Our 2008 Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of the campgrounds we visited in 2008.

For more information on how we choose a campground and on our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

These reviews are shown in the order we visited the campgrounds during the year. To see campground reviews by state with the most recent visits at the top of the page, go to our Main Campground Reviews page and click on the state by state links.

Also, note that these reviews indicate a "Journal Site" number. This number corresponds to the number of the stop since we began our adventure and also to the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our Journal page. You may be able to find more information about the campground or the area by clicking on Our Journal and locating entries for the dates indicated for each campground.





Direct Links To 2008 Reviews Below

Brazoria National Wildlife Refuge Volunteer Village, Freeport, TX - December 2007

Private Residence, Harwood, TX - February 2008

Kerrville-Schreiner Park Campground, Kerrville, TX - February 2008

Parkview RV Park, Fort Stockton, TX - February 2008

Host Site, Lake Valley Historic Townsite, Lake Valley, NM - February 2008

Bosque Birdwatchers RV Park, San Antonio, NM - May 2008

Sky City RV Park, Acoma, NM - February 2008

Devils Garden Campground, Arches National Park, Moab, UT - March/April 2008

Squaw Flat Campground, Needles District, Canyonlands National Park, Monticello, UT - May 2008

Lockhart Basin BLM Boondocking Campsite, Monticello, UT - May 2008

Blanco River RV Park, Pagosa Springs, CO - May 2008

Rio Bravo Campground, Orilla Verde Recreations Area, Pilar, NM - May 2008

Cactus RV Park, Tucumcari, NM - May 2008

Palo Duro Canyon State Park, Canyon, TX - May 2008

Doris Campground, Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, Indiahoma, OK - May 2008

Twin Bridges State Park, Wyandotte, OK - June 2008

America's Best Campground, Branson, MO - June 2008

Washington Cove Park COE Campground, Copan Lake, OK - June 2008

Boiling Springs State Park Campground, Woodward, OK - June 2008

Gladstone Mercantile & RV Park, Gladstone, New Mexico - June 2008

Blanco Campground, Heron Lake State Park, Los Ojos, New Mexico - June 2008

V.A. Poma Ranch, Pagosa Springs, CO - Summer/Fall 2008

Pagosa Riverside Campground, Pagosa Springs, CO - November 2008

Mom & Pop RV Park, Farmington, NM - November 2008

Crystal Forest Gift Shop, Petrified Forest National Park South Entrance, Holbrook, AZ - November 2008

Roper Lake State Park, Safford, AZ - November 2008

SKP Saguaro Co-Op Park, Benson, AZ - November 2008






Journal Site 86: Brazoria National Wildlife Refuge Volunteer Village - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: November 30, 2007 - February 15, 2008
Location: About 50 miles south of Houston and a few miles north of the port town of Freeport off of FM 523.
GPS Coordinates: 29.09484N, 95.27913W
Our Site Number: N/A
Reason Selected: Site provided as part of our package as Volunteers for the Brazoria National Wildlife Refuge for part of the winter of 2007/2008
Setting: Open field with 8 gravel RV sites. Open fields to the east, north, and south. There is a public fishing area on Bastrop Bayou across the road to the west. Our site as pictured was one of the few with a tree of any size.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig although interior gravel road could be larger for making turns around loop and backing into sites.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amp electric
Laundry: One very slow, water conserving washer and one dryer in a small community room at the Village.
Price & Discounts: FREE in exchange for volunteer hours
Other Factors: Large, well-spaced RV sites. Also free propane and free laundry. Wind can be very strong and mosquitoes are bad when the wind isn't blowing. Excellent for our rooftop internet satellite.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
Really nice RV sites out in the middle of nowhere. Very quiet most of the time. Would be nice if there was a larger gathering place for volunteers and more washers/dryers. Large sites with full hook-ups on a wonderful wildlife refuge. All roads to the Volunteer Village are paved, but the loop and sites are gravel. Would like to have seen better weather during our stay and the mosquitoes make it almost impossible to sit outside.


Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 87: Private Residence - Overall Rating: N/A

Dates: February 15, 2008 - February 16, 2008
Location: Harwood, TX
GPS Coordinates: Now I can't give you that. :)
Our Site Number: N/A
Reason Selected: We were invited to stay here by one of our long-time website followers.
Setting: Small, private ranch in very rural area between Houston, San Antonio, and Austin.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Yes, but a couple miles of dirt road to get there.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups
Laundry: N/A
Price & Discounts: Free!!
Other Factors: Our hosts were absolutely wonderful and took very good care of us. Rooftop satellite was no problem at all
OVERALL RATING: N/A/ (out of ten)



Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 88: Kerrville-Schreiner Park Campground - Overall Rating: 8.5

Dates: February 17, 2008
Location: Just off Texas Hwy 173 south of Kerrville a few miles south of I-10.
GPS Coordinates: 30.00585N, 99.12628W
Our Site Number: 118
Reason Selected: We were meeting with RV-Dreams readers in the Kerrville/Bandera area on our way toward a camphosting volunteer job in Utah. This was the best option for a natural setting in the area.
Setting: There are 42 RV sites in a wooded area on a hill on the west side of Hwy 173. There are 20 more sites in a less wooded area on the east side of Hwy 173 between the road and the Guadalupe River. We stayed in the wooded campground on the hill which is quite a bit farther from the highway than the other one. We stayed in the Deer Field Loop and there were several deer roaming the campground when we arrived and during our stay.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig. All but 7 of the RV sites are pull-throughs. But they are the semi-circle type that require caution when pulling in and out.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric on 10 sites at the riverside campground; Full hook-ups with 30 amp electric on 30 sites; Water and 30 amp electric on 22 sites
Laundry: There is a laundry facility, but I forgot to check it out.
Price & Discounts: $21 for full hook-ups; They charged us an extra $5 for our Jeep; Also, there is a $5 reservation fee if you try to reserve by phone.
Other Factors: The park office is on the river side to the east of Hwy 173. You have to go there first to register (I turned in the wrong place). Rooftop satellite options were available, but we had to be selective in our site. Didn't stay long enough to check out the bathhouses. Website is weak. This used to be a Texas State Park, but now is run by the City of Kerrville.
OVERALL RATING: 8.5 (out of ten)
Though we didn't get to stay long, this was a campground I know we would have liked a lot. Lots of room for bike riding, and there were several hiking trails we didn't get to check out. With the wildlife, the natural surroundings, the laundry, and the full hook-ups, I had to give this campground an 8.5. I would have gone with a 9 if there were more back-in sites with more privacy. We look forward to the opportunity to stay here again.

Kerrville-Schreiner Park

Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 89: Parkview RV Park - Overall Rating: 5

Dates: February 18, 2008
Location: Just south of I-10 at Fort Stockton on U.S. Hwy 285.
GPS Coordinates: 30.8791N, 102.8665W
Our Site Number: 41
Reason Selected: This was a Passport America park on our way to Utah. Just an overnight stop.
Setting: A dirt/gravel parking lot next to a mobile home park. Ugly, ugly, ugly.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig pretty easily. We didn't have to unhitch the truck.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric. Some sites have only 30 amps.
Laundry: Yes, but we didn't look at it.
Price & Discounts: $18 a night for 30 amps or $22 a night for 50 amps. With Passport America (no restrictions as of the time of our stay), the fees were 50% off.
Other Factors: Terrible website. No problem with satellite though. Tried to be friendly with the staff, but didn't have much luck. :)
OVERALL RATING: 5 (out of ten)
Not our type of place at all. But it served the purpose, had full hook-ups, and was pretty easy in and out.

Parkview RV Park

Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 90: Host Site, Lake Valley Historic Townsite - Overall Rating: N/A

Dates: February 19, 2008 - February 22, 2008
Location: The middle of nowhere. About 40 miles northwest of Hatch off of I-25 and about an hour northeast of Deming in southwestern New Mexico.
Our Site: N/A
GPS Coordinates: 32.7210N, 107.5676W
Reason Selected: We were invited by the current property stewards/caretakers on our way to Utah.
Setting: Valley in the Upper Chihuahuan Desert.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Yes.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 30 amp electric
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: N/A - Though this is a federal Historic Site on BLM land, there is no camping for the public. You must either be the contracted steward or an invited guest of the stewards.
Other Factors: Our hosts were wonderful and took good care of us with food, tours, and friendship.
OVERALL RATING: N/A (out of ten)
This was a unique opportunity and a wonderful invitation. It just fit into our plans and we certainly appreciated our time there. Again, this NOT a public camping spot.


Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 91: Bosque Birdwatchers RV Park - Overall Rating: 6.5

Dates: February 22, 2008 - February 26, 2008
Location: About an hour south of Albuquerque just off I-25. Just outside the entrance to the Bosque Del Apache National Wildlife Refuge.
Our Site: 16
GPS Coordinates: 33.87422N, 106.8752W
Reason Selected: Wanted to visit the Bosque Del Apache National Wildlife Refuge and this was easily the most convenient place.
Setting: A gravel/dirt parking lot in the high desert. Can see mountains to the east and west, but this is not a very appealing campground.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of space for rigs of all sizes to maneuver.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts:$23 per day according to their price list, but I think they give just about everyone the senior price of $20. :)
Other Factors: You have to ask for the key for the one shower. One men's and one women's restroom. Train tracks across the road, but they were spaced far enough apart to not be too annoying. No website. Very friendly owner. Rooftop satellite was no problem at all.
OVERALL RATING: 6.5 (out of ten)
Now I would ordinarily have given a place like this a 5. But it is really convenient to the wildlife refuge and it does have full hook-ups. And we had one of the three sites on the western edge next to the desert vegetation. Those sites allow for more privacy and the birds came right to our door to feed. I'd probably drop the rating at least a point if we were out in the middle of the campground.


Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 92: Sky City RV Park - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: February 26, 2008
Location: About an hour west of Albuquerque just off I-40.
Our Site: 26
GPS Coordinates: 35.08063N, 107.5576W
Reason Selected: Good stopping point on our way to Utah through western New Mexico.
Setting: A wide open RV park with all pull-through spaces. No trees. Views of the San Mateo Mountains and the 11,300 foot Mt. Taylor to the north. Views of the Sky City Hotel & Casino and I-40 to the south. Wide open spaces to the east and west.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of space for rigs of all sizes. Very easy in and out. Lots of room to maneuver. Sites big enough for our truck, fifth wheel, and Jeep (if we don't unhitch).
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric.
Laundry: None, but laundromat at the travel center 1/4 mile away.
Price & Discounts:$15 per day plus tax. But they give you a coupon to get $5 in the casino - at least they did during our stay. :)
Other Factors: This is a new RV park having opened in May 2007. It is affiliated with the Sky City Casino & Hotel. No amenities really. But really nice, large, easy-in & easy-out sites. Shuttle comes through the RV park often to take campers to the casino. Free use of the pool and hottub in the casino hotel. There is a clubhouse under construction that will house showers and bathrooms. Casino website talks about the RV park catering to Class A RVs. It seems to indicate that it is for Class A motorhomes only, but that's not the case at all. Rooftop satellite was no problem at all. Free Wi-Fi.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
Now this is not really our kind of place. But, for a parking lot out in the middle of nowhere, it's pretty nice. The price is right for sure, and the view of the mountains is great (especially in February when we visited because there was snow on the peaks). It's not the type of place you are going to sit outside and enjoy, but for a stopover or a base to explore the area, it ain't bad. If things don't change much, I think the casino has a winner with this one. :)


Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 93: Devils Garden Campground, Arches National Park - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: February 28, 2008 - April 30, 2008
Location: Four miles north of Moab on Hwy 191. Actually, the campground is 18 miles into Arches National Park at the end of the park road.
Our Site: Well, we were campground hosts for most of our time their and lived in the host "cabin". But we did stay in Site 27 for a couple nights and Site 22 for a few nights as well.
GPS Coordinates: 38.61389N, 109.59333W
Reason Selected: Took a position as campground hosts for March & April 2008.
Setting: Absolutely beautiful Arches National Park with red rock formations all around and a view of the La Sal Mountains.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Yes, but sites for big rigs are limited. Shoot for site 7, 11, 19, 21, 22, 27 (a little narrow) in the non-reservable section. In the reservable section, sites 27, 46, and 52 are the best options. Be careful of the sites described as "pull-throughs" on the reservation website. They are really shoulders, pull-offs, on the campground road. They'll work, but they won't be what you expected.
Hook-ups: No hook-ups. Bathrooms with flush toilets, but no showers. And NO dump station.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: $15 a night. $7.50 with the America The Beautiful Senior Pass.
Other Factors: Arches National Park may be the single most spectacular place we have visited to date. Fortunately, we didn't have to make reservations or scramble for a first come, first serve site.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
Arches is wonderful and it is great to explore it over several days by camping in the park. However, it is not easy to get in. The reserved sites fill up quickly during the March - October reservation season. Non-reservable sites are given away at the park entrance starting at 7:30 in the morning. There may be a couple sites or several sites. The actual number available are posted at the entrance station the night before. If you do happen to get a site, there is no guarantee a large rig will fit in one of the available sites. It's not so tough when it's cold. You can get in November through February without too much trouble. So, as much as we love Arches, the lack of hook-ups, showers, and dump station along with not being able to easily get a site won't allow us to give it more than an 8.


Arches National Park Camping


Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 94: Squaw Flat Campground, Needles District, Canyonlands National Park - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: May 1, 2008
Location: About 35 miles from Hwy 191 on County Road 211. The county road is between Moab (about 60 miles) and Monticello (about 12 miles).
Our Site: 6
GPS Coordinates: 38.1456N, 109.7988W
Reason Selected: Had visited Needles while camphosting at Arches and we wanted to spend a few days to do some hiking.
Setting: Two camping loops. Paved sites. Loop A has some great views and the sites are sheltered from the west by large rock formations. Loop B has smaller sites and less protection. Lots of space between sites.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Limited big rig sites, and with them all being first come, first serve, it would be a heck of a gamble to drive 35 miles hoping to get one. There is room to maneuver if you can get in.
Hook-ups: No hook-ups. There are flush toilets and pit toilets (very, very clean). No showers. And there are a few water spigots to fill up fresh water tanks. There is NO dump station.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts:$15 per night. $7.50 with America The Beautiful Senior Pass.
Other Factors: We really liked this campground - we were able to get a site because of our camphost jobs at Arches National Park, a sister park to Canyonlands. But in order to get a site, you have to arrive early in the morning and hope to get one in which you can fit. If you can't get in, your options for big rigs are limited to the Needles Outpost commercial campground (more suited to tents, pop-ups, and truck campers), boondocking on BLM land outside the park, or driving at least 50 miles to an RV park.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
I'm giving this campground an 8 because it does have some terrific sites and it is really nice to be in Needles for exploring. But I would never go higher than that without hook-ups, no dump station, and no showers. And the risk of driving all the way in and not getting a site is just too high unless you are willing to do some boondocking. The best thing to do is take your tow vehicle or toad in around 7:30 or 8:00 am and scout the tickets on the posts to see which sites are supposed to be vacating. Then you just have to hang out and wait until they leave (they can still extend until the time they actually leave and check-out is 10:00 am) to claim the site you want. Then you can go get your trailer or motorhome. It's not a great system for big rigs, but it's about the best you can do. If you want to just drive in and chance it, your odds are better mid-week and when the weather is not very good. :)

Canyonlands National Park Camping


Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 95: Lockhart Basin BLM Boondocking Site - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: May 2 - May 7, 2008
Location: About 30 miles from Hwy 191 on County Road 211 going toward the Needles District of Arches National Park. Half mile from 211 on Lockhart Basin Road. About an hour and a half south of Moab.
Our Site: A big open dirt site
GPS Coordinates: 38.18240N, 109.668W
Reason Selected: Great free boondocking site from which to explore The Needles (Canyonlands NP) and surrounding area.
Setting: A beautiful spot on BLM land with red rock views in the high Utah desert. Just a few feet of the Lockhart Basin Scenic By-way dirt road.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of space for rigs of all sizes. We had two big rigs in there and both of us had extra vehicles. Need to be patient when driving in on the dirt road as it is a bit washboardy. There are two ways to get into the site - one is a little rocky with the possibility of dragging but the other is no problem.
Hook-ups: None. Pure boondocking. There is a dump station at the Needles Outpost about five miles away, but the better choice is at an RV park in Monticello about 45 miles away.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts:Free!!
Other Factors: A long way from everything, but minimal supplies and expensive gas (not diesel) is available at the Needles Outpost a few miles away.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
A great place to boondock. Excellent open area for satellite and solar panels. Because it is so close to the dirt road, it can get dusty with traffic if the breeze is not blowing the right way. And you can get sandblasted in high winds, although it is somewhat protected from the west by some rock outcroppings. We were able to get cell coverage with our amplifier. Be sure to arrive with water in your tanks. Our first true boondocking experience and it will be hard to beat. :)

