Louisiana Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of campgrounds in which we have stayed in the state of Louisiana.

For details on how we choose a campground and our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

The reviews you find here will be from most recent to oldest since the older the review, the less relevant it may be. The "Overall Rating" is on a scale of 1 - 10 with 10 being the best.

Also, you will notice that each listing shows a corresponding "Journal Site" number. This refers to when our stay occurred in our journey and the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our daily Journal. By going to our Journal for the dates indicated in the review, you may be able to find out more about the campground and the area - but no promises. :)


Direct Links To Louisiana Reviews Below

Fontainebleau State Park, Mandeville, LA - November 2009

Betty's RV Park, Abbeville, LA - November 2009

Sam Houston Jones State Park, Lake Charles, LA - November 2009

Private Home, Lake Charles, LA - November 2007

Tickfaw State Park Campground, Springfield, LA - November 2007



Journal Site 140: Fontainebleau State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: November 16, 2009 - November 19, 2009
Location: About four miles east of Mandeville on the north side of Lake Pontchartrain in southeastern Louisiana. Just a few miles south of I-12 on U.S. Hwy 190.
GPS Coordinates: 30.33941N, 90.04121W
Our Site Number: 138
Reason Selected: Well, we sort of fell into this one. Our truck had a blowout as we were passing through on I-12. After getting a new tire, we decided to change out all of tires. This state park was close and I had taken a look at it previously, so we decided to stay a couple of days while getting the truck tires replaces.
Setting: There are two camping loops. They refer to one loop as the "old campground" (Sites 99 - 143) and the other as the "new campground". The old campground is more open and has more pull-through sites. The new campground is more wooded and has a new bathhouse with a laundry. The sites in both loops don't have a whole lot of privacy and there are varying degrees of closeness. Some beautiful live oaks with Spanish Moss throughout the park. Both loops are deep into the park and, therefore, are pretty quiet.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Although there are quite a few big rig sites, there are some low-hanging branches driving from the entrance to the campground and there are some tight spots driving through the campgrounds. But with care, those items shouldn't scare any big rigs off.
Hook-ups: There are five full hook-up sites and the rest of the RV sites have water and electric only (a mixture of 30-amp and 50-amp sites).
Laundry: Laundry in newer campground bathhouse. Nice, but only two washers and two dryers.
Price & Discounts: Premium sites (pull-throughs and full hook-up sites are $18. Water & electric sites are $16. As of this visit there is a $3 one-time fee for walk-ins, and a $5 or $9 one-time fee for reservations (price depends on how the reservation is made). America The Beautiful Senior & Access 50% discounts apply - the only state park system we have visited so far that takes those federal discount cards.
Other Factors: Park personnel were very friendly. Website is decent, but not very good at describing campgrounds. Louisiana State Parks use Reserve America for reservations which, as I have said often, I hate. Rooftop satellite is better in the old campground than in the new. Trails, a boardwalk through a wetland area, and a swimming beach on Lake Pontchartrain are some of the nice features. Beautiful sunsets. Quite a bit of wildlife as well.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
I had originally decided not to camp at this state park because I was concerned about it being too close to New Orleans. But we sure are glad that we had our tire blowout and made the stop. We really enjoyed our three-night stay. The campground itself isn't our favorite, otherwise we would have given it an 8. But there is a lot here for nature lovers and photographers. We'll definitely be back. :)

Fontainebleau State Park

Back To Louisiana Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 139: Betty's RV Park - Overall Rating: 5.0 with an asterisk (Be sure to read the entire review)

