discounts apply.
Other Factors: Campground hosts and managers were all very nice. They provided us with free firewood after the reservation season ended October 31. Website is decent. Rooftop satellite is difficult - only a few sites to get through the trees to a southern sky view. About 6 miles from a small restaurant/grocery/gas station with both gas & diesel. Wal-mart is about 20 miles. Sites have really nice, large patios with fire rings, pedestal tables, picnic tables, grills, posts for hanging lanterns, etc. Boat ramp within the campground. Short nature trail. Fish cleaning station. Plenty of overflow parking for extra vehicles. Bathhouses are older, but very clean and well maintained.
OVERALL RATING: 9.5 (out of ten)
This is our highest rated campground yet. We loved it! The natural setting, the good roads and paved sites, the huge patios, the lake views - all played a part in the overall camping experience. There are many subtle things in the design of this campground that make you say "Hey, that's well thought out." Plus we were here when the Fall colors were peaking and hardly anyone else was in the campground. We might have had a different experience had we been here on a crowded summer weekend. :) Our anticipated 3 or 4 day stay turned into 2 weeks! This campground would have received our first 10 rating if the sites had sewer hook-ups. Of course they may not have been able to get rid of us if that were the case. :)

Piney Grove Recreation Area Camping

Back To Mississippi Campground Reviews List