Kentucky Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of campgrounds in which we have stayed in the state of Kentucky.

For details on how we choose a campground and our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

The reviews you find here will be from most recent to oldest since the older the review, the less relevant it may be. The "Overall Rating" is on a scale of 1 - 10 with 10 being the best.

Also, you will notice that each listing shows a corresponding "Journal Site" number. This refers to when our stay occurred in our journey and the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our daily Journal. By going to our Journal for the dates indicated in the review, you may be able to find out more about the campground and the area - but no promises. :)



Direct Links To Kentucky Reviews Below

Private Horse Farm, Fisherville, Kentucky - April 2010

Valley Breeze RV Campground, Grayson, KY - April 2010

Mammoth Cave National Park Campground, Mammoth Cave, KY - October 2007

Private Horse Farm, Louisville, KY - September 2007

Hillman Ferry Campground, Land Between The Lakes, Great Rivers, KY - August 2007

Kentucky Horse Park, Lexington, KY - July 2006

Grayson Lake State Park, Olive Hill/Grayson, KY - July 2006

Natural Bridge State Resort Park, Slade, KY - July 2006

Paintsville Lake State Park, Paintsville, KY - July 2006

Taylorsville Lake State Park, Taylorsville, KY - June 2006 & July 2006

Payne Farm (now former Payne Farm), Louisville, KY - May 2006

Bowling Green KOA, Bowling Green, KY - May 2006

Fort Boonesborough State Park, Boonesborough, KY - August 2005



Journal Site 154: Private Horse Farm - Overall Rating: N/A

Dates: April 18 - May 2, 2010
Location: Fisherville, KY
Our Site: N/A
GPS Coordinates: N/A
Reason Selected: This is our home base when we return to the Louisville area. We discovered it a couple of years ago on Workamper News when the owners advertised for someone to cut grass over the summer in exchange for a site.
Setting: Beautiful rural horse farm with rolling hills and wooded pastures.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Not easy to get into the sites and the turn to go down the road to the sites is too sharp and subject to dragging.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amps.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts:Negotiable
Other Factors: There just aren't any good, convenient RV parks or campgrounds in the Louisville area. This place is private, quiet, and gated.
OVERALL RATING: N/A (out of ten)
We'll keep going back as long as they'll have us. :)

Back To Kentucky Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 153: Valley Breeze RV Campground - Overall Rating: 6

Dates: April 17, 2010 - April 18, 2010
Location: Northeastern Kentucky. About a mile off I-64 Exit 172.
Our Site: 13
GPS Coordinates: 38.34481N 82.95514W
Reason Selected: Needed an easy place for an overnight stop on our way to Louisville.
Setting: Several sites in the owners' back yard. A mixture of back-ins and pull-throughs. Pretty close to the interstate, so road noise is a constant.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Yes, although turning into the entrance can be a little tricky.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 30-amp electric.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: $27 for pull-through sites and $23 for back-ins.
Other Factors: No website. Convenient to interstate. No problem for satellite.
OVERALL RATING: 6 (out of ten)
This campground certainly was not one of our favorites, but it was a convenient stop on our route. It's a little pricey for what it is. It served its purpose.