BLM Camping Moab Division


Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 96: Blanco River RV Park - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: May 8, 2008 - May 13, 2008
Location: On U.S Hwy 84 about 10 miles south of Pagosa Springs in southern Colorado
GPS Coordinates: 37.15765N, 106.9468W
Our Site Number: 47
Reason Selected: We were on our way from Utah to Branson, Missouri and wanted to stop in Pagosa Springs where we had lined up a workamping job for the summer. Many of the National Forest campgrounds had not yet opened for the season, so our choice was RV parks. From our web research, this one seemed the most like our style.
Setting:Open setting between a feeder of the Blanco River and a wooded hill. But to the right of the river in the photo above is Hwy 84. It's very close to the road but buffered by the river and a steep bank. The roads and sites are gravel and the sites are very close together.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig, but could be trickier if the RV park is full.
Hook-ups: Full hook-up with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: Really nice with four washers/dryers.
Price & Discounts: $30 per night plus tax; They also have weekly and monthly rates. They do offer 10% discounts off nightly rate for Good Sam, FMCA, and others. There is a 15% discount for Escapees. I saw a Happy Camper sticker on their window, so it appears they have some discount for that 1/2 price club membership. Our stay with the Escapees discount was $27.25 per night including tax.
Other Factors: Very, very friendly owners; Rooftop satellite was no problem; Bathhouse was immaculate and laundry facilities were great; They don't have their own website, but they are listed on coloradodirectory.com - Caution: Rates on that website were outdated when we checked. Free Wi-Fi. At 6900 feet elevation. Lots of beautiful scenery and National Forest roads nearby. We had constant hummingbirds at our feeders.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
There were very few rigs in the park while we were there. But the sites were way too close together, and I bet it is really crowded during the summer. Because the sites are packed in, because it sits really close to the highway, and because the price is a bit on the high side for us, I can only give it a seven.

Blanco River RV Park

Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List




Journal Site 97: Rio Bravo Campground, Orilla Verde Recreation Area - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: May 13 - May 18, 2008
Location: About 30 miles north of Espanola and about 16 miles south of Taos just off NM Hwy 68 on NM 570
Our Site: RV-3
GPS Coordinates: 36.29216N, 105.7813W
Reason Selected: Wanted to visit the Taos area on our way to Missouri without staying in an RV park. Many national forest campgrounds are in the area, but they weren't opening for another couple of weeks. So we thought we'd check out this BLM recreation area on the Rio Grande River.
Setting: Sits in the Rio Grande River Gorge with cliffs on both sides. Right next to the Rio Grande River with just enough cottonwood trees to give the campground character. Sits close to NM 570, but the traffic is not too heavy. All gravel roads and sites.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: NM 570, which is the only way to the campground, is very narrow and requires caution around curves. Once at the campground there is plenty of room to get into any of the four pull-through sites. All the other sites are only suitable for tents, truck campers, or small trailers.
Hook-ups: Water and 50/30 amp electric. No sewer and no dump station.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts:$15 per night. $7.50 with an America The Beautiful Senior Pass.
Other Factors: Nice quiet campground during the week. It fills up on weekends. All sites are first come, first served. Bathhouses had flush toilets and showers. But the showers are coin-operated at 3 minutes per $1. Restrooms were clean. NO dump station. Each site has a picnic table and fire-ring. Our rooftop satellite was no problem from our site, but it might have been at the other 3 RV sites. Even with our amplifier, we could not get cell service. But we could about five miles away.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
This was a decent little campground and the price was right for hook-ups and flush toilets. The showers were a bit expensive and it would have been nice to have a dump station. To dump you have to go north into Taos or south to Espanola. It's not the most scenic place we have ever been, but it's not bad. Great place to stay if you want to float on the Rio Grande River, but it is pretty inconvenient if Taos and the Enchanted Circle are your primary targets to spend time. I wouldn't hesitate to stop there again, but I wouldn't go out of my way to do it. If you want one of the four RV sites, you better get there early in the week.


