Michigan Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of campgrounds in which we have stayed in the state of Michigan.

For details on how we choose a campground and our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

The reviews you find here will be from most recent to oldest since the older the review, the less relevant it may be. The "Overall Rating" is on a scale of 1 - 10 with 10 being the best.

Also, you will notice that each listing shows a corresponding "Journal Site" number. This refers to when our stay occurred in our journey and the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our daily Journal. By going to our Journal for the dates indicated in the review, you may be able to find out more about the campground and the area - but no promises. :)


Direct Links To Michigan Reviews Below

Finn Road Campground, Essexville, MI - October 2010

Thunder Bay Resort RV Park, Hillman, MI - May - October 2010

Silver Creek RV Resort, Mears, MI - May 2010



Journal Site 160: Finn Road Campground - Overall Rating: 8.0

Dates: October 15, 2010 - October 18, 2010
Location: Essexville on Saginaw Bay in eastern Michigan; About 15 miles east of I-75.
GPS Coordinates: 43.62750N 83.77765W
Our Site Number: 13
Reason Selected: Good stopping point as we headed south from our summer workamping job in Hillman in northeast Michigan. We found it on
RVParkReviews.com by just going city by city for locations about 100 or so miles from Hillman. Full hook-ups at a great price and sites looked nice on the website.
Setting: The campground is at the end of a rural road in an agricultural area. It's part of the Finn Road Park which is a county facility. Though the campground is not on Saginaw Bay, there is a boat ramp in a canal that is a short ride to the bay. The campground itself is fenced but there is no gate. Roads and sites are paved with plenty of room to maneuver. There is grass between sites with trees scattered throughout the campground. Fields, woods, and levees/canals surround the campground making it very quiet. Note: Lots of hunters during hunting seasons, so the quiet can get interrupted with gunshots early in the mornings.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could easily handle any size rig. Only five pull-through sites.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 30 amp electric, but there are a few 50-amp sites Note: Water spigots and electrical pedestals are located between every two sites. So, those hook-ups could be on the "wrong" side of your rig depending which of the two sites you take. You may need extra hose and cords. There is a dump station that is conveniently located on the way out if necessary.
Laundry: No laundry facilities.
Price & Discounts: Nightly - $17; Weekly - $112; Monthly - $390; Seasonal (May - Oct) - $2,160.
Other Factors: There were plenty of sites to get rooftop satellite. There is a boat ramp, a paved walking/biking path, and long gravel nature trail for walking/biking. Bathhouse has individual shower rooms in addition to flush toilets. Office hours limited, but campground manager was very nice and very laid back. Pretty good website with some good photos. Public golf course - 2 miles; Gas station- 4 miles; Super Walmart - 13 miles.
OVERALL RATING: 8.0 (out of ten)
This campground is very quiet and you can't beat the price for wide, paved roads, paved sites, and full hook-ups. Cell signals were good. No cable or Wi-Fi for those that need it. Some seasonals, but most of them didn't look like seasonals. The only reasons we didn't score this a half point higher are 1) the sites are all perpendicular to the road, making them tough to back into if the campground is full, and 2) the sites could have used a little more spacing. But those are very minor issues. Great campground!

Finn Road Campground

Back To Michigan Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 159: Thunder Bay Resort RV Park - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: May 13, 2010 - October 15, 2010
Location: Hillman, Michigan in the northeast corner of the lower peninsula. About an hour east of Gaylord & I-75 and about a half hour east of Alpena on MI Hwy 32.
GPS Coordinates: 45.06048N 83.88609W
Our Site Number: 12
Reason Selected: Accepted a workamping position at Thunder Bay Resort for the summer of 2010.
Setting: Small, 23-site RV park next to a golf course. All paved sites with grass in between and a few trees. Sits back off of M-32, but not far enough to eliminate road noise.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: All pull-through sites. Most sites are large enough for any size rig.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric. No dump station
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: Nightly - $35 in peak season, $29 in shoulder season; Weekly - $225; Monthly - $750. Passport America 50% off for 2 nights (Sunday through Thursday); Escapees discount.
Other Factors: Championship golf course; Free Wi-Fi; Access to enclosed hot tub (located by the other lodging, not in the RV park); Horseshoes; Bird Blind; Elk Ride and Gourmet Dinner/Wine Tasting Event. Grill and bar on site at the main office/pro shop within walking distance. Rooftop satellite not a problem in most sites. Turn in to register and then to head to RV park is a bit tight and doesn't look like you can make it. But once golf carts are moved there is plenty of room if you take your time. No bathhouse so must be self-contained. No pop-ups. Super Walmart 21 miles in Alpena. Gas, groceries, propane, and laundry in Hillman about a mile away.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
Nice park, but too pricey for the area. Wi-Fi is flaky - up and down a lot. Sites are a little too close together for our tastes, but we heard several comments from folks that like it a lot, except for the price. Also, a little too much road noise and many locals use the public road through the RV park to get to and from the golf course and grill. Great golf course. If you throw in a couple of days at the Passport America rate, the value goes up.

NOTE: Workamping opportunities for 6 - 10 couples each season from May 15 - October 15. Thirty-six hours a week per couple for free site and all the golf you can play including cart. For more details and an email link to the owner, you can check out our Thunder Bay Resort Workamping Summary

Thunder Bay Resort RV Park

Back To Michigan Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 158: Silver Creek RV Resort - Overall Rating: 8.5

Dates: May 9, 2010 - May 13, 2010
Location: Between Mears, MI and Silver Lake. About 6 miles east of U.S. Hwy 31 (Exit 149) in western Michigan.
GPS Coordinates: 43.67266N 86.47509W
Our Site Number: 40
Reason Selected: Needed a place to stay for a few days on our way north to our summer workamping position. Saw the fantastic reviews on
RVParkReviews.com. Also, we were there in shoulder season, so the rate was excellent.
Setting: Wide open, wonderfully landscaped park with very nice grass spacing between sites. Huge, paved sites with huge paved roads. Lots of grass and young trees, but not much in the way of privacy.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Absolutely - no problems for any size rig.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: Yes, nice facilities
Price & Discounts: Nightly - Rates range from $20 in April to $50 in peak season on weekends. Seasonal lots can be had for $2,800 for April 1 - October 31. The seasonal sites are located in a separate area that has a little more character than the main camping area.
Other Factors: Rooftop satellite is no problem. Great website. Nice pool and hot tub if you're into that. Free cable. Free Wi-Fi. Propane on site. Garbage service at site. Very nice bathhouse. Near the dunes and beaches of Silver Lake State Park on Lake Michigan. Also, Little Sable Point Lighthouse is within the state park - a great spot for lighthouse lovers and photographers. Note: Silver Lake State Park is the only state park in Michigan that allows ORV/ATV use in the park. There is a 450 acre ORV area on, over, and through the dunes, so in peak season, this may not be the quietest place in the world. :)
OVERALL RATING: 8.5 (out of ten)
This is a very, very nice RV park. It's really well cared for, almost to the point of having a "sterile" feel. :) At the Spring prices of $20 - $25, it's absolutely a bargain and the main reason we stayed there instead of the state park in May. If those were the rates year-round, we would have given it a 9.0. But at $40/$50 in peak season with not much "character", we can't go above 8.5. But remember, we prefer public campgrounds and natural settings over RV parks like this one, so our rating will perhaps be a bit low compared to others.

Silver Creek RV Resort

Back To Michigan Campground Reviews List