Our 2010 Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of the campgrounds we visited in 2010.

For more information on how we choose a campground and on our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

These reviews are shown in the order we visited the campgrounds during the year. To see campground reviews by state with the most recent visits at the top of the page, go to our Main Campground Reviews page and click on the state by state links.

Also, note that these reviews indicate a "Journal Site" number. This number corresponds to the number of the stop since we began our adventure and also to the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our Journal page. You may be able to find more information about the campground or the area by clicking on Our Journal and locating entries for the dates indicated for each campground.






Direct Links To 2010 Reviews Below

Welaka Lodge & Resort, Welaka, Florida - December 2009 - March 2010

Crooked River State Park, St. Mary's, Georgia - March 2010

Shuman's RV Park/Campground, Canadys, South Carolina - April 2010

Willow Tree RV Resort, Longs, South Carolina - April 2010

Private Residence, High Point, North Carolina - April 2010

Camp Creek State Park, Camp Creek, West Virginia - April 2010

Valley Breeze RV Campground, Grayson, Kentucky - April 2010

Private Horse Farm, Fisherville, Kentucky - April 2010

White River Campground, Cicero, Indiana - May 2010

Mor/Ryde International, Elkhart, Indiana - May 2010

Elkhart County 4-H Fairgrounds, Goshen, Indiana - May 2010

Silver Creek RV Resort, Mears, Michigan, - May 2010

Thunder Bay Resort RV Park, Hillman, Michigan - May 2010 - October 2010

Finn Road Campground, Essexville, Michigan - October 2010

Maumee Bay State Park, Oregon, Ohio - October 2010

Hocking Hills State Park, Logan, Ohio - October 2010

North Bend State Park, Cairo, West Virginia - November 2010

Camp Creek State Park, Camp Creek, West Virginia - November 2010

Stone Mountain State Park, Roaring Gap, North Carolina - November 2010

Private Community, Lake Wylie, South Carolina - November 2010

Cheraw State Park, Cheraw, South Carolina - November 2010

Modoc Corps of Engineers Campground, Strom Thurmond Lake, Modoc, SC - November 2010

George L. Smith State Park, Twin City, GA - December 2010

Skidaway Island State Park, Savannah, GA - December 2010

Laura S. Walker State Park, Waycross, GA - December 2010

Private Residence, Jacksonville, FL - December 2010






Journal Site 147: Welaka Lodge & Resort - Overall Rating: 7.0

Dates: December 21, 2009 - March 21, 2010
Location: Hard to describe. On the east side of the St. John's River in the small town of Welaka in northeastern Florida. About 20 miles south of Palatka and about 45 minutes southwest of St. Augustine.
GPS Coordinates: 29.47508N, 81.67441W
Our Site Number: 10
Reason Selected: We found this campground when we received an email saying they were looking for workampers in the summer of 2009. After checking out the website, we determined it was a nice, small, inexpensive, rural Florida park where I might be able to get some writing done over the winter.
Setting: The dozen RV sites sit close together under large Live Oak trees with Spanish Moss and a few palms. It's a narrow property with the RV sites near the entrance road. Beyond the RV sites is a lovely pool area and updated cottages and then a hill leading down to a great boat dock/tiki bar where we sat almost every evening watching the sunset over the St. John's River. The interior road is a mix of gravel, hard-packed dirt, and sand. The sites are also a gravel-dirt-sand mix.
Guidebooks: None Used
Big Rig Friendly: Not really. We went in the wrong way, to the left. It's easier to get in that way, but the sites are angled the opposite direction. We got stuck in sand trying to get turned around. If you come in the correct way, there is a very tight turn past the office. It's big rig accessible, but not without some tight maneuvering and a little stress. :) CAUTION: Some GPS units will try to bring you to Welaka Lodge on Palmetto Street - that street only has a 7-foot clearance under the Live Oaks. Also, if coming from the other side of the St. John's River, some GPS units will try to bring you in through the Ocala National Forest and across the river on a ferry. It's only a two-car ferry at the end of a seven-mile dirt road, so don't try that!
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50-amp electric (our surge guard did shut us down a few times during our three months due to low voltage). No dump station. There are bathrooms and showers in the pool house if you need them.
Laundry: Nice laundry with two washers and two dryers.
Price & Discounts: $27.00 plus tax per night; $135 plus tax per week; $325 plus tax plus metered electric per month EXCEPT in January, February, & March when it is $360 plus tax plus metered electric (unless you stay for three months or longer in which case you get the $325 rate - sheesh).
Other Factors: We didn't like the RV parking part of this place at all. The sites are too close together and there are some units that look terrible. HOWEVER, the owners are nice and the part of the "resort" beyond the RV sites is wonderful. They have "first Friday of the month dock parties" and most of the year they have Sunday dock or pool parties. Note: The parties are open to the public. We loved spending time on the dock. The website is pretty good, but their photos could be better. About half the sites are satellite-friendly. Restaurants and the post office are within walking distance in this sleepy little town. If you are have a power boat and like to fish, it doesn't get much better. The river is just a little too wide at the resort to do much paddling. About four miles from the campground is a two-car ferry ($10 each way) that can carry you across the St. John's River to the Ocala National Forest. It doesn't save much time, but it does save several miles if going in that direction.
OVERALL RATING: 7.0 (out of ten)
This is a tough one to rate. We liked the remoteness, the town, the owners, and we loved being able to walk a 100 yards and spend time on the dock. There are lots of nature activities in the area and the price was fantastic. But the RV sites have no appeal to us at all. They are just too close together and some of the "permanents" are not well-kept. Now, with that said, we enjoyed the rest of it and we'd go back again. I wish we could give it a higher score. If you go, tell Kevin & Jessica that Howard & Linda sent you. :)

Welaka Lodge & Resort


The Dock - Our Favorite Part!




Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 148: Crooked River State Park - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: March 24, 2010 - April 1, 2010
Location: Near St. Mary's, Georgia in the southeastern corner of the state Eight miles east of I-95 Exit 3.
Our Site: 56
GPS Coordinates: 30.84352N, 81.55127W
Reason Selected: Recommended by another RVer as a great nature stop on our way to Myrtle Beach, SC.
Setting: This campground is in a pine and palmetto forest. A few sites sit on the Crooked River. One loop has grass/pine needle sites among the tall pines, but no privacy between sites. The other loop has HUGE gravel sites and native vegetation separating them.
Guidebooks: None Used.
Big Rig Friendly: The campground is big rig friendly, but some caution is in order as you drive through the trees. The sites are plenty large.
Hook-ups: All sites have electric and water. Six sites have 50 amps while the rest have 30 amps. There is a convenient dump station outside the campground on the way out of the park.
Laundry: Washer and dryer at each bathhouse.
Price & Discounts: $25 when we stayed, but website says $28; There is a one-time $5 entrance fee for the park.
Other Factors: There isn't a whole lot of information on the website about the campground, but all sites are reservable. The thing I like about their reservation system is you can't reserve a specific site, just a spot in the campground. It's great for full-timers, not so good for those that want to reserve a specific site. At the entrance to the campground, there is a small pond with a small alligator and a bird blind with numerous feeders on the other side. There is a pretty good little nature center and some good trails in the park. The rangers were all extremely nice. There are a few satellite friendly sites in the campground. There is a bathhouse with showers in each loop - they are old, but not too bad.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
We loved our campsite in the more private loop and we enjoyed our week in the park. Our site did have the "it" factor that we hope to find everywhere. The only problem was the sand gnats or no see-ums. They were pretty thick and biting when the wind wasn't blowing. It made it tough to sit outside. But, we'll certainly choose this campground again if in the area.

Crooked River State Park


Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 149: Shuman's RV Park/Campground - Overall Rating: 6.5

Dates: April 1 - April 4, 2010
Location: About three miles east of I-95 Exit 68 in southeastern South Carolina. Across the road from Colleton State Park.
Our Site: ???? - Didn't see any site numbers. We were in the back where those staying more than one night are parked. Overnighters have a few pull-through sites near the entrance.
GPS Coordinates: 33.05956N, 80.61583W
Reason Selected: We were on our way to the Myrtle Beach area for the 2010 RV-Dreams Rally. Unfortunately, we forgot that it was Easter weekend and spring break, so we couldn't get into any of the state parks. I found this inexpensive alternative along the route.
Setting: About 20 sites on a few acres behind and next to Mr. & Mrs. Shuman's home. It's a partially wooded field next to U.S. 15. Quite a bit of noise from the highway and from the large power plant behind Colleton State Park.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of room for big rigs with three entrances to the campground. Pull-through sites available for overnighters.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amps.
Laundry: No laundry facilities
Price & Discounts: $15 per night
Other Factors: Mr. Shuman is very nice and tries to be accommodating. He loves his overnighters. Propane on site. Can walk to Colleton State Park. Very close to the Edisto River for paddling enthusiasts. There is an outfitter about a half mile away. No website. No restrooms - must be self-contained. Some satellite friendly sites, but not the one we were in. :)
OVERALL RATING: 6.5 (out of ten)
We wouldn't ordinarily choose a campground like this unless it was cheap and we were enroute with no better choices. And that was the case this time. For $15 bucks and full hook-ups, it was a pretty good value. We've been in lots worse places. We would stay there again just because the price is right and we like to give the business to Mr. Shuman. Colleton State Park across the road is okay but tight for larger rigs and the dump station is not big rig friendly. For a dollar extra, we'd pick Shumans over the state park.

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 150: Willow Tree RV Resort - Overall Rating: 9.5

Dates: April 4 - April 13, 2010
Location: About 8 miles northwest of North Myrtle Beach near the North Carolina border off state highway 905. The address is actually in Longs, SC although the resort is a few miles outside of that little town.
Our Site: 21 - One of the best sites in the campground, if not THE best
GPS Coordinates: 33.98046N, 78.70697W
Reason Selected: Held the 2010 RV-Dreams Rally there.
Setting: Rural RV resort. Thinly wooded sites next to a 36-acre lake. Nothing around to complain about.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: No problem for any rig or combination of vehicles.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amps.
Laundry: Nice facility with multiple washers/dryers.
Price & Discounts: Prices range from $26.50 a night for a "value" site in the off-season to $93 per night for the best lakefront sites in the peak season. Too many in betweens to mention. Check out their
Rate Page
Other Factors: Some of the biggest, most well-spaced sites we've ever seen in an RV park. Private bathrooms/showers that are kept extremely clean. Large pool with hot tub. 36-acre lake for fishing/boating. Sandy beach on the lake. Fitness room. One-mile paved trail around the lake. Nature trail. Several satellite-friendly sites. Good website, but they have been messing with it lately and it loads very slowly as of this writing. Staff is friendly, but very business-like. Though not an issue for us, there is no cable TV and we heard lots of complaints about the Wi-Fi.
OVERALL RATING: 9.5 (out of ten)
This will most likely be the highest rating we will give an RV park. Of course, we may have had the best site in the resort. :) But seriously, Willow Tree is what I would want an RV park to look like if I was building one. And we really liked the quiet, rural location. If I were rating the entire place based on our site alone, it might have gotten a 10, but since there are a limited number of lakefront sites and there are isues like the cable and Wi-Fi, we took off a half point.

Willow Tree RV Resort

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 151: Private Residence - Overall Rating: N/A

Dates: April 13 - April 14, 2010
Location: At a friend's cul de sac in High Point, North Carolina.
Our Site: N/A
GPS Coordinates: N/A
Reason Selected: It was on our way and we were invited.
Setting: Suburban neighborhood near a highway.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Sort of. Not very level.
Hook-ups: None
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: Free!
Other Factors: N/A
OVERALL RATING: N/A (out of ten)

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 152: Camp Creek State Park - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: April 14, 2010 - April 17, 2010
Location: About 2 miles off I-77 Exit 20 in southern West Virginia.
Our Site: 8 - Mash Fork Campground
GPS Coordinates: 37.50142N, 81.13818W
Reason Selected: Looked like a nice state park choice as we made our way through West Virginia on our way to Kentucky.
Setting: The campground sits down in a valley between the West Virginia mountains. Several sites back up to a babbling brook (Mash Fork).
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: A little dicey getting from the interstate to the campground. The country road is narrow with some potholes and low hanging branches. It just requires going slow and being cautious. Once in the campground, there is more room to maneuver.
Hook-ups: 30 amp electric and water at the seven sites on the inner loop. 30 amp electric only at the other 19 sites. There are a couple of spigots on the campground road to take on water. Dump station is located outside the campground on the way out of the park.
Laundry: Washer and dryer at the bathhouse.
Price & Discounts: $23 for electric only. $26 for water and electric
Other Factors: Mash Fork and Camp Creek within the park are stocked with Rainbow, Golden, and Brown trout. There are two waterfalls within the park. The park is adjacent to Camp Creek State Forest which has lots of hiking trails. The bathhouse is old. About a third of the sites are satellite-friendly. Volunteers were very nice. Website is okay. There is a Super Walmart about 11 miles away at Exit 9 on I-77.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
We really liked Camp Creek. The campsites didn't quite have the "it" factor, but they were close. We're glad we stopped and we would definitely stay there again. If the bathhouse had been nicer or the road getting into the park would have been better, we might have given it an 8.