Orilla Verde Recreation Area



Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 98: Cactus RV Park - Overall Rating: 6

Dates: May 18, 2008
Location: Just off of I-40 in Tucumcari near the New Mexico/Texas Border.
Our Site: 1
GPS Coordinates: 35.17092N, 103.7107W
Reason Selected: A good stopping point on our way to Palo Duro Canyon State Park in Texas. Just wanted to get through eastern New Mexico and this Passport America park was just the ticket for an overnight stop.
Setting: In town in the parking lot of an old hotel. All gravel with small trees between sites. It ain't pretty, but it's better than other Passport America parks we have stayed in.
Guidebooks: Passport America website.
Big Rig Friendly: No problems for any rig. Most sites wouldn't require unhitching.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric. No dump station and no bathhouse.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts:Website shows range of $19 - $22 based on whether you want 30 amps, 50 amps, or cable. The regular price is really $24 which is knocked down to $12 for Passport America members. But they add on $3 if you want 50 amps. If you are not a Passport America member, they discount $2 for Good Sam, and other memberships.
Other Factors: Owners are very nice people. Satellite is no problem. They do have free Wi-Fi. Their website has good information all on one page.
OVERALL RATING: 6 (out of ten)
This is just not our kind of place at all. But for the Passport America rate, it filled our needs. It's not a place we would ever stay for any length of time and certainly not at the regular rates.


Cactus RV Park



Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 99: Palo Duro Canyon State Park - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: May 19 - May 26, 2008
Location: South of Amarillo off I-27. At the end of TX 217 about 8 miles east of I-27 (12 miles east of Canyon).
GPS Coordinates: 34.97534N, 101.6759W
Our Site Number: 122 Sagebrush Campground
Reason Selected: Had been wanting to visit this state park from the first time we saw pictures of the campsites and reviews from our web readers.
Setting: Three campgrounds on the floor of a deep canyon. Each campground is slightly different, but mostly the sites are open and tucked in between mesquite trees and junipers. Good views of the canyon walls from all sites. The campground roads are paved, but the pads are gravel. Other than a couple power lines, nothing to impair the sightlines and only the noise of the wind, birds, and park traffic can be heard.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: There is a windy one-mile 10% grade driving down into the canyon. Caution is required for big rigs around the sharp turns. But with patience and remaining in the lowest gear going down, there should be no problem. The Sagebrush Campground is big rig friendly and closer to the entrance of the park. The Hackberry Campground is for smaller rigs. The Mesquite Campground is at the end of the park road and has good views, but you have to make several low crossings that can be flooded at times. When dry, there shouldn't be an issue, but you might drag going through the crossings if you are very long. Still, there are plenty of larger rigs found in the campgrounds.
Hook-ups: Water and 50/30 amp electric in Sagebrush & Mesquite Campgrounds. Water and 30 amp electric in Hackberry. Each campground has a bathhouse with flush toilets and showers. And each campground has a dump station.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: $22 a night PLUS a $4 park entry fee per day per person! If you are going to visit several Texas State Parks during a year's time, it's best to buy an annual parks pass for $60 (or $75 for two vehicles) which will cover those park entry fees.
Other Factors: Staff was very friendly and let us know our options when we called the morning of our arrival. Rooftop satellite is no problem in the two larger campgrounds. The bathhouse was clean, but a little smelly. We chose the Sagebrush campground as it was an easier in-and-out and because it is closer to the entrance where there is cell coverage. Our cell phones work just fine with our amplifier.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
We really enjoyed our campsite. We were lucky in that we got to choose a site. Normally, they are assigned to you at the entrance. During the week, there was almost no one else in the campground with us. It was very peaceful and we enjoyed the birds and wildlife that passed through. Next door to our campground was a "trading post" where they had some groceries, a grill, and snacks. A Super Wal-mart is in the town of Canyon about 17 miles from the Sagebrush Campground. We would have given the campground an 8.5 if not for the extra $8 per couple per day added on to the campground fee.

