Alabama Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of campgrounds in which we have stayed in the state of Alabama.

For details on how we choose a campground and our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

The reviews you find here will be from most recent to oldest since the older the review, the less relevant it may be. The "Overall Rating" is on a scale of 1 - 10 with 10 being the best.

Also, you will notice that each listing shows a corresponding "Journal Site" number. This refers to when our stay occurred in our journey and the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our daily Journal. By going to our Journal for the dates indicated in the review, you may be able to find out more about the campground and the area - but no promises. :)


Direct Links To Alabama Reviews Below

Escapees Rainbow Plantation RV Park, Summerdale, AL - November 2009

Island Retreat RV Park, Gulf Shores, AL - October 2005

Isaac Creek Corps Of Engineeers Campground, Franklin, AL - September 2005

Foscue Creek Corps Of Engineers Campground, Demopolis, AL - September 2005

Bankhead National Forest Corinth Recreation Area Campground, Double Springs, AL - September 2005

Oak Mountain State Park, Pelham, AL - August 2005

Noccalula Falls Campground, Gadsden, AL - August 2005


Journal Site 142: Escapees Rainbow Plantation RV Park - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: November 23, 2009 - November 30, 2009
Location: Summerdale, Alabama. About 14 miles south of I-10 and then 4.5 miles west of U.S. Highway 59 on County Road 28
GPS Coordinates: 30.45915N, 87.78138W
Our Site Number: 86
Reason Selected: We like being at Escapees parks during the holidays and this one was on our route as we traveled toward Florida for the winter. We had heard a lot of great things about this park and had some friends staying there at the time.
Setting: Rows of very large, grass sites with Live Oak trees providing some shade. Very rural setting that sort of looks like an old farm. Paved roads through the RV park. The south side sits close to County Road 28 while there is a good buffer on all other sides.
Guidebooks: None Used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig - no problem.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amp electric
Laundry: Very nice laundry facility. Four washers and six dryers.
Price & Discounts: $14.50 plus metered electric. Weekly rate of $85 plus metered electric. $5 per night for dry camping. These are all Escapees RV Club member rates.
Other Factors: Very large sites. Good place to be for Thanksgiving. A few activities, and a social hour every day. Sounds like there are more activities during the winter months. Website is not particularly helpful. Ten miles in opposite directions to two Super Walmarts (Foley & Fairhope). About 8 miles to a large Camping World (Roberstdale). Very rural location.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
Rainbow Plantation is a nice RV park with huge, full hook-up sites. Like most Escapees parks, the social aspect and warmth, as well as the price for Escapees members, are the draw. It's still not our favorite kind of park, but we have to give credit for the site sizes, the full hook-ups, the laundry, and price. :)

Escapees Rainbow Plantation RV Park

Back To Alabama Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 10: Island Retreat RV Park - Overall Rating: 6

Dates: October 3, 2005 - November 1, 2005
Location: Gulf Shores, Alabama. About 1.5 miles west of Highway 59 on Fort Morgan Road (Hwy 180)
GPS Coordinates: 30.2598N, 87.7120W
Our Site Number: 178
Reason Selected: We knew we were going to be in Gulf Shores for the middle two weeks of October for the Hummer/Bird Study Group migrating bird banding at Fort Morgan at the end of Fort Morgan Road (about 20 miles from Hwy 59). Since we planned to make that 20 mile trip twice a day for two weeks, we wanted to get as close to Fort Morgan as possible. We also determined that we would stay a month to get the best rates. There are four campgrounds on Fort Morgan Road (two of which were quite a bit closer to Fort Morgan than Island Retreat) and a couple of other ones nearby. This time we could not choose, so we drove to Gulf Shores and decided we would make our decision upon arrival. We stopped at our first choice, but it turned out to be right under Hwy 59. We moved to the two other campgrounds close to Fort Morgan, but they were both too small and did not appear to be a good deal for the money. We ended up at Island Retreat by default.
Setting: Basically an RV parking lot; A few trees in the older section nearest Fort Morgan Road, but no trees in the newer back section; Old houses and trailers on each side and an apartment complex in the rear; the only redeeming quality of the setting was that there was no problem getting satellite service from any site
Guidebooks: Good ratings in the guidebooks; probably would have chosen this park had we relied on the guidebooks alone
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig; A majority of the pull-through sites were in the less attractive back section
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amp electric
Laundry: Four washers and dryers in the newer rear section bathhouse; Three washers and dryers in the older front bathhouse; Very good laundry facilities
Price & Discounts: $424.00 for a month (October thru April); $533.50 per month (May - Sept); $19.65 per day, $177.90 per week; Good Sam discount on the daily rate
Other Factors: Personnel was satisfactory; Apparently this park had just been sold to a corporate entity earlier in 2005, and there seemed to be uncertainty as to what effect it would have on the park; Website is inviting and informative, but the online site map is what made us feel like it didn't have character and was more of a parking lot which it was
OVERALL RATING: 6 (out of ten)
We were originally relegated to the back section of this park where there were cluttered sites where people were living and one RV up on blocks with no wheels; We were able to move to the front section of the park, and it felt much better though there still is not much ambience to this "campground"; This type of park is not our cup of tea (I would have given it a 4 if I had rated it the first couple of days), but we have to give it credit for facilities, convenience and the acceptable monthly rate (I would never have paid $30 a night here); We would stay here again, simply because there are not many other choices, but if we are back in the area, we will look hard for other alternatives