Camp Creek State Park


Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 153: Valley Breeze RV Campground - Overall Rating: 6

Dates: April 17, 2010 - April 18, 2010
Location: Northeastern Kentucky. About a mile off I-64 Exit 172.
Our Site: 13
GPS Coordinates: 38.34481N 82.95514W
Reason Selected: Needed an easy place for an overnight stop on our way to Louisville.
Setting: Several sites in the owners' back yard. A mixture of back-ins and pull-throughs. Pretty close to the interstate, so road noise is a constant.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Yes, although turning into the entrance can be a little tricky.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 30-amp electric.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: $27 for pull-through sites and $23 for back-ins.
Other Factors: No website. Convenient to interstate. No problem for satellite.
OVERALL RATING: 6 (out of ten)
This campground certainly was not one of our favorites, but it was a convenient stop on our route. It's a little pricey for what it is. It served its purpose.

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 154: Private Horse Farm - Overall Rating: N/A

Dates: April 18 - May 2, 2010
Location: Fisherville, KY
Our Site: N/A
GPS Coordinates: N/A
Reason Selected: This is our home base when we return to the Louisville area. We discovered it a couple of years ago on Workamper News when the owners advertised for someone to cut grass over the summer in exchange for a site.
Setting: Beautiful rural horse farm with rolling hills and wooded pastures.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Not easy to get into the sites and the turn to go down the road to the sites is too sharp and subject to dragging.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amps.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts:Negotiable
Other Factors: There just aren't any good, convenient RV parks or campgrounds in the Louisville area. This place is private, quiet, and gated.
OVERALL RATING: N/A (out of ten)
We'll keep going back as long as they'll have us. :)

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 155: White River Campground - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: May 2 - May 3, 2010
Location: In central Indiana about 20 miles northeast of Indianapolis. A couple of miles west of IN Hwy 37.
Our Site: 81
GPS Coordinates: 40.12446N, 85.96960W
Reason Selected: Looked like a great stopping point on our way from Louisville to Elkhart, IN. Also, we had some readers staying there at the time and they invited us.
Setting: Very nice park-like setting along a branch of the White River. Nothing around to complain about.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Yes, but the sites are not angled and the campground road is not wide enough to allow enough swing room to get into the non-angled sites. The sites that back up to the river are shorter than some of the other sites. You can get into them, but they don't have enough room to park both a big rig and another vehicle.
Hook-ups: Some sites have full hook-ups and some are water and electric only (30-amp electric). There is a dump station and a bathhouse.
Laundry: Didn't check, but no reference to laundry on the website.
Price & Discounts: $20 per night plus tax for full hook-ups and $19 plus tax for water/electric. This is a Hamilton County park, so residents get a discount.
Other Factors: Very nice campground hosts. The campground road is newly paved and the campsites are concrete with picnic tables. Canoeing on the White River with a launch in the campground. Website is decent. Quite a few trees, but there are more open sites toward the rear of the campground for satellite.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
Though we only stayed one night, we enjoyed this campground. It was uncrowded on a Sunday evening and it had the natural setting we like. However, there were a couple of negatives. First is the issue of the sites being somewhat difficult to get into due to not being angled and there being limited swing room without running off the road (a bigger problem when it is wet). Second, they just crammed too many sites into the campground making the spacing between sites much less than we are used to for natural setting parks like this. One minor issue is that the sewer connections are at the rear of the sites and require extra sewer hoses. Overall, we liked the campground and would come back to do a little canoeing. A few folks have emailed us and told us it's the best campground in the Indianapolis area.



White River Campground, Hamilton County, Indiana


Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List





Journal Site 156: Mor/Ryde International - Overall Rating: 5

Dates: May 3 - May 6, 2010
Location: Elkhart, Indiana near the Michigan border.
Our Site: Eight sites and they are all basically the same.
GPS Coordinates: 41.66978N, 85.95251W
Reason Selected: We had an appointment to install disc brakes and a new suspension. Mor/Ryde has a few sites in a gravel parking lot for their customers for the nights before and after work is done.
Setting: This is a gravel parking lot in an industrial area that borders a neighborhood. Train tracks are nearby, and the trains run often. With trees and hedges around the perimeter fence of the parking lot, the sites are somewhat hidden from the public, but there is no gate or security.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Very big rig friendly. Plenty of room to maneuver. However, as you approach through the industrial area, it's not quite clear if there will be enough room until you actually get there.
Hook-ups: Sites have 30-amp elelctric only. No water hook-ups, but you can take on water from the side of the Mor/Ryde service bay building. However, it may take 50 or so feet of hose to get to the spigot. No sewer hook-ups and no dump station. They do have cable.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts:Free!
Other Factors: Satellite isn't a problem. If having work done at Mor/Ryde it usually takes two or three days. If they are working on your rig and have it torn apart, you can sleep in your rig inside the service bay where there is a 30-amp hook-up and cable. They do it all the time. Can't get the customer Wi-Fi in the parking area, but cellular air cards work fine both in the parking area and inside the bays. Free Wi-Fi inside the main building in the customer lounge. The customer lounge has a TV, books, magazines, games, and complimentary snacks. If you are there around lunchtime, Mor/Ryde provides lunch for you.
OVERALL RATING: 5 (out of ten)
It's just a parking lot for convenience. It gets a five because it's free. :)

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 157: Elkhart County 4-H Fairgrounds - Overall Rating: 6