Palo Duro Canyon State Park

Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 100: Doris Campground, Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: May 26, 2008 - May 31, 2008
Location: In Southwest Oklahoma off of I-44 near Lawton.
GPS Coordinates: 34.7182N, 98.64574W
Our Site Number: 60
Reason Selected: We were on our way from Texas to Branson, MO for the 2008 RV-Dreams Rally. We had heard wonderful things about this refuge and it was a great stopping point for us.
Setting: This campground sits in the middle of the wildlife refuge. All sites have shade and it is a very quiet campground. Some sites are on a lake.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: It's pretty tight for large rigs. The roads are paved, but narrow with lots of trees. You have to be careful with low hanging branches.
Hook-ups: There are five loops in the campground - A, B, C, D, & E. Only loops B & E have electric (30 amps). That's 23 sites out of 70. None of the sites have water or sewer. There are a few places to take on water and a dump station at the entrance. The dump station requires a U-turn on the way out and can be a little tricky for larger rigs.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: fees were $16 per night for electric sites and $8 per night for no hook-ups.
Other Factors: One bathhouse with showers for the whole campground. It's pretty old and not in great shape. It was clean, but still a little scary. Very few sites are good for roof-top satellite. We probably had the only electric site that would have worked for our satellite. Some sites with no hook-ups might have worked. The website is okay. The refuge has great wildlife viewing opportunities, deer roaming the campground along with turkeys and lots of other birds. Their are numerous hiking trails and lakes within the refuge.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
We really enjoyed our stay at the Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge. Though the campround was fine, we might have liked one of the no hook-up sites better. They offered a little more privacy, but it was 100 degrees when we were there and we needed the electricity. This was a strange one for us. Our site just didn't give us that feeling we look for, but it was the type of setting we like. We'd stay there again, but wouldn't go out of our way to do it.

Doris Campground at Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge

Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 101: Twin Bridges State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 6.5

Dates: June 1, 2008 - June 6, 2008
Location: In Northeast Oklahoma on U.S. 60 where the Neosho River and the Spring River meet to form Grand Lake.
GPS Coordinates: 36.80188N, 94.75635W
Our Site Number: 3-10
Reason Selected: We were on our way to Branson, MO for the 2008 RV-Dreams Rally. It just happened to be the best state park option within a day's drive of Branson.
Setting: This campground sits between two rivers on a bluff. There are woods separating the campsites and the steep banks down to the rivers. Oklahoma state road 137 runs right through the middle of the park. There are campsites on both sides of the road. Though the sites are spaced okay, there isn't really any privacy between sites.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: The campground can accomodate large rigs in several sites. Roads are paved.
Hook-ups: The RV sites have water and electric, but no sewer. There is one dump station.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: Oklahoma State Parks charge a $10 base fee and then add on fees for hook-ups ($2/Water, $6/Electric, $3 Sewer).
Other Factors: Each of the three campground sections has a Bathhouse with showers or comfort station as they call them. As with most older state parks, the batthouses could use some upgrades. The rangers were very nice. We had a few site options for rooftop satellite. The website isn't very helpful regarding information about the campground.
OVERALL RATING: 6.5 (out of ten)
This was sort of stop to prepare for the rally. We didn't really get out much. With the two rivers and the lake, it's supposed to be a fishermen's paradise. However, with heavy spring rains, the whole area was quite flooded. The biggest problem with the campground is the busy Hwy 137 running through it. I wouldn't go out of my way for this campground unless I had a good fishing boat. :)

