Colorado Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of campgrounds in which we have stayed in the state of Colorado.

For details on how we choose a campground and our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

The reviews you find here will be from most recent to oldest since the older the review, the less relevant it may be. The "Overall Rating" is on a scale of 1 - 10 with 10 being the best.

Also, you will notice that each listing shows a corresponding "Journal Site" number. This refers to when our stay occurred in our journey and the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our daily Journal. By going to our Journal for the dates indicated in the review, you may be able to find out more about the campground and the area - but no promises. :)

Direct Links To Colorado Reviews Below

Pagosa Riverside Campground, Pagosa Springs, CO - November 2008

V.A. Poma Ranch, Pagosa Springs, CO - Summer/Fall 2008

Blanco River RV Park, Pagosa Springs, CO - May 2008

Diamond Campground & RV Park, Woodland Park, CO - July 2007

San Luis State Park, Mosca, CO - July 2007

Echo Basin Ranch, Mancos, CO - June 2007

Journal Site 108: Pagosa Riverside Campground - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: October 27, 2008 - November 7, 2008
Location: On U.S Hwy 160 about 2 miles east of Pagosa Springs in southern Colorado
GPS Coordinates: 37.2869N, 106.9801W
Our Site Number: 67
Reason Selected: We finished our job 25 miles north of Pagosa Springs and wanted a place to chill out for a week or so. It would allow our employer to follow-up with us if she needed anything, we could rest, and we could make sure any mail coming in would arrive before we left the area. After the end of October, there aren't many choices in Pagosa.
Setting: Varied setting (open and shaded sites) between Hwy 160 and the San Juan River. The campground sits down below the road, so the noise isn't too bad. It's mostly gravel, side-by-side sites with Cottonwood trees scattered throughout the campground. It's not bad for an RV park sitting close to a busy highway. The campground being right on the river is nice.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig. Our site was wide enough to park our Jeep and truck to the side. Over half the sites can accomodate rigs up to 45 feet and slides, but they are not as wide as the one we had.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 30 amp electric
Laundry: Six washers and two commercial dryers. Older, but a decent facility.
Price & Discounts: Full hook-ups for 31.95 per night; Weekly rate is seven nights for the price of 6; Monthly rate is $550; 10% discount for AAA, AARP, FMCA, & Good Sam members; Discounts and weekly rate do not apply to the riverfront sites (I'd choose site 56 if I wanted a riverfront site - it's a back-in that almost parallels the river). Our stay was at weekly (non-river) rate and was $204 including tax.
Other Factors: Very nice owners and workampers; Rooftop satellite was no problem, but it could be in some sites with cottonwood trees; Bathhrooms were older but in good shape; They don't have their own website, but they are listed on Free Wi-Fi, but may not reach all sites. At 7100 feet elevation. Fly-fishing right from the campground. Pond with paddle boats. Well-stocked store with groceries and RV supplies.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
There were only a few rigs in the park while we were there. The sound of the river was great and helped muffle road noise. Mostly pull-through sites for larger rigs. The price is a little high for us, and they don't have 50 amp service. Of course 50 amp service isn't really necessary at 7,100 feet elevation. With only a few rigs in the campground when we were there, I think it gave us an illusion of spaciousness. I'm sure it is prettier in the summer, but probably a bit more claustrophobic as well. :)