Dates: May 7 - May 9, 2010
Location: Goshen, Indiana near the Michigan border.
Our Site: 184
GPS Coordinates: 41.58031N, 85.80429W
Reason Selected: After having work done on our rig at Mor/Ryde in Elkhart and Lippert in Goshen, we just needed a place to overnight for a day or two before heading north for a summer workamping job in Michigan.
Setting: It's a fairgrounds. :) Amongst the barns and buildings and pavilions, there are a couple of hundred RV sites scattered throughout. The roads are paved, but the RV sites are mostly grass with a few sections having gravel sites.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Yes. There are numerous RV rallies held throughout the year, so any size rig can get in. However, the sites are very close together and it can take some skillful parking to get into some tight spaces.
Hook-ups: Over 100 sites have full hook-ups with 50-amp electric. Another 100 sites have full hook-ups with 30-amp elelctric. There are several more sites with water and 30-amp electric. There are 10 dump stations, but nine of them are side-by-side in a grassy area that wasn't mowed when we visited.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts:$19 plus tax for water/electric; $25 plus tax for full hook-ups; Weekly rate of $140 plus tax; Monthly rate of $350
Other Factors: In addition to the numerous rallies, the fairgrounds is open for regular camping in all months except July when the annual 4-H fair is held. Sites are all back-in sites, extremely close together, and most sections have back-to-back sites where you are butted up to the rig behind you. Sites near the entrance are a little larger but closer to the road. However, the sites in the back of the fairgrounds are closer to the very busy railroad tracks. Close to several RV factories in the area and a decent place to stay to visit factories and Amish country. Note: Even though it's "Elkhart County" fairgrounds, it is not run by the county. It's run by a non-profit private company.
OVERALL RATING: 6 (out of ten)
Nice to find full hook-ups at a fairgrounds, but this isn't our kind of place at all. It is a decent value for exploring the area, but we prefer our campgrounds to be places to hang out and enjoy our site.


Elkhart County 4-H Fairground


Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 158: Silver Creek RV Resort - Overall Rating: 8.5

Dates: May 9, 2010 - May 13, 2010
Location: Between Mears, MI and Silver Lake. About 6 miles east of U.S. Hwy 31 (Exit 149) in western Michigan.
GPS Coordinates: 43.67266N 86.47509W
Our Site Number: 40
Reason Selected: Needed a place to stay for a few days on our way north to our summer workamping position. Saw the fantastic reviews on
RVParkReviews.com. Also, we were there in shoulder season, so the rate was excellent.
Setting: Wide open, wonderfully landscaped park with very nice grass spacing between sites. Huge, paved sites with huge paved roads. Lots of grass and young trees, but not much in the way of privacy.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Absolutely - no problems for any size rig.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: Yes, nice facilities
Price & Discounts: Nightly - Rates range from $20 in April to $50 in peak season on weekends. Seasonal lots can be had for $2,800 for April 1 - October 31. The seasonal sites are located in a separate area that has a little more character than the main camping area.
Other Factors: Rooftop satellite is no problem. Great website. Nice pool and hot tub if you're into that. Free cable. Free Wi-Fi. Propane on site. Garbage service at site. Very nice bathhouse. Near the dunes and beaches of Silver Lake State Park on Lake Michigan. Also, Little Sable Point Lighthouse is within the state park - a great spot for lighthouse lovers and photographers. Note: Silver Lake State Park is the only state park in Michigan that allows ORV/ATV use in the park. There is a 450 acre ORV area on, over, and through the dunes, so in peak season, this may not be the quietest place in the world. :)
OVERALL RATING: 8.5 (out of ten)
This is a very, very nice RV park. It's really well cared for, almost to the point of having a "sterile" feel. :) At the Spring prices of $20 - $25, it's absolutely a bargain and the main reason we stayed there instead of the state park in May. If those were the rates year-round, we would have given it a 9.0. But at $40/$50 in peak season with not much "character", we can't go above 8.5. But remember, we prefer public campgrounds and natural settings over RV parks like this one, so our rating will perhaps be a bit low compared to others.

Silver Creek RV Resort

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List




Journal Site 159: Thunder Bay Resort RV Park - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: May 13, 2010 - October 15, 2010
Location: Hillman, Michigan in the northeast corner of the lower peninsula. About an hour east of Gaylord & I-75 and about a half hour east of Alpena on MI Hwy 32.
GPS Coordinates: 45.06048N 83.88609W
Our Site Number: 12
Reason Selected: Accepted a workamping position at Thunder Bay Resort for the summer of 2010.
Setting: Small, 23-site RV park next to a golf course. All paved sites with grass in between and a few trees. Sits back off of M-32, but not far enough to eliminate road noise.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: All pull-through sites. Most sites are large enough for any size rig.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric. No dump station
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: Nightly - $35 in peak season, $29 in shoulder season; Weekly - $225; Monthly - $750. Passport America 50% off for 2 nights (Sunday through Thursday); Escapees discount.
Other Factors: Championship golf course; Free Wi-Fi; Access to enclosed hot tub (located by the other lodging, not in the RV park); Horseshoes; Bird Blind; Elk Ride and Gourmet Dinner/Wine Tasting Event. Grill and bar on site at the main office/pro shop within walking distance. Rooftop satellite not a problem in most sites. Turn in to register and then to head to RV park is a bit tight and doesn't look like you can make it. But once golf carts are moved there is plenty of room if you take your time. No bathhouse so must be self-contained. No pop-ups. Super Walmart 21 miles in Alpena. Gas, groceries, propane, and laundry in Hillman about a mile away.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
Nice park, but too pricey for the area. Wi-Fi is flaky - up and down a lot. Sites are a little too close together for our tastes, but we heard several comments from folks that like it a lot, except for the price. Also, a little too much road noise and many locals use the public road through the RV park to get to and from the golf course and grill. Great golf course. If you throw in a couple of days at the Passport America rate, the value goes up.

NOTE: Workamping opportunities for 6 - 10 couples each season from May 15 - October 15. Thirty-six hours a week per couple for free site and all the golf you can play including cart. For more details and an email link to the owner, you can check out our Thunder Bay Resort Workamping Summary

Thunder Bay Resort RV Park

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 160: Finn Road Campground - Overall Rating: 8.0