Back To Kentucky Campground Reviews List





Journal Site 80: Mammoth Cave National Park Campground - Overall Rating: 6

Dates: October 22, 2007 - October 28, 2007
Location: About 10 miles off of I-65 in southern Kentucky. Exit from either exit 53 (Cave City) or 48 (Park City) and follow the signs.
Our Site: 77
GPS Coordinates: 37.18039N, 86.09848W
Reason Selected: We had never stayed at Mammoth Cave, so we wanted to check it out on our way south to Mississippi.
Setting: Very, very wooded campground. It is really pretty, but could get tight when it is full. The campground roads and the campsites are paved. Though it is RV friendly, it seems to be more geared to tenters. There were deer and wild turkeys all around.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: A few sites can handle any size rig, but some of the pull-throughs are really made for smaller RVs.
Hook-ups: No hook-ups at all. There is a dump station and places to fill fresh water tanks.
Laundry: There are some old washers and dryers (3 each) available at the camp store just outside the campground.
Price & Discounts: $17 for no hook-ups. American The Beautiful Senior & Access 50% discounts apply.
Other Factors: We had maybe the only site in the campground where we could just squeeze a satellite signal. Staff was friendly enough. The bathhouse in our loop was closed for construction. The bathhouse at the camp store had showers, but the showers cost $2 for ten minutes. The showers and bathroom was not very nice. As usual, the website for this public campground didn't provide much information.
OVERALL RATING: 6 (out of ten)
We had terrible weather while were here. I tried to not let that affect our rating. The campground is really convenient to the attractions in Mammoth Cave National Park, and there is great, free Wi-Fi at the Mammoth Cave Hotel less than 1/4 mile away. The setting is pretty. My biggest issue was the $17 price for no hook-ups. The campground might have deserved as much as a 7, but I just couldn't do it based on the price, the barely adequate bathhouses, and the $2 charge for showers.

Mammoth Cave National Park Campground


Back To Kentucky Campground Reviews List




Journal Site 79: Private Horse Farm - Overall Rating: N/A

Dates: August 29, 2007 - October 22, 2007
Location: Just east of Louisville, KY
Our Site: N/A
GPS Coordinates: Can't give you coordinates - private property
Reason Selected: Owners were looking for workampers to help with groundskeeping. We contacted them about staying, but they had lined someone up. Since they have two sites, we asked if we could just rent one of the spaces while we needed to be in Louisville. They agreed. :)
Setting: The horse farm is back a rural road behind a gated entrance. The RV sites are back a gravel side road so that you can't see the owners' house from the sites. It is a beautiful setting.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Can handle any size rig - no problem.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: Nope. No problem, we just took it to relatives' houses in Louisville. :)
Price & Discounts: Can't disclose publicly. :)
Other Factors: Really nice family.
OVERALL RATING: N/A (out of ten)
We don't rate private property sites.


Back To Kentucky Campground Reviews List




Journal Site 78: Hillman Ferry Campground - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: August 26, 2007 - August 29, 2007
Location: Located at the north end of Land Between the Lakes (Barkley Lake & Kentucky Lake) in southwestern Kentucky.
Our Site: C67
GPS Coordinates: 36.94424N, 88.17069W
Reason Selected: We heard lots of great things about this campground from several RVers. Even being from Kentucky, we had never been. So we decided to check it out on our way from southeastern Missouri to Louisville.
Setting: Land Between The Lakes is a nature lover's haven. This campground surrounds a cove of Kentucky Lake and is heavily wooded. The campground roads and campsites are all paved. There are several lakefront sites.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Can handle any size rig, but some loops are tougher than others.
Hook-ups: The sites range from no hook-ups to full hook-ups. There are sites with full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric. There are sites with electric only. There are sites with electric and water. There are places to fill fresh water tanks and there is a dump station. Water is turned off November through March.
Laundry: On-site washers and dryers in nice new bathhouses.
Price & Discounts: Full hook-ups - $24; Electric & Water - $20; Electric Only - $16; No hook-ups - $12. American The Beautiful Senior and Access Pass 50% discounts apply.
Other Factors: This campground has 380 campsites. Almost all of them are heavily shaded, so the possibilities of getting rooftop satellite connections is tough. Staff in the campground are very nice. Website is pretty good and provides more detail than lots of other campground websites.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
We found a beautiful site overlooking the lake that allowed us to get satellite internet. It was really hard to get to and tough to get into. My biggest complaint about this federal campground is the number of seasonals they allow. I don't mean seasonal campers that stay there for months. I mean the locals that keep rigs at the campground all summer, but only use them on the weekends. It seemed as if half of the campground had rigs parked in sites that were not being used. Because of the seasonal locals, it is hard to get into the campground, and I just have a problem with that for a public, federal campground. For that reason alone, I can't give it more than a 7.