Pagosa Riverside Campground

Back To Colorado Campground Reviews List

Journal Site 107: V.A. Poma Ranch - Overall Rating: 5

Workamper SitesView From Guest RV Sites

Dates: June 27, 2008 - October 27, 2008
Location: On Piedra Road, 24 miles north of U.S. Hwy 160 and Pagosa Springs in southern Colorado. In the San Juan National Forest in the Weminuche Valley.
GPS Coordinates: 37.48133N, 107.24471W
Our Site Number: Workamper Site
Reason Selected: We were workampers for July through October 2008.
Setting:The V.A. Poma Ranch is 785 acre guest ranch located in a valley in the San Juan National Forest at 8000 feet. There are two workamper RV sites that sit near the Ranch headquarters tucked up in a pine trees - private, but no views. The two guest RV sites are side-by-side sitting in a cove along the ranch road with views looking out across the Weminuche River & Valley.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig, but there are some tight turns, rough roads, and a narrow bridge. Getting into the sites requires some uphill backing (especially the workamper sites).
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 30 amp electric, but the voltage fluctuates quite a bit - make sure you have voltage protection. And the water pressure is low.
Laundry: Laundy facility (one washer/dryer) for workampers only. Sportsman's Supply about seven miles away has public washer/dryers.
Price & Discounts: $32 per night plus tax; Weekly rate is 7 nights for the price of 6 plus tax; Rates are higher in hunting seasons. No membership discounts.
Other Factors: Very, very friendly manager; Dessert hour in the evenings in the main Ranch house during the summer; Fantastic trout fishing in the three miles of Weminuche River on the property and in two on-site ponds; Beautiful, remote setting with National Forest surrounding most of the property; Rooftop satellite works, but have to be positioned properly; Shower house is quite a distance from RV sites, but is fairly new and is adequate; Website doesn't provide much info on RV sites, but they were working on that; Wi-Fi is available at the Ranch house but not at the RV sites.
OVERALL RATING: 5 (out of ten)
Not really an RV destination. Caters more to those renting cabins. Eighteen of the 24 miles up Piedra Road are unpaved and range from decent to horrible depending on the most recent weather and the last time road crews were through. A fabulous place to spend a few days in a remote area especially for fly-fishing. A bit pricey, but few options in the area with full hook-ups and the type of hospitality you get. The RV sites aren't great, but the relaxing atmosphere can make up for that. We loved the Ranch, but it certainly isn't a place to just drop in. Being objective, it's not a place we would go without at least two weeks to stay.

V.A. Poma Ranch

Back To Colorado Campground Reviews List

Journal Site 96: Blanco River RV Park - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: May 8, 2008 - May 13, 2008
Location: On U.S Hwy 84 about 10 miles south of Pagosa Springs in southern Colorado
GPS Coordinates: 37.15765N, 106.9468W
Our Site Number: 47
Reason Selected: We were on our way from Utah to Branson, Missouri and wanted to stop in Pagosa Springs where we had lined up a workamping job for the summer. Many of the National Forest campgrounds had not yet opened for the season, so our choice was RV parks. From our web research, this one seemed the most like our style.
Setting:Open setting between a feeder of the Blanco River and a wooded hill. But to the right of the river in the photo above is Hwy 84. It's very close to the road but buffered by the river and a steep bank. The roads and sites are gravel and the sites are very close together.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig, but could be trickier if the RV park is full.
Hook-ups: Full hook-up with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: Really nice with four washers/dryers.
Price & Discounts: $30 per night plus tax; They also have weekly and monthly rates. They do offer 10% discounts off nightly rate for Good Sam, FMCA, and others. There is a 15% discount for Escapees. I saw a Happy Camper sticker on their window, so it appears they have some discount for that 1/2 price club membership. Our stay with the Escapees discount was $27.25 per night including tax.
Other Factors: Very, very friendly owners; Rooftop satellite was no problem; Bathhouse was immaculate and laundry facilities were great; They don't have their own website, but they are listed on - Caution: Rates on that website were outdated when we checked. Free Wi-Fi. At 6900 feet elevation. Lots of beautiful scenery and National Forest roads nearby. We had constant hummingbirds at our feeders.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
There were very few rigs in the park while we were there. But the sites were way too close together, and I bet it is really crowded during the summer. Because the sites are packed in, because it sits really close to the highway, and because the price is a bit on the high side for us, I can only give it a seven.

Blanco River RV Park

Back To Colorado Campground Reviews List

Journal Site 73: Diamond Campground & RV Park - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: July 11, 2007 - August 10, 2007
Location: On Colorado Hwy 67 just north of Woodland Park, CO; about 20 miles from Colorado Springs
GPS Coordinates: 39.00867N, 105.0685W
Our Site Number: 175
Reason Selected: We had planned to meet up with friends of ours who were workamping at this campground. During their days off, they were helping us do an upgrade to our electrical system.
Setting:Quite wooded for an RV park near town. Lots of tall pines. Mule deer wandered through the campground daily and bears were known to visit once in awhile as well. The front of the park (east) is near Hwy 67 and is very loud. The back of the park (west) where we stayed is much quieter but backs up to a residential community beyond the privacy fence. The south side is next to commercial business and the north side is next to a wooded area that looks like will become a developed subdivision soon. Sites are very close together. Road is combination of gravel and hard-packed dirt.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig, but many sites required skill for back-ins.
Hook-ups: Full hook-up with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: Nice facility.
Price & Discounts: $27 per night plus tax; $162 per week plus tax; $450 per month (tax included) - We stayed a month just to get the better rate; $1495 seasonal for May 10 - Sept 30.
Other Factors: Very, very friendly staff (not just saying that because we knew some of them); Rooftop satellite options were very limited; Bathhouses were very clean; Website could definitely be improved; Lots of beautiful scenery and National Forest roads nearby; Cool summer temps and no bugs.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
The sites were way too close together for my liking, but the setting was better than I expected. There are lots of seasonal folks which is very understandable given the great price and wonderful summer weather. Some good community activities. Not really our cup of tea, but we liked it more than we thought we would. If you don't mind going without hook-ups, a National Forest campground a few miles up the road is more the type campground we like, but even there, there is still a lot of road noise from Hwy 67. Still, Diamond is probably the best option in the area if you want full hook-ups.