Dates: October 15, 2010 - October 18, 2010
Location: Essexville on Saginaw Bay in eastern Michigan; About 15 miles east of I-75.
GPS Coordinates: 43.62750N 83.77765W
Our Site Number: 13
Reason Selected: Good stopping point as we headed south from our summer workamping job in Hillman in northeast Michigan. We found it on
RVParkReviews.com by just going city by city for locations about 100 or so miles from Hillman. Full hook-ups at a great price and sites looked nice on the website.
Setting: The campground is at the end of a rural road in an agricultural area. It's part of the Finn Road Park which is a county facility. Though the campground is not on Saginaw Bay, there is a boat ramp in a canal that is a short ride to the bay. The campground itself is fenced but there is no gate. Roads and sites are paved with plenty of room to maneuver. There is grass between sites with trees scattered throughout the campground. Fields, woods, and levees/canals surround the campground making it very quiet. Note: Lots of hunters during hunting seasons, so the quiet can get interrupted with gunshots early in the mornings.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could easily handle any size rig. Only five pull-through sites.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 30 amp electric, but there are a few 50-amp sites Note: Water spigots and electrical pedestals are located between every two sites. So, those hook-ups could be on the "wrong" side of your rig depending which of the two sites you take. You may need extra hose and cords. There is a dump station that is conveniently located on the way out if necessary.
Laundry: No laundry facilities.
Price & Discounts: Nightly - $17; Weekly - $112; Monthly - $390; Seasonal (May - Oct) - $2,160.
Other Factors: There were plenty of sites to get rooftop satellite. There is a boat ramp, a paved walking/biking path, and long gravel nature trail for walking/biking. Bathhouse has individual shower rooms in addition to flush toilets. Office hours limited, but campground manager was very nice and very laid back. Pretty good website with some good photos. Public golf course - 2 miles; Gas station- 4 miles; Super Walmart - 13 miles.
OVERALL RATING: 8.0 (out of ten)
This campground is very quiet and you can't beat the price for wide, paved roads, paved sites, and full hook-ups. Cell signals were good. No cable or Wi-Fi for those that need it. Some seasonals, but most of them didn't look like seasonals. The only reasons we didn't score this a half point higher are 1) the sites are all perpendicular to the road, making them tough to back into if the campground is full, and 2) the sites could have used a little more spacing. But those are very minor issues. Great campground!

Finn Road Campground

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 161: Maumee Bay State Park - Overall Rating: 9.0

Dates: October 18, 2010 - October 21, 2010
Location: 10 miles east of Toledo on Lake Erie in northwestern Ohio.
GPS Coordinates: 41.68008N 83.39899W
Our Site Number: 41
Reason Selected: It was about 100 miles from our prior campground and in the direction we were headed. Also, we liked the reviews on RVParkReviews.com about spacious sites with privacty.
Setting: Large 252-site campground with 8 loops in sort of a prairie setting. The campground is isolated from the rest of the park and is very quiet. All interior roads and sites are paved. Every site is pretty large with vegetation in between for privacy. Some sites have taller vegetation than others, so the level of privacy varies. Still, the sites are quite well spaced so there is plenty of room. Not a lot of tall trees within the campground but shade can be found in some sites. The sites at the end of each camping loop on the cul de sacs tend to be larger. There are two good sized lakes within the campground. Four of the loops border the lakes, but only a few sites are actually at the lake edges.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Most sites are large enough for any size rig and the access roads are plenty wide. Note: The campground entrance is about a mile west of the main state park entrance.
Hook-ups: Electric Hook-ups only with 30 amps. Numerous places throughout the campground to take on water - two at the dump station near the entrance and two spigots in each loop. Nice, convenient dump station with easy access coming in or going out. Places within each loop to dump gray water if necessary. One bathhouse with flush toilets and three showers for every two loops.
Laundry: Very nice, small laundry facility and one of the least expensive we have encountered.
Price & Discounts: Nightly - $26 - $27.
Other Factors: Championship golf course; Five miles of paved bike trails; Hiking trails; Inland lake with beach; Beach on Lake Erie; Fishing in campground lakes open to campers only; Jet ski, sea kayak, bicycle rentals. Nature Center; Rooftop satellite not a problem in most sites. Courteous staff. Super Walmart about four miles away. There is a wonderful lodge and restaurant within the park. One loop of 25 sites, Sites 30 - 54, is first-come, first served - all the rest of the 252 sites are reservable.
OVERALL RATING: 9.0 (out of ten)
Wonderful campground. We loved the size of the sites, the privacy, and the space between sites. I suspect, it could get pretty hot in the summer with the lack of shade. And it's probably not quite as nice when it is full as the bathroom and shower facilities are probably not quite adequate for peak weekends. But, we would stay there again in a heartbeat - definitely some "it" factor sites.



Maumee Bay State Park

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 162: Hocking Hills State Park - Overall Rating: 7.0

Dates: October 21, 2010 - October 27, 2010
Location: About 60 miles southeast of Columbus, OH. Eleven miles southwest of Logan, OH and U.S. Hwy 33.
GPS Coordinates: 39.43235N 82.53901W
Our Site Number: 7
Reason Selected: The Hocking Hills State Park was recommended as a great natural area with good hiking.
Setting: The campground is up a narrow curvey road from the campground office/store. The campground sits on a ridge amongst tall hardwoods, and it is isolated from the rest of the park, although you can hike to some of the main attractions. Interior roads and pads are paved, but there is very little space or privacy between sites. The setting of the campground itself is nice, but the sites aren't especially attractive.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: It's accessible to big rigs and there are a few sites that can accommodate big rigs, but I wouldn't call it "big rig friendly". The eleven mile drive from Logan on Ohio 664 is very narrow, hilly, and curvy as is the road leading from the campground office/store to the campground. The sites are not particularly long and you will likely have to park a toad or tow vehicle on the grass or in the parking near the pool. There are places to turn a big rig around at the end of the loops, but the campground certainly wasn't built with today's larger RVs in mind.
Hook-ups: Electric only - 30 amps (there are some sites without any hook-ups but they will only hold truck campers, Class B vans, and pop-ups). There are only two places to take on water in a fresh water holding tank. The first is in the campground office/store parking lot and most people don't see it. You have to loop around the office/store and the spigot is on the far right (the wrong side of a rig driving around the loop). The other one is located at the top of the road leading to the campground between the two camping loops. Larger rigs will have to block traffic to take on water there. There is a dump station within one of the campground loops. In addition to a few pit toilets scattered around, there are two bathhouses with flush toilets and showers.
Laundry: Decent laundry facilities on site.
Price & Discounts: Nightly - $27 - $28.
Other Factors: There were a few sites to get rooftop satellite. There is great hiking from the campground and more in other areas of the park that are a short drive away. There is a stocked lake a short walk from the pool area of the campground. Bathhouses are okay and cleaned every day. They are fairly typical for an older state park and highly inadequate if the campground is full. Website is decent and includes a campground map, but it could use a few campsite photos. Staff in the office were busy but cordial. There are 18 first-come first-served sites and all the rest of the 169 sites are reservable. Gas station and Super Walmart 11 miles. Beautiful area of Ohio.
OVERALL RATING: 7.0 (out of ten)
This campground is very popular. When it is full, it feels a little claustraphobic. It's one of those places where they seem to have thrown in as many sites as they could get on top of the ridge. Most of the sites are geared toward smaller RVs and tenters, but everything is mixed in together. Few people obey the 10 m.p.h. speed limit. It's not a horrible campground, but it certainly doesn't have the "it" factor for us. And it is a tad on the pricey side for 30-amp electric only and very little privacy. But the geologic features of the area and hiking make it worth visiting.