Island Retreat RV Park Website

Back To Alabama Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 9: Isaac Creek Corps of Engineers Campground - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: September 29, 2005 - October 3, 2005
Location: In the middle of nowhere on the Alabama River. :) Actually, about 20 miles off U.S. Highway 84 between Grove Hill & Monroeville, Alabama
GPS Coordinates: 31.6456N, 87.5201W
Our Site Number: 41
Reason Selected: We were struggling to find a decent campground about half way between Demopolis and Gulf Shores, Alabama; Since we had luck at Foscue Creek, we found that Isaac Creek was the southernmost Corps of Engineers Park in Alabama; Though not halfway and though without sewer hook-ups, we decided to make our way to Isaac Creek for four days before traveling on to Gulf Shores
Setting: Absolutely beautiful campground bordered by the Alabama River and Isaac Creek which connected the river to Claiborne Lake; there are about 10 sites directly on the Alabama River with clear views - a few of those were shaded; the rest of the sites sit in deep woods with very tall trees; many sit directly on the creek or across the road and they are the first occupied; there is one section of sites not on water fartherest from either of the two bathhouses that are extremely private, but many have gravel pads rather than concrete; satellite access was available in some of the more wooded sites, but the best opportunities are on the riverfront sites
Guidebooks: Mentioned in Frommers Best RV & Tent Campgrounds - No real description though; Guidebooks were not a factor on this choice
Big Rig Friendly: A couple of pull-through sites, but almost all back-in sites suitable for big rigs
Hook-ups: Water & 50 Amp Electric Only, no sewer
Laundry: Single washer and dryer in each of the two bathhouses; adequate, but not great
Price & Discounts: $16.00 for waterfront sites; $14.00 for all others; no club discounts
Other Factors: Personnel is contracted by Corp of Engineers and they were friendly and gave good directions to this very, very remote campground; Army Corp of Engineers Parks always have water nearby which is great for aesthetics and wildlife; Website descriptions, information on actual location, directions, and photos lacking
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
This campground was just beautiful!! It was quite remote, but that's what we like. It might have scored just a little bit higher if the bathhouses were in better shape. Caution: It's very remote - don't say I didn't warn you. :)

Isaac Creek Corp of Engineers Campground

Isaac Creek Reservations At ReserveUSA

Back To Alabama Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 8: Foscue Creek Corps of Engineers Campground - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: September 22, 2005 - September 29, 2005
Location: On the western outskirts of Demopolis, Alabama about 2 miles off U.S. Highway 80
GPS Coordinates: 32.5150N, 87.8766W
Our Site Number: 38
Reason Selected: We decided that we did not want to get back on the interstate from Double Springs. This Corps of Engineers campground was on our way south a fairly straight shot from Double Springs and it is one of the few COE parks in Alabama with sewer hook-ups; Sites looked spacious on the internet; Also a couple at our last campground had just been to this one and recommended it
Setting: Very nice campground on Foscue Creek with a few sites directly on the Tombigbee River; the majority of sites are waterfront; there are two sections with the first section of fifteen sites being less wooded and the second section having more trees & three or four small loops within the section; Not as quiet as Corinth Recreation Area with a plant on the eastern side (sort of a dull hum you get used to), train tracks across the street from the entrance (count on a train each weekday morning around 7:20), and occasional barge horns as they go through the lock just downriver from the campground; Most folks with tripods seemed to be able to locate satellite TV from most sites; RV mounted dishes may need to be more selective
Guidebooks: Mentioned in Frommers Best RV & Tent Campgrounds - No real description though; Guidebooks were not a factor on this choice
Big Rig Friendly: A couple of pull-through sites, but many back-in sites suitable for big rigs
Hook-ups: Full Hook-ups (water, 50 amp electric, and sewer); Only five sites without sewer
Laundry: Single washer and dryer in each of the two bathhouses; adequate, but not great
Price & Discounts: $18.00 for full hook-ups; no club discounts
Other Factors: Personnel is contracted by Corp of Engineers and they were friendly - said they had the prettiest campground in the state when we called and warned us about the over-zealous fish & wildlife ranger in the area; Army Corp of Engineers Parks always have water nearby which is great for aesthetics and wildlife; Website descriptions and photos lacking
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
This was our first Corps of Engineers Campground and we really enjoyed having a waterfront home for a week; Natural surroundings, access to the creek/river, and lots of birds within the campground; Great sites with full-hook-ups; A good solid 8 because of waterfront sites, but would never get a 9 because of low water pressure, lack of good laundry, area noise (not really too bad), and it's a little too close to town for our taste; When driving to the campground from U.S. Highway 80, we were a little apprehensive because of the area and rough road, but our stay exceeded our initial impressions by a good bit