Diamond Campground & RV Park

Back To Colorado Campground Reviews List

Journal Site 72: San Luis State Park - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: July 9, 2007 - July 11, 2007
Location: In the San Luis Valley. Eight miles east of Hwy 150 (Mosca) and a few miles west of the Great Sand Dunes National Park.
GPS Coordinates: 37.67842, 105.734W
Our Site Number: 16
Reason Selected: We were looking for a place to stay on our way from Mancos, CO to Woodland Park, CO. We chose this state park because of its closeness to the Great Sand Dunes National Park.
Setting: Overlooks the San Luis Lake and the Great Sand Dunes on the eastern side of the lake. The Sangres Mountains are also part of the view to the east. The views are beautiful. The terrain is high desert with no trees. It is a remote state park and, therefore, very quiet.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig
Hook-ups: Electric hook-ups only (30 amps); Water sources are in the campground, but you need to take on water before parking in most sites. There is a dump station.
Laundry: Yes, very nice.
Price & Discounts: $18 PLUS $6 park entrance fee per day.
Other Factors: All sites have a nice little shelter over a picnic table. All sites are certainly satellite friendly. The views were nice, but the bugs were bad. And it is very windy - the harsh winds made us leave a little earlier than planned. Bathhouse was very clean. The state park website is pretty good, but there are no pictures of the campground. The camphosts were not on duty when we were there, but the contracted park managers were nice. Best campground for "it" factor near the Great Sand Dunes National Park. Unfortunately, the lake was very low and the wildlife area had closed just before we had arrived for nesting birds.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
I might have given this campground a 7.5, but Linda would probably have given it a 6.5 because of the wind. So we compromised once again and settled on the 7. It's certainly not what you think about when you visit Colorado. But its proximity to the Great Sand Dunes (a must see) and Zapata Falls, make it a very worthwhile stop.

San Luis State Park

Back To Colorado Campground Reviews List

Journal Site 71: Echo Basin Ranch - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: June 25, 2007 - July 9, 2007
Location: Soutwest Colorado. Off Hwy 160 about 30 miles west of Durango and 3 miles east of Mancos.
GPS Coordinates: 37.39553N, 108.24677W
Our Site Number: 67
Reason Selected: Looked online for a natural setting in the Durango, Colorado area. Happened across this possibility in our research.
Setting: Way out in the middle of nowhere. Most sites are wooded with tall pines, but there are open sites as well. There is no brush between sites for privacy and the spacing between sites varies greatly. From our site, we had a view of Mesa Verde to the west, the La Plata Mountains to the east, and wide open pastures to the north behind our rig. There are several cabins and the ranch looks like an attempt to become more of a resort than it can afford to be. Sites are all gravel. But it is scenic, quiet, and remote. Bears were spotted in the campground a couple of nights we were there.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig, but there is a 3.5 mile drive back a fairly narrow, windy road to get to the ranch. Fortunately, there is almost no traffic.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: Very nice.
Price & Discounts: $35 Nightly rate; $220 Weekly ($31 a night); $630 Monthly ($21 a night). These are 2008 prices which have gone up considerably since we were there. We paid a $177 weekly rate which came out to about $25 a night.
Other Factors: Close to Mesa Verde National Park and San Juan National Forest. Sits at 7800 feet elevation, so nice summer temperatures and no bugs. Pretty place with some great views if you choose the right spots. Some tackiness with artificial grass and flowers in some areas. Staff was friendly, but often unavailable as their concentration seemed to be on catering and group events. Swimming pool and hot tub, but the pool heater was broken when we were there. Website is pretty good, but the Restaurant/Saloon are only open for private functions.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
The peace, quiet, views, remoteness, nice temps, no bugs, and full hook-ups warrant an 8. We liked it enough to change plans and stay two weeks. However, it is quite a drive to anywhere from this campground. If you just want to get away to a cool place for the summer, Echo Basin ain't bad. The management is a little lax - we had a hard time finding anyone to pay. Linda might have given it a little higher rating, but I think 8 is pretty fair.

Echo Basin Ranch

Back To Colorado Campground Reviews List