Dates: November 10, 2009 - November 16, 2009
Location: About a mile south of downtown Abbeville which is about 20 miles south of I-10 in southwestern Louisiana.
GPS Coordinates: 29.95301N, 92.14296W
Our Site Number: 11 to start (photo above) and then we dry camped for a few days.
Reason Selected: We chose this park for a completely different reason than we usually use. This time, instead of looking for a natural setting in a public campground, we chose Betty's strictly because of the "Betty's experience" as set out on RVParkReviews.com and in blogs of some of our readers. Oh, and it happened to be on our way as we traveled across southern Louisiana.
Setting: Seventeen sites crammed in around a personal residence on a fairly busy small town highway. The parking area is all gravel. Several sites back up to fences with a few other sites squeezed in around the perimeter of the house.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Well, sort of. There are a couple of entrances, and there are sites large enough for big rigs. However, much depends on how many rigs are already in the park and what sites are available. Betty, yes there really is a Betty, has to do massive planning depending on arrival and departure dates to be able to get rigs in and out safely. If Betty says you can get in, you can get in, but it might take some decent parking skills. She prefers to supervise all parking, so it's best if you don't just drop in.
Hook-ups: Most of the sites have full hook-ups, but there are a few dry camping spots as well. Some sites have 30 amps and some have 50 amps.
Laundry: No laundry.
Price & Discounts: $16 for 30-amp sites and $18 per night for 50-amp sites. Tax not included. There are discounts for Escapees RV Club members. Dry camping is around $10 - $12.
Other Factors: It is the "Other Factors" that make this RV park a worthwhile stop. There is a Happy Hour every day where most of those in the park get together on Betty's porch/patio and share snacks, drinks, and stories. Also, Betty goes out of her way to recommend numerous ways to experience Cajun and French Louisiana culture. Sometimes she has entertainment at the park. Sometimes she organizes group dinners and outings. If you want to experience the music and food of the area, and don't know where to start, Betty makes it easy. :) We didn't have any problem with rooftop satellite. Decent website for such a small, reasonably priced park.
OVERALL RATING: 5.0 with an asterisk. (out of ten)
I have to first address the campground. It literally is a bunch of RV sites squeezed in around a house. And the road noise is pretty bad. It is completely opposite of what we would normally look for. But it is certainly worth at least a 5 for the full hook-ups and very reasonable prices.

Now, with that said, the asterisk is because we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Though the campground is not our cup of tea, the entire experience deserves to be considered. We have absolutely no problem sending folks to Betty's RV Park, but only if they recognize it's about the social aspect and not the parking situation. :) Oh, I'd also make sure that Betty is going to be around and there are a good number of folks in the RV park. Without Betty's hospitality and the contributions of others in the park, the social aspect would suffer.

Betty's RV Park

Back To Louisiana Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 138: Sam Houston Jones State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 7.0

Dates: November 3, 2009 - November 10, 2009
Location: A few miles north of I-10 just outside of Lake Charles in southwestern Louisiana. The best exit to take off of I-10 is Exit 33 onto U.S. 171 northbound to LA Hwy 378.
GPS Coordinates: 30.29257N, 93.25719W
Our Site Number: 33
Reason Selected: We selected this state park for the natural setting on our way from the west to the southeast.
Setting: Camp Area 1 is in the middle of the park among cypress ponds. It is wooded with gravel roads and sites. That area also includes several tent sites that are tightly squeezed in next to the RV sites.
Camp Area 2 is also wooded, but has paved roads and sites. Though it is separated from outside roads by woods and a river, there is still quite a bit of road noise as this loop is more on the edge of the park.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Big rig friendly getting into the park, but the sites themselves are pretty tight. It's a bit surprising how close together the sites are for a state park. There are a few pull-through sites, but most are back-ins. Most of the back-in sites in Camp Area 2 can accommodate large rigs, but many of the sites in the inner part of the circle have trees that can obstruct slides and awnings. Reserving sites online without seeing them first could be risky for bigger rigs.
Hook-ups: There are a few full hook-up sites in Camp Area 2 in the inner part of the campground. Most sites are water and electric sites with Camp Area 2 having 50 amps and Camp Area 1 having 30 amps. Both areas have old dump stations right in the campground. Caution: The website implies that all "premium" sites have full hook-ups, but that may not be the case. There are some sites that don't have full hook-ups that are considered "premium".
Laundry: No laundry.
Price & Discounts: Most sites are $16. "Premium" sites are $18. As of this visit there is a $3 one-time fee for walk-ins, and a $5 or $9 one-time fee for reservations (price depends on how the reservation is made). America The Beautiful Senior & Access 50% discounts apply - the only state park system we have visited so far that takes those federal discount cards.
Other Factors: Park personnel were very friendly. Website is decent, but not very good at describing campgrounds. Louisiana State Parks use Reserve America for reservations which, as I have said often, I hate. Rooftop satellite is tough, but we did manage to get it in Site 33. There are a few tripod opportunities. Trails, boardwalks, and a boat launch are also in the park. The park is loaded with deer and raccoons and some other wildlife. The West Fork of the Calcasieu River provides the southern boundary of the park. Bathhouses are fairly new and quite adequate. However, the push-button showers only stay on about 20 seconds at a time.
OVERALL RATING: 7.0 (out of ten)
Based on everything I've read, this is a highly regarded park. My opinion is that the park, and certainly the campgrounds, are just a bit overrated. We were fortunate to get Site 33 in Camp Area 2 as it has more awning-side privacy than most other sites. But the sites are really close together. And there is too much road noise in Camp Area 2. But it does have the natural setting we like, there is plenty of wildlife, and it is a great place for walking and bike riding. I wish the campgrounds were a little better so I could give it a little higher rating. :)