Hillman Ferry Campground


Back To Kentucky Campground Reviews List




Journal Site 33: Kentucky Horse Park Campground - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: July 24, 2006 - July 27, 2006
Location: Just north of the intersection of I-64 & I-75 between Lexington and Georgetown, Kentucky; About 1/2 mile east of I-75 at exit 120
Our Site: 21
GPS Coordinates: 38.147N, 84.50465W
Reason Selected: We had heard many great things about the Kentucky Horse Park Campground, but we had not stayed there or even visited the Horse Park; Since we had some time to kill before being back in Louisville at the end of July for a reunion, we made a point of stopping
Setting: The campground sits back off the road and borders the bluegrass fields of the Kentucky Horse Park; It is made up of two large loops each with a smaller loop inside; All sites have some shade at least some of the day and all are about the same size; It is huge with 260 sites, but it does not have that big RV park feel as there is decent space between the sites; The pads are paved, but not very wide and you almost have to park a second vehicle in the grass with bigger rigs
Guidebooks: No factor. Just web research and the numerous referrals of other RVers.
Big Rig Friendly: Can handle any size rig - no problem; But again, the actual parking pads are narrow
Hook-ups: Water and 30/50 amp electric - no sewer hook-ups; There are two nice dump stations
Laundry: On-site washers and dryers, but we forgot to check them out - oops.
Price & Discounts: April - October: $27 per night water/electric, $22 senior water/electric, $20 electric only, $15 no hook-ups; November - March: $22 per night water/electric, $19 senior water/electric, $18 electric only, $13 no hook-ups; Prices are $3 higher on Labor Day, 4th of July, Memorial Day and other special event weekends
Other Factors: Several sites offer easy satellite access; Staff was friendly and fast; The website has decent information about the campground and the aerial shot is nice for perspective; The Kentucky Horse Park campground recently went on ReserveAmerica reservations system which has some good features and some horrible features; The facilities within the campground are very nice with a large pool, tennis courts, basketball courts, volleyball courts, and two large bathhouses with washers and dryers, and a campstore
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
If you like staying at campgrounds with easy interstate access, but want to feel like you are in more of a natural setting, you can't do any better than this one. There is a slight drone of traffic noise from the interstate, but it's not too bad. The ease of getting in and out, the internal facilities, and the Horse Park itself make this a really nice place to stay. I personally like things a bit more rural, but we have to give this campground credit for convenience, facilities, and attractiveness without it being it just a parking lot. Actually this 8 rating is courtesy of Linda as I probably wouldn't have gone above 7.5. :) I might have gone 8 with sewer hook-ups.

Kentucky Horse Park


Back To Kentucky Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 32: Grayson Lake State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 6

Dates: July 21, 2006 - July 24, 2006
Location: On KY Hwy 7 about 7 miles south of I-64 at exit 172 in northeastern Kentucky; You actually go through Grayson, Kentucky but the address is Olive Hill
Our Site: 41
GPS Coordinates: 38.20057N, 83.02427W
Reason Selected: We were taking the opportunity to visit some of the Kentucky State Parks during July before we had to be back in Louisville on July 29 for a high school reunion; Our plan had been to spend six days in the Kentucky Horse Park, but they were booked for the weekend; I made the decision to check out Grayson Lake State Park because of the highly rated golf course and pictures I had seen online of a canoe trip on the Little Sandy River that forms Grayson Lake
Setting: Campground sits at the very end of the state park road; It is bordered by the golf course and Grayson Lake (although the lake is not visible through the trees in the summer); The sites have a variety of sizes and are full sun to full shade; It is quiet except that their is a lot of boat traffic near the campground on the weekends; Site pads (just the parking pads themselves are paved, but not necessarily level; Campers park vehicles and boats in the grass
Guidebooks: No factor. Just web research.
Big Rig Friendly: To a degree; Though there is plenty of room to maneuver through the campground and there is space to make parking fairly easy, the site pads are pretty small; The sites in full sun are best for larger rigs
Hook-ups: Water and 30/50 amp electric - no sewer hook-ups; There is a dump station; Water faucets are between sites, which means they are on the wrong side in every other site so be sure to bring plenty of marine hose
Laundry: On-site washers and dryers at one of the bathhouses
Price & Discounts: This state park facility had a daily rate of $20 and offered only AAA and senior discounts
Other Factors: Several sites offer easy satellite access; Staff was friendly; The website lacks good info about campground; Kentucky State Parks recently went on ReserveAmerica reservations system which has some good features and some horrible features; The park itself is basically just the campground and the golf course with one trail; The golf course is great, but other than that, this park seems to just be a place for the local boaters to camp - there is no boat ramp in the park, but there is one just down the road on Hwy 7; There is lake access by foot down a pretty steep hill at the back of the campground
OVERALL RATING: 6 (out of ten)
There was just something about this campground that was not inviting. We never could quite put our finger on it. Because of that we gave it a 6. It was not bad by any means - the golf course is great and the lake is beautiful. It was definitely better than a 5 and may deserve a 6.5, but there was just a feeling we had. Perhaps it was our site or the fact that we were only staying a short time. We would have liked to have explored the area a little more as there are two other state parks and the Daniel Boone National Forest nearby, but our stop was sort of a whim. Maybe another time.