Hocking Hills State Park

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 163: North Bend State Park - Overall Rating: 8.0

Dates: October 27, 2010 - November 1, 2010
Location: About 7 miles south of U.S. 50 in Northwest West Virginia. There are two campgrounds - River Run & Cokeley. The River Run Campground is located within the main park while the Cokeley Campground is located in a separate recreation area to the east. Neither is particularly easy to get to. For River Run, we recommend using State Road 31 from U.S. 50 to Cairo and then follow the signs to County Road 14. Both State Road 31 and County Road 14 are narrow and windy. There is one really sharp hairpin turn on CR 14. To access Cokeley Campground, I'd come in from Ellenboro taking State Road 16 to Harrisville. SR 16 turns into Main Street and then North Bend State Park Road. Again, care must be taken for large rigs coming in from either direction.
Our Site: 23 - River Run Campground
GPS Coordinates: 39.22508N, 81.10322W - River Run Campground only
Reason Selected: Looked like a nice state park choice within our usual travel distance as we left Ohio and headed into West Virginia.
Setting: The River Run Campground sits down in a valley along the North Fork of the Hughes River. It's a mile or so into the park on a road that is narrow and curvy with quite a downhill grade. It's wooded by not densely wooded. Several sites back up to the river.
The Cokeley Campground is more big rig friendly and sits in an open area on a bluff above the North Bend Lake. There are no trees in the campground but there are groves of trees around the edges and between the campground and the lake so the lake isn't really visible.



Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Both campgrounds are big rig friendly once you get to them. But getting to them is a different story. Narrow, curvy roads with some blind spots. If driving a motorhome, we'd recommend disconnecting the toad in Cairo or Harrisville and let the toad run interference and guide you in. Perhaps not necessary, but that's what we'd do. :) Fortunately, the roads are pretty good and there is very little traffic.
Hook-ups: River Run has 30 amp electric only. You can take on water on the way in to the electric sites loop. And there is a dump station as you leave the campground. Cokely has water and electric at the sites. Most of the sites have 30-amp electric, but a few sites on the inner part of the circle behind the bathhouse have double 50-amp service. There is a dump station outside the campground loop.
Laundry: None at River Run, but there is at Cokeley.
Price & Discounts: $23 for electric only at River Run. $26 for water and electric at Cokeley.
Other Factors: There are several hiking trails accessible from the River Run Campground. Also, you can ride your bike from the River Run Campground to the North Bend Rail Trail (70 mile rails-to-trails bike trail). Very, very peaceful campground. River Run has a few sites that are satellite friendly, but Cokeley is much more open for satellite. The website is okay, but has limited campground info. The River Run bathhouse is old and buggy, but we've seen worse. The Cokeley Campground and bathhouse are just a few years old. The bathhouse is supposed to be very nice, but the campground was closed when we were there in October. Workampers and employees were very nice. $4 for a wheelbarrow of firewood. Lots of birds and wildlife. There is an IGA in Harrisville for groceries.
OVERALL RATING: 8.0 (out of ten)
We were shooting for the Cokeley Campground, but we didn't realize it had closed at the end of September. So we ended up in River Run by default. After visiting both, we determined that we like River Run better. It had more character, backed up to the river, and had better access to hiking trails and the bike trail. Cokeley had better lake access, water and electric at the sites, a new bathhouse, and was more big rig friendly, but we still preferred River Run. The river sites certainly have the "it" factor for us. The ONLY reason I can't give North Bend a higher rating is because of the accessibility - those roads are just too narrow and curvy to get to the park comfortably. But we'd still go back. :)



North Bend State Park


Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 152 & 164: Camp Creek State Park - Overall Rating: 8.0

Dates: April 14, 2010 - April 17, 2010 AND November 1, - November 3, 2010
Location: About 2 miles off I-77 Exit 20 in southern West Virginia.
Our Site: 8 - Mash Fork Campground (both times)
GPS Coordinates: 37.50142N, 81.13818W
Reason Selected: Looked like a nice state park choice as we made our way through West Virginia on our way to Kentucky.
Setting: The campground sits down in a valley between the West Virginia mountains. Several sites back up to a babbling brook (Mash Fork).
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: A little dicey getting from the interstate to the campground. The country road is narrow with some potholes and low hanging branches. It just requires going slow and being cautious. Once in the campground, there is more room to maneuver.
Hook-ups: 30 amp electric and water at the seven sites on the inner loop. 30 amp electric only at the other 19 sites. There are a couple of spigots on the campground road to take on water. Dump station is located outside the campground on the way out of the park.
Laundry: Washer and dryer at the bathhouse.
Price & Discounts: $23 for electric only. $26 for water and electric
Other Factors: Mash Fork and Camp Creek within the park are stocked with Rainbow, Golden, and Brown trout. There are two waterfalls within the park. The park is adjacent to Camp Creek State Forest which has lots of hiking trails. The bathhouse is old. About a third of the sites are satellite-friendly. Volunteers were very nice. Website is okay. There is a Super Walmart about 11 miles away at Exit 9 on I-77.
OVERALL RATING: 8.0 (out of ten)
We really liked Camp Creek. The campsites didn't quite have the "it" factor, but they were close. We're glad we stopped and we would definitely stay there again (which we did). If the bathhouse had been nicer or the road getting into the park would have been better, we might have given it a higher rating. Actually, after visiting again and having been on some worse roads, we did bump it up half a point. :)

Camp Creek State Park


Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 165: Stone Mountain State Park - Overall Rating: 8.5

Dates: November 3 - November 11, 2010
Location: About 20 miles west of I-77 in northwestern North Carolina. Just a few miles east of the Blue Ridge Parkway.
Our Site: 57
GPS Coordinates: 36.38220N 81.01798W
Reason Selected: It was on our way south for the winter, it looked like our kind of place in our research, and we had a couple of recommendations.
Setting: An open area among a hardwood forest at the base of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Woods surround the electric sites and there is a stream running through center of the campground. Remote and quiet.

Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Yes. There is one relatively narrow road with no shoulders on the way to the park, but overall the drive in is pretty good. There is a steep hill going from the office down to the campground, but once in the campground, it is very big rig friendly.
Hook-ups: 50-amp electric and water. Dump station on the way out.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: $25 per night.
Other Factors: Wildlife and fantastic hiking trails. Also, miles of trout streams in the park. Nice bathhouse, but the showers are the dreaded "push-button" type. :) Very nice website and extremely friendly staff. Many satellite friendly sites. Note: Site 55 is the consensus best site in the campground as it has the stream right beside and the most privacy, but you have to back up over a bridge to get into it - not the easiest thing to do with a larger rig.
OVERALL RATING: 8.5 (out of ten)
We really enjoyed our stay at Stone Mountain. We originally signed up for four nights and then kept adding nights. I'm not sure the campground itself deserves an 8.5, but the park adds a lot. With that said, our site, with the stream running behind, had the "it" factor. Now, no one parked in the sites next to us for the eight days we were there, so that helped. We'll definitely be back some day.



Stone Mountain State Park


Back To North Carolina Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 166: Private Residence - Overall Rating: N/A

Dates: November 11 - November 15, 2010
Location: In a private, gated community on Lake Wylie in northern South Carolina.
Our Site: N/A
GPS Coordinates: N/A
Reason Selected: It was on our way and we were invited.
Setting: Parking lot next to tennis courts in a quiet neighborhood near a highway.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Sort of. Not very level.
Hook-ups: None
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: Free!
Other Factors: N/A
OVERALL RATING: N/A (out of ten)

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 167: Cheraw State Park - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: November 15 - November 22, 2010
Location: Just south of Cheraw in north central South Carolina on U.S. Hwy 52.
Our Site: 13
GPS Coordinates: 34.63986N 79.89419W
Reason Selected: Looked at this state park back in early 2010 for its golf course, lake activities, and nature.
Setting: Small wooded campground on 300-acre Lake Juniper. Woods on one side, lake on the other. Six sites are waterfront and the rest have lake views.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: A little tight for big rigs to go around the camping loop, but there are sites to accommodate big rigs.
Hook-ups: Water and 30-amp electric. One-way dump station on the way out of the campground.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: $16 plus tax per night.
Other Factors: Lovely sunsets. Small campground with only 17 sites, and some are a little close together, but it's certainly not a parking lot type situation. Bathhouse is clean and not as old as some state parks we've visited. Park has a really nice golf course, a nature trail, a mountain biking trail, and canoe/kayak rentals. Can launch canoes/kayaks from campground or boat ramp just outside the campground. Staff is friendly. Rooftop satellite isn't likely, but there are a few openings in the trees for tripods.
OVERALL RATING: 8.0 (out of ten)
Although this is a small campground and the neighbors are a little closer than we'd like, it is very quiet and there are lake views from every site. The waterfront sites definitely have the "it" factor as do a few of the other sites. We enjoy the nature activities and the golf course doesn't hurt. :)

Cheraw State Park

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 168: Modoc Corps of Engineers Campground - Overall Rating: 9

Dates: November 22 - November 29, 2010
Location: On the Strom Thurmond Lake on the South Carolina/Georgia border about 20 miles north of Augusta, GA on U.S. Hwy 221.
Our Site: 22
GPS Coordinates: 33.72073N 82.22055W
Reason Selected: We love Corps of Engineers Campgrounds and I found this one as a good stop on our way to Florida for the winter.
Setting: Wooded campground with finger "loops" jutting out into Strom Thurmond Lake, a huge Corps of Engineers project lake. Many of the 69 sites are waterfront and most of those that aren't have lake views. The campground sits back off U.S. Hwy 221, so road noise isn't bad. However, train tracks parallel Hwy 221, so there is occasional train noise, though not too bad.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Yes, but ... the campground is sort of inconsistent as to which sites a big rig will fit. Some sites are HUGE but many are curved pull-throughs. In some cases they aren't long enough and in some cases the arc of the curve is too sharp to easily maneuver a big rig in or out. But there are plenty of big rig sites available.
Hook-ups: Water and 50-amp electric in most sites. However, sites 1 - 15 are older with only 30-amp electric. There is a dump station on the way out.
Laundry: There is a washer & dryer in the campground.
Price & Discounts: $22 per night; Half price for those with America The Beautiful Senior or Access Pass.
Other Factors: Lovely waterfront and lakeview sites. Some sites are set up with three to five sites within a spur off the main road. Some of those sites are a little tougher to access than the ones on the main road. Sites 29 - 32 are out on a point and fantastic (as long as the wind isn't howling). Site 8 is the best of the 30-amp sites. Site 11 is the one and only site without any hook-ups - it sits out on a point by itself and is a great boondocking site for $16 per night. Some of the sites are closer together than other COE campgrounds, but they are all still better separated than most private RV parks. There are four "loops" as follows: Sites 1 - 19 have a bathhouse with showers and a playground; Sites 20 - 43 are on the main road with a bathhouse with showers; Sites 44 - 59 have no bathhouse, just pit toilets; Sites 60 - 70 have a bathhouse with showers. Newer bathhouses are better than the older one which is quite buggy. Can launch canoes/kayaks from many sites, or their is a boat ramp inside the campground. Staff is friendly. Rooftop satellite can be tough depending on site choice - Site 22 works. There are openings in the trees for tripods on some other sites.
OVERALL RATING: 9.0 (out of ten)
This is a great campground with lovely sites. With our site, we gave it a 9. It could be a 9.5 in some of the best sites or it could drop to an 8.5 in others. Site 21 next door to us was rather close, but our door and awning opened out to the lake and gave us great privacy on that side, so it grew on us. we checked out a few other state park and COE campgrounds on the Georgia side of the lake, but we didn't see anything we liked better than Modoc (some COE campgrounds were closed for the season) for the price. We launched our Foldcat inflatable fishing pontoon from just below our site and we enjoyed our evening campfires with our lake view. This campground certainly has sites with the "it" factor. :)

Modoc COE Campground

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 169: George L. Smith State Park - Overall Rating: 8.5