Sam Houston Jones State Park

Back To Louisiana Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 85: Private Residence, Lake Charles, LA - Overall Rating: N/A

Dates: November 29, 2007
Location: That's a secret. :)
GPS Coordinates: Can't disclose. :)
Our Site Number: N/A
Reason Selected: We were invited to stop by RV-Dreams readers as we passed through Lake Charles on our way our volunteer stint at Brazoria National Wildlife Refuge in Texas.
Setting: A residential subdivision.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Yep.
Hook-ups: Water & 50/30 amp electric.
Laundry: Did not partake. :)
Price & Discounts: N/A
Other Factors: Great hosts!
OVERALL RATING: N/A (out of ten)
It's always nice staying with folks that have a fifth wheel and have installed hook-ups for guests. :)




Back To Louisiana Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 84: Tickfaw State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 8.5

Dates: November 27, 2007 - November 28, 2007
Location: About 10 miles south of I-12 in southeastern Louisiana. Sort of between New Orleans and Baton Rouge. Not real easy to get to.
GPS Coordinates: 30.38412N, 90.63505W
Our Site Number: 19
Reason Selected: We were looking for natural settings in Louisiana as we were making our way to Texas for a volunteer job. It was
RVParkReviews.com that made us take a look at this state park.
Setting: Nice wooded campground sites on a loop. Sites are not really private, but there is great spacing in between. Roads and pads are paved.
Guidebooks: None used, but did use RVParkReviews.com
Big Rig Friendly: All back-in sites, but plenty of room for big rigs. All RV pads are over 65 feet long.
Hook-ups: 50/30 amp electric with water. Nice dump station.
Laundry: There is a laundry but I forgot to check it out.
Price & Discounts: All RV sites are $16. America The Beautiful Senior & Access 50% discounts apply - the only state park we have visited so far that takes those federal discount cards.
Other Factors: Park personnel were very friendly. Website is pretty good. But Louisiana State Parks now also use Reserve America for reservations which, as I have said often, I hate. But we rarely make reservations, so they didn't get my extra $8 or whatever ripoff fee they charge on top of the camping fee. We had a few choices for our rooftop satellite, even with the wooded campground. Trails, boardwalks, and a canoe trail are also in the park. Bathhouses and laundry are located in an elevated building just outside the campground loop - very clean when we were there.
OVERALL RATING: 8.5 (out of ten)
We really like this campground. Unfortunately, because our time was limited, we didn't get a chance to check out the rest of the park. So I have to admit that this rating is sort of based on what we thought the overall experience might have been. If we are ever passing through that part of Louisiana again, you can be sure we will make another stop for a longer period. :)

Tickfaw State Park

Back To Louisiana Campground Reviews List