Foscue Park COE Campground

Foscue Park Reservations At ReserveUSA

Back To Alabama Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 7: Bankhead National Forest, Corinth Recreation Area Campground - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: September 6, 2005 - September 22, 2005
Location: 7 Miles east of Double Springs, Alabama; About 45 miles west of Cullman, Alabama off I-65 off State Road 278 on County Road 57
GPS Coordinates: 34.1232N, 87.3304W
Our Site Number: 40
Reason Selected: Made decision to head north and then west after we lost our spot at Oak Mountain; Campground was listed in our Frommers Best Campgrounds guide with high ratings; Plus, at the time we called they were allowing free camping because of Hurricane Katrina
Setting: Gorgeous campground in the middle of the woods and sitting on Smith Lake; Lake is a short walk; Wonderfully peaceful and quiet, but a seven mile or so drive to get to anything; Two loops; The Yellowhammer loop is more wooded and allows for somewhat better privacy; The Firefly loop is also wooded, but has fewer trees between sites and is more suited to satellite
Guidebooks:Reviewed in Frommers Best RV & Tent Campgrounds - High ratings for beauty and quiet
Big Rig Friendly: A few pull-through sites, but only on the Yellowhammer loop; many back-in sites suitable for big rigs
Hook-ups: Full Hook-ups (water, 50 amp electric, and sewer); Sewer hook-ups were set in stainless steel "sinks" with an additional drain - first time we had seen this, but was very nice
Laundry: No laundry facilities
Price & Discounts: $22.05 for full hook-ups; no club discounts
Other Factors: Personnel was extremely friendly; Offer of free camping at the beginning of our stay sealed our decision to camp here
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
This was the best campground we have stayed in so far; Natural surroundings, access to the lake, and wildlife within the campground; Great sites with full-hook-ups and complete peace and quiet; Would have gotten a 9 if it had laundry facilities and better water pressure; Not exactly easy to get to, but if nearby, you need to check it out

Cradle Of Forestry Website (The Cradle Of Forestry Runs This Campground)

Reservations At ReserveUSA

Back To Alabama Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 6: Oak Mountain State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 6

Dates: August 26, 2005 - September 6, 2005
Location: Pelham, Alabama; Exit 246 on I-65, then follow signs to state park
GPS Coordinates: 33.3136N, 86.7698W
Our Site Number: 16 (Section B or North Campground)
Reason Selected: Because of State Wildlife Rehabilitation Center and Birds of Prey Trail;
Setting: Quiet campground in the woods five miles from the entrance to Oak Mountain State Park; Two sections; Section A has more attractive and private sites, but Section B has more reliable satellite access;
Guidebooks:Reviewed in both Frommers Best Rv & Tent Campgrounds and in Trailer Life guide
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of pull-through sites, but some are just "pull-off" sites and awnings and doors open to the road; many back-in sites suitable for big rigs
Hook-ups: Full Hook-ups (water, 30 amp electric, and sewer)
Laundry: Facilities exist but half of washers & dryers were out of order; old appliances and not exactly spotless rooms
Price & Discounts: $16.65 for full hook-ups; no club discounts
Other Factors: Nice website on Alabama State Parks; Personnel was friendly
OVERALL RATING: 6 (out of ten)
Decent State Park campground, but looks like it has been let go a bit - has seen better days; Laundry and restroom facilities were relatively clean for the age, but were inadequate; Gave it a 6 for the campground alone, but if we take the park and golf course into account, it probably would deserve a little higher

Oak Mountain State Park - Alabama

Back To Alabama Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 5: Noccalula Falls Campground - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: August 18, 2005 - August 25, 2005
Location: Gadsden, Alabama; 2 miles off I-59 at Exit 188
GPS Coordinates: 34.0407N, 86.0202W
Our Site Number: A34 Reason Selected: On our way to Mississippi along I-59 and because of campground guides and RV club discounts
Setting: City owned campground right next to city owned and run Noccalula Falls Park; just a few miles from center of Gadsden; Quiet campground nestled among tall pines
Guidebooks:Great review in Trailer Life guide
Big Rig Friendly: Few pull-through sites, but plenty of back-in sites suitable for big rigs
Hook-ups: Full Hook-ups (water, 50 amp electric, and sewer)
Laundry: Older facility near office and quite away from furtherest campsites; Air conditioned and clean
Price & Discounts: $21.00; 10% Good Sam and 15% Escapees
Other Factors: Did not consult website; Personnel was friendly
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
This campground warranted a seven because it and the facilities were clean even if a little older and because of the 15% Escapees discount. With the discount (and including taxes), we averaged 17.00 per night for full hook-ups and a pool; without the discount, we probably would have given it a 6

Noccalula Falls Campground

Back To Alabama Campground Reviews List