Grayson Lake State Park


Back To Kentucky Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 31: Natural Bridge State Resort Park Campground (Middlefork) - Overall Rating: 5

Dates: July 17, 2006 - July 21, 2006
Location: About 2 miles off the Bert Combs Mountain Parkway in eastern Kentucky on KY Hwy 11; Exit 33 - Slade, KY
Our Site: B2
GPS Coordinates: 37.76666N, 83.67482W
Reason Selected: We were on our way from far eastern Kentucky to Louisville and had never been to Natural Bridge or the Red River Gorge; It was our only real option to spend a few days in the area
Setting: Campground sits in a valley with a stream running through it and woods on three sides; the fourth side is bordered by HWY 11 which runs high above the campground; Unfortunately, the sounds from the highway filter right down into the bowl of a campground; RV sites are a mixture of sizes and have varying levels of sun and shade; All sites have gravel pads
Guidebooks: No factor. I just relied on internet research on state parks
Big Rig Friendly: NO! Don't be fooled by the ten pull-through sites - only a couple of them are big enough for a 40 foot rig, but there is no place to park a tow or toad; If you have a 35 footer or larger, only site B2, B3, & B4 are worthwhile and even B3 has utilities on the wrong side; the campground entrance/exit is in a curve with limited sightlines
Hook-ups: Water and 30 amp electric only; There is a dump station, but it is small, sort of hidden and on a hill on the wrong side of the road as you leave - there is no separate pull off
Laundry: On-site laundry with one old washer/dryer beside the bathhouse
Price & Discounts: This state park facility had a daily rate of $24 and offered only AAA and senior discounts
Other Factors: A few sites offer easy satellite access; Staff was reasonably friendly, but not outstanding; The website lacks good info about campground; Kentucky State Parks recently went on ReserveAmerica reservations system which has some good features and some horrible features; The park has 11 great hiking trails and a small electric motor only lake; There are rental canoes for a pond - rip off! - and there is a pool near the lodge for an additional fee
OVERALL RATING: 5 (out of ten)
This campground is old and the facilities are outdated. Site-wise, it's perfect for tenters and pop-up campers, but it's not good for larger rigs. Considering the dangerous entrance/exit, the poor location for the dump station, and a price that's too high, we dropped this down from a possible 6 or 5.5.

