Arkansas Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of campgrounds in which we have stayed in the state of Arkansas.

For details on how we choose a campground and our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

The reviews you find here will be from most recent to oldest since the older the review, the less relevant it may be. The "Overall Rating" is on a scale of 1 - 10 with 10 being the best.

Also, you will notice that each listing shows a corresponding "Journal Site" number. This refers to when our stay occurred in our journey and the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our daily Journal. By going to our Journal for the dates indicated in the review, you may be able to find out more about the campground and the area - but no promises. :)


Direct Links To Arkansas Reviews Below

Lake Ouachita State Park Campground, Mountain Pine, AR - November 2006

Denton Ferry RV Park, Cotter, AR - October 2006

Withrow Springs State Park Campground, Huntsville, AR - October 2006



Journal Site 50: Lake Ouachita State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: November 8, 2006 - November 13, 2006
Location: Mountain Pine, Arkansas. About 15 miles northwest of Hot Springs at the end of Highway 227
GPS Coordinates: 34.61438N, 93.17719W
Our Site Number: 26
Reason Selected: Brand new large site, full hook-up state park campground near our destination of Hot Springs National Park; Also recommended by a Little Rock couple we met while canoeing the Buffalo River
Setting: Nice wooded setting on Lake Ouachita, one of the cleanest lakes in the country; Partial lake views through the trees; Nothing else around for miles :)
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: No facilities
Price & Discounts: Lots of different rates - too confusing to list them all here, so I'll give you a link:
Arkansas State Park Campging Fees; We paid $25.50 plus tax so I guess we were in a "Premium A" site - whatever the heck that means; There are discounts for those over 62 but they are different depending on residency and whether it's a weekend or not - read carefully
Other Factors: Beautiful campground and lake; Brand new campground, so it looked like there was still a lot of maintenance and clean-up being done; Limited options for rooftop satellite due to tall trees; Office staff was very polite; bathhouse was nice and clean; website is very nice; boat ramp just outside the entrance to the campground; entrance to campground is a pretty steep, but short, hill
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
Large paved sites with full hook-ups on a beautiful lake far from any city. A little more privacy between sites, and a laundry could have gotten this campground up to a 9. Pretty tough to beat.

Lake Ouachita State Park

Back To Arkansas Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 49: Denton Ferry RV Park - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: October 25, 2006 - November 8, 2006
Location: On the White River just off Hwy 62, Cotter, Arkansas.
GPS Coordinates: 36.293N, 92.52251W
Our Site Number: 35 & 15 (35 is a pull-through and 15 is a back-in on the river)
Reason Selected: We were looking for a place to stay near the Buffalo National River; The National River campground didn't have any openings, and other campgrounds nearer the Buffalo were not impressive; Decided on this RV Park at the last minute
Setting: Sits right on the White River; The back-in sites on the river are wonderful while the rest of the sites are typical pull-through RV park sites - nothing to brag about; The campground is quiet and on a rural road
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig
Hook-ups: Full hook-up with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: Yes, two washers, two dryers
Price & Discounts: River sites $30, $25 for others; Weekly rate is $150 for all sites; Monthly rate is $420 for all sites; 10% Good Sam Discount and Senior Citizen Discount on daily rates; Winter rates apply November through February: $22.50 daily on all sites, $125 weekly, $350 monthly; We paid weekly rates as we stayed two weeks
Other Factors: All sites were rooftop satellite friendly; Wade in trout fishing in the White River right from the campground; Owner Bill Ernst is a great guy; He is also a member of a great nearby golf course so you have a ready-made golf partner; Bathhouses were fine; Cotter is known as Trout Capital USA and there is a great fly shop just up the road from the RV Park; Lots of fishing guides nearby
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
RV Parks are usually not our favorite, but we really liked this one. The first site we had was boring, but site 15 on the river is one of the best sites in the park. Good golf, good fishing, and the Buffalo National River made this a place we will return to in the future.

Denton Ferry RV Park

Back To Arkansas Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 48: Withrow Springs State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: October 22, 2006 - October 25, 2006
Location: On Arkansas Hwy 23, 5 miles north of Huntsville in Northwest Arkansas
GPS Coordinates: 36.1553N, 93.735167W
Our Site Number: 23
Reason Selected: Good natural setting state park campground on our way to the Buffalo National River
Setting: New wooded campground loop; very quiet except that it sits too close to a rural "spur" road for local access; Other than that, nothing but woods around
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig
Hook-ups: Full hook-up with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: No
Price & Discounts: Lots of different rates - too confusing to list them all here, so I'll give you a link:
Arkansas State Park Campging Fees; We paid $25.50 plus tax so I guess we were in a "Premium A" site - whatever the heck that means; There are discounts for those over 62 but they are different depending on residency and whether it's a weekend or not - read carefully
Other Factors: Rooftop satellite options were limited; Friendly staff; Bathhouses were very nice and clean; Website is very nice; War Eagle Creek just outside of the park is a nice canoeing river and there is a good one mile hiking trail that runs along the creek; Wal-mart and laundry in nearby Huntsville
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
Probably would have given this an 8 if not for the close proximity of the road and if the sites had been just a little bigger. However, we were very happy to find a paved, full hook-up campground in such a rural state park. Great stopping point while traveling through the northwest Arkansas Ozarks.

Withrow Springs State Park

Back To Arkansas Campground Reviews List