Dates: November 29 - December 6, 2010
Location: East central Georgia due south of Augusta. A few miles north of I-16 (exit 104) off U.S. Hwy 80 between Swainsboro and Statesboro.
Our Site: 15
GPS Coordinates: 32.54991N 82.12382W
Reason Selected: In doing online research of a campground between South Carolina and Jacksonville, FL, I saw some photos of campsites in this park backing up to a cypress swamp. After researching the park and seeing hiking and paddling trails, we decided to make it a stop. :)
Setting: This campground has six large, interior pull-through sites sites with various amounts of shade from pine trees. But the draw is the 20 sites that back up to the cypress swamp portion of the 412-acre lake. However, sitescampground is in a pine and palmetto forest. There isn't a lot of privacy between sites, but they are well-spaced with privacy behind each site that backs up to the swamp/lake. This is a very quiet, rural campground.
Guidebooks: None Used.
Big Rig Friendly: The campground is big rig friendly, but some caution is in order as you make a right turn into the campground when coming from the park office - swing wide. Other than that, the sites are large (especially the pull-throughs not on the lake) and it's reasonably easy to maneuver.
Hook-ups: All sites have electric and water. The six interior pull-through sites have 50 amps while the rest have 30 amps. There is a convenient dump station on the way out of the campground.
Laundry: There is a washer and dryer at the bathhouse.
Price & Discounts: $26 per night plus one-time $5 park entry fee/parking pass; Seniors over 62 can get 20% off camping fee.
Other Factors: All sites are reservable. But the thing I like about the Georgia park reservation system is you can't reserve a specific site, just a spot in the campground. It's great for full-timers, not so good for those that want to reserve a specific site. However, this park is an exception. After you make a reservation, you CAN call the park directly to request a specific site. In addition to the nice, small campground, there are hiking and biking trails and three paddling trails (although water levels often leave only one open). There are a few satellite friendly sites in the campground, but most of the sites backing up to the swamp are blocked for rooftop dishes. A tripod and some cabling may be necessary. There is a bathhouse with showers that is fairly old, but it's not too bad.
OVERALL RATING: 8.5 (out of ten)
We loved our campsite that backed up to the swamp. The hiking, biking, and paddling trail also made it a wonderful place to spend some time. Our site did have the "it" factor. We look forward to returning in the spring or summer when the cypress trees have their leaves and more wildlife might be out. We'll certainly choose this campground again if in the area.

George L. Smith State Park


Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 170: Skidaway Island State Park - Overall Rating: 7.0

Dates: December 6 - 12, 2010
Location: About 8 miles south of Savannah, GA.
Our Site: 21
GPS Coordinates: 31.9505N 81.0493W
Reason Selected: We had heard good things about Skidaway and we had some friends that were camphosting there. Since it was convenient to our trip south to Florida for the winter, we made the stop.
Setting: Although the state park sits on a coastal marsh, the campground is very, very wooded. It has 87 sites all of which are half-moon shaped pull-throughs of various lengths. The campground roads are paved, but very narrow, so, although many sites are large, getting to them requires care. It's a relatively strange set-up for a state park.
Guidebooks: None Used.
Big Rig Friendly: I wouldn't call this campground "big rig friendly". It's big rig capable, but great care is necessary driving through and making turns on the narrow roads.
Hook-ups: All sites have 30-amp electric and water. There are a certain number of 50-amp sites available, but they are first-come, first-served after a reservation for a spot has been made. Sites do have cable hook-ups. There is a dump station on the way out of the campground.
Laundry: There are washers and dryers at some of the bathhouses.
Price & Discounts: $28 per night plus one-time $5 park entry fee/parking pass; Seniors over 62 can get 20% off camping fee.
Other Factors: In the Georgia State Park system, all sites are reservable, but you can't reserve a specific site. The sites are first-come, first-served among those with reservations. There are a couple of nice hiking trails and a nature center. There are very few satellite friendly sites in the campground and very few that get any sun at all. Even tripods will have difficulty. The bathhouses are older, but adequate. The drive in to the state park is gorgeous with huge Live Oaks and Spanish Moss.
OVERALL RATING: 7.0 (out of ten)
The best thing going for this campground is that it is the best public option near Savannah, one of the south's most interesting cities. It's a nice campground and we love state parks, but it certainly wasn't one of our favorites. It didn't have the "it" factor for us and we've been in other Georgia parks we've liked much better. In our opinion, it is way overrated on RVParkReviews.com.

Skidaway Island State Park


Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 171: Laura S. Walker State Park - Overall Rating: 8.5

Dates: December 12 - 19, 2010
Location: In rural southeastern Georgia near Waycross near the northern edge of the Okefenokee Swamp. Between U.S. Hwy 82 and U.S. Hwy 1.
Our Site: 8
GPS Coordinates: 31.14111N 82.21586W
Reason Selected: We had researched this state park on a previous trip through Georgia. This time, if fit with our travel plans.
Setting: A 44-site campground in a thinned out pine forest with a few sites on the edge of a shallow 120-acre lake. Paved roads and gravel campsites.
Guidebooks: None Used.
Big Rig Friendly: Yes. A little tighter in the inner loop of the campground, but large sites and good space on the outer loop.
Hook-ups: All sites have 30-amp electric and water. There is a dump station on the way out of the campground.
Laundry: There is a washer and dryer at the bathhouse.
Price & Discounts: $26 per night plus one-time $5 park entry fee/parking pass; Seniors over 62 can get 20% off camping fees.
Other Factors: In the Georgia State Park system, all sites are reservable, but you can't reserve a specific site. The sites are first-come, first-served among those with reservations. There are a couple of short hiking trails, including one on which you can ride a bike. The park is divided into two sections with the office and campground on one side of the lake and picnic areas and a nature trail on the other side of the lake. There is also a bird blind on the trail on the other side of the lake. In addition, there is a nice golf course. There are a few satellite friendly sites in the campground - the four lakefront sites (5, 6, 8, 12) are more open. One bathhouse is older and the newer one is, of course, a little nicer. The park is about a dozen miles from Waycross which has everything one might need.
OVERALL RATING: 8.5 (out of ten)
We had one of the better sites in the campground - Site 8. I might have given it an 8.0 had we had one of the other sites not on the lake. We enjoyed the rural nature of this park and did quite a bit of bike riding. The weather wasn't the best, so we didn't get our boats out on the lake and the wildlife was sparse. But we wouldn't hesitate to return if in the area. I thought it had the "it" factor, but Linda wasn't quite as high on it. :)

Laura S. Walker State Park


Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 172: Private Residence, Jacksonville, FL - Overall Rating: N/A

Dates: December 19 - 29, 2010
Location: Residential area in northeast Jacksonville.
GPS Coordinates: N/A
Our Site Number: Driveway
Reason Selected: Linda's sister's driveway for the holidays.
Setting: Subdivision in Jacksonville suburbs.
Guidebooks: None Used
Big Rig Friendly: Big enough. :)
Hook-ups: Water and 20-amp electric. Stayed in house due to cold temperatures, so just hooked up electric to keep batteries charged.
Laundry: Yep.
Price & Discounts: Free!
Other Factors: Great hosts.
OVERALL RATING: N/A (out of ten)
The campsite didn't have the "it" factor, but it was a great place to spend the holidays with family. :)

Back To 2010 Campground Reviews List