Natural Bridge State Resort Park


Back To Kentucky Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 30: Paintsville Lake State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: July 10, 2006 - July 17, 2006
Location: About 3 miles outside of Paintsville in far eastern Kentucky; Approximately 2 miles from U.S. 23 on Kentucky Hwy 40
Our Site: 10
GPS Coordinates: 37.84406N, 82.87768W
Reason Selected: The newest state park campground in Kentucky and the only one with sewer hook-ups; Also, the beautiful mountain lake was a bit of a factor
Setting: Campground sits in a valley with woods on three sides; A community park, the lake, and a marina border the front entrance to the campground; RV sites are all full sun at midday as the immature trees planted have not grown in yet; Sites are large with level gravel pads, but the 32 RV sites are kind of crammed into the little valley (still we have seen them a lot closer together)
Guidebooks: No factor. I just relied on internet research on state parks and corps of engineers park in eastern Kentucky
Big Rig Friendly: Only a couple of pull-through sites; However, there are plenty of back-in sites large enough for big rigs, but the tow or toad might be a problem; However, they don't seem to enforce the rules for parking, so room can be found; Interior roads are wide and paved and there are no tree issues
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amp electric, water, and sewer (the only Kentucky State Park with full hook-ups; No dump station
Laundry: On-site laundry with two washers/dryers in very nice, new bathhouse
Price & Discounts: This state park facility had a daily rate of $27 and offered no discounts or weekly/monthly rates
Other Factors: Easy satellite access and staff was very friendly, but website lacks good info about campground; Kentucky State Parks recently went on ReserveAmerica reservations system which has some good features and some horrible features; The park has only one hiking trail, but the main attraction is the boating; The boat ramp area, lakeside park, and marina are all public use areas, so there are a lot of locals using the day use facilities right outside the campground
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
We would give this campground at least an 8 if the sites were spaced out a little more and the campground was not so close to the day use area. However, it is a very nice campground since it is so new. It is away from all highway traffic and noise and is in a very natural setting. It was a very peaceful place to stay though it does fill up on weekends in the summer and the boat traffic can be louder. I'll have to say they don't care about the posted rules too much. There seems to be a few RVs that stay here all summer long even though there is a 14 day limit. Also, people are allowed to park on the grass next to their sites and there are often two vehicles and a boat along with an RV on a site.

Paintsville Lake State Park


Back To Kentucky Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 29 & 34: Taylorsville Lake State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: June 22, 2006 - July 10, 2006 AND July 27 - August 3, 2006
Location: About 30 miles southeast of Louisville; On State Road 248 about 10 miles south of I-64 from Shelbyville; However, wider easier roads from I-64 to I-265 a little closer to Louisville
Our Site: 22 (both times)
GPS Coordinates: 38.02888N, 85.26153W
Reason Selected: Close to Louisville and one of only four real choices in the area; two of the other three are right on interstates and the third, which used to be in a rural area, is not surrounded by apartments and businesses
Setting: Grassy area carved out of the woods that surround Taylorsville Lake; RV sites are all full sun as the immature trees planted have not grown in yet; Sites are large and well spread out with large, level gravel pads
Guidebooks: No factor since our choices were limited
Big Rig Friendly: Only a couple of pull-through sites in the main loop (the equestrian camping area has 10 very long pull-through sites but you have to bring a horse to stay in that loop); However, there are plenty of back-in sites large enough for big rigs and a tow or toad; Interior roads are wide and paved and there are no tree issues
Hook-ups: Only electric and water (like most Kentucky State Parks); We did have 50 amp electric; two dump stations
Laundry: On-site laundry with two washers/dryers in very nice, fairly new bathhouse
Price & Discounts: This state park facility had a daily rate of $21 ($23 on holidays) and offered no discounts or weekly/monthly rates
Other Factors: Easy satellite access and staff was very friendly, but website lacks good info about campground; Kentucky State Parks recently went on ReserveAmerica reservations system which has some good features and some horrible features; There is a 10 site equestrian loop with horse tie-ups and there is a separate primitive loop for tent campers that desire more trees; The equestrian and primitive loops share a bathhouse and both loops are quite far from the main campground loops; The park has several hiking, mountain biking, and horse trails, but the main attraction is the boating
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
We really thought this campground was one of the better ones we have chosen. It is away from all traffic and noise and is in a very natural setting. Though it is located near Taylorsville Lake, which gets lots of boat traffic, it sits far enough off the lake with enough trees around it that you rarely hear any boat motors. The sites are large, far apart and are well-maintained. It was a very peaceful place to stay though it does fill up on weekends in the summer. As one of the newer campgrounds in the state, it is also one of the better state park campgrounds. We would have given it a 9 if it had sewer hook-ups. However, we will warn you - if you are looking for quick, easy access to Louisville, this is not the place.

Taylorsville Lake State Park


Back To Kentucky Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 28: Payne Farm (Now "Former" Payne Farm) - Overall Rating: N/A

Dates: May 15, 2006 - June 22, 2006
Location: Southeast Jefferson County, Louisville, Kentucky
Our Site: N/A
GPS Coordinates: N/A
Reason Selected: Howard's parents' farm - FREE!
Setting: Beautiful 7 acre tract of land with a pond and log cabin
Guidebooks: N/A
Big Rig Friendly: Oh yeah! Except getting in and out of the driveway is a little tricky.
Hook-ups: Full but only 20 amp electric
Laundry: On-site laundry in parents' house
Price & Discounts:FREE!
Other Factors: None
OVERALL RATING: N/A (out of ten)
Great place to stay for free. But, alas, the farm has been sold, so that option is gone for good.

Back To Kentucky Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 27: Bowling Green KOA - Overall Rating: 5

Dates: May 10, 2006 - May 15, 2006
Location: Bowling Green in Southwestern Kentucky; An hour north of Nashville and 2 hours south of Louisville on I-65
Our Site: A52
GPS Coordinates: 36.91362N, 86.43432W
Reason Selected: Designated campground for the 2006 Bowling Green, KY Life On Wheels conference for which we were instructors
Setting: The setting would be nice with the combination of trees, fields, and ponds except that it sits in the armpit of the intersection between I-65 and the Natcher Parkway
Guidebooks: No factor since it was a designated place to stay for Life On Wheels
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of space for rigs of all sizes; All sites are pull-throughs
Hook-ups: Over half the sites have full hook-ups, but we were late getting in and had only electric and water
Laundry: On-site laundry in main building
Price & Discounts:$24 - $35 per day (we were in at the Life On Wheels discounted rate of less than $20 per night)
Other Factors: Website is good, but we did expect this to be a nicer campground; It was an RV park with some personality, but our site was not good; We were able to get satellite clearance.
OVERALL RATING: 5 (out of ten)
This campground was not well-maintained with grass growing up through the gravel in the pull-through sites. As a matter of fact, the only mowing that had been done in awhile was the cutting of the sites, but not the grass in between the sites. That and the double highway noise made this an unpleasant stay. Only the discounted rate made it worthwhile to stay there - well, that and the fact that there were virtually no other options.

Bowling Green KOA


Back To Kentucky Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 2: Fort Boonesborough State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 5

Dates: August 3, 2005 - August 8, 2005
Location: Central Kentucky; 5.5 miles east of I-75 between Richmond and Winchester
GPS Coordinates: 37.8963N, 84.2671W
Reason Selected: Closest campground (by many, many miles) to our destination in Winchester, KY
Setting: Part of state park grounds and situated along banks of Kentucky River; bordered by trees on all sides; thinly wooded within campground, but many shady sites; However, quarry located just on other side of trees in one area and heavy, noisy trucks started very early in the morning on weekdays
Guidebooks: Not much of a factor since our choices were limited; Nothing to scare us off
Big Rig Friendly: Only one pull-through site and it had low hanging branches; However, there were plenty of back-in sites large enough to accomodate with room to maneuver
Hook-ups: Only electric and water (like most Kentucky State Parks); We did have 50 amp electric; three dump stations
Laundry: On-site laundry in convenient locations; older facilities
Price & Discounts: This state park facility had a daily rate of $20 and offered no discounts or weekly/monthly rates; probably a little over-priced without sewer hook-ups and without much to do in the area; also, the pool area, even though not actually in the campground, was nice, but was an additional $4.00 per day for adults - we passed
Other Factors: Staff was very friendly when we called about big rig sites, but website was lacking.
OVERALL RATING: 5 (out of ten)
Campground was nice and could have gotten a point or two higher, but I have to give it an overall average rating because of 1) the noise from the quarry, 2) it was a little over-priced, 3) the bathhouses were old and not cleaned well, and 4) there was no effort on the part of the staff (which there was plenty) to pick up random trash and make the place look better; we would stay there again only if we had to be in that area

Fort Boonesborough State Park Campground


Back To Kentucky Campground Reviews List