Twin Bridges State Park

Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 102: America's Best Campground - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: June 6, 2008 - June 17, 2008
Location: A few miles off of U.S. Hwy 65 in the southwestern corner of Missori about 50 miles south of Springfield.
GPS Coordinates: 36.68454N, 93.25915W
Our Site Number: 94
Reason Selected: This was the site of the first RV-Dreams Rally. We selected it because they are experienced in handling rallies, they have on on-site rally coordinator, it was centrally located in the U.S., and it had received the Good Sam Welcome Mat award several years in a row.
Setting: A basic RV park set-up (side-by-side sites) except it has a little more character than many of the treeless parking lots we've seen. There are rolling hills and trees throughout. It sits far enough away from the main roads and traffic of the Branson shows to be relatively quiet. However, there was a lot of construction along the western edge of the park which made for some annoying weekdays. The interior roads are gravel and many of the sites are not exactly level.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: The majority of the sites are pull-throughs and there is plenty of room to maneuver big rigs.
Hook-ups: All sites have full hook-ups with water, sewer, and 50/30 amp electric.
Laundry: Very nice facility with ten washers and dryers.
Price & Discounts: Sites are $35 daily plus tax or $196 weekly plus tax. For stays over seven days, the rate is $28 per night including tax. The daily rate for December 8 through March 8 is $20 including tax but several of the buildings are closed. Ten to fifteen percent discounts off the nightly rate are available for military veterans and Good Sam RV Club members.
Other Factors: The staff is fantastic! We would highly recommend this campground as a rally location. They have a pool and hot tub and offer free Wi-Fi and free satellite TV. They offer discount show tickets as well. They also have an RV/Car Wash for an extra fee. Most sites are shaded, but they do have several sites that are fine for rooftop satellite. The bathhouse was old but very clean. The website is very good and provides a lot of information.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
The success of the first RV-Dreams Rally and the wonderful staff get this campground an 8. We might have gone a little higher if not for the noisy construction next door. Being more of an RV park with side-by-side sites, it isn't really our cup of tea, but it does have more character than most. Branson is not really our thing either, but if we were to come back, this campground probably would suit us better than most if we wanted full hook-ups. It would for sure be our selection if we were to hold another rally in the area.

America's Best Campground

Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 103: Washington Cove Park COE Campground - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: June 17, 2008 - June 19, 2008
Location: In Northeast Oklahoma near the Kansas/Oklahoma line. Just north of Bartlesville and a few miles off U.S. 75 on Copan Lake.
GPS Coordinates: 36.91236N, 95.9419W
Our Site Number: 80
Reason Selected: We were on our way from Branson, MO to a job in Pagosa Springs, CO. We always look for state parks or Corps of Engineers campgrounds on our route. This one made for a great stopping point.
Setting: This campground sits on a large lake. It is heavily wooded. Unfortunately, we couldn't get a complete read on it because about a third of the sites were under water from the heavy spring rains. Our site was waterfront though it wasn't supposed to be. :)
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: The campground can accomodate large rigs. However, it was hard to tell how many of the underwater sites may have been big enough.
Hook-ups: All sites have 30-amp electric only. There are numerous spigots to take on water and there is an easily accessed dump station on the way out.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: Nightly fee is $16.
Other Factors: This was certainly our type of campground. We only wish it hadn't been flooded. There were only a few sites where we could have gotten satellite, at least that we could see. There are two batthhouse with showers that were okay.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
This is an out of the way COE campground - just the kind we like. It probably wasn't an 8 when we stayed there due to the flooding, but we are giving it the benefit of the doubt. We would certainly stay there again if we happened to find ourselves in that area of the country.

Copan Lake, Washington Cove Park COE Campground

Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 104: Boiling Springs State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 6.5

Dates: June 19, 2008 - June 22, 2008
Location: In Northwest Oklahoma off U.S. 270 near Woodward.
GPS Coordinates: 36.45581N, 99.29448W
Our Site Number: 39
Reason Selected: Just a decent state park on our way across Oklahoma heading to southern Colorado for a summer job.
Setting: This sits in a rural state park. There are two campgrounds, Spring Hill & Whitetail. Spring Hill is a loop with well spaced campsites surrounded by woods. Whitetail has side-by-side full hook-up sites and looks more like an old RV park surrounded by woods.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Both campgrounds can accomodate large rigs. However, there are lots of low-hanging branches on the way into the park and campgrounds. You have to be cautious.
Hook-ups: Spring Hill sites have water and electric, but no sewer hook-ups. Whitetail has 10 full hook-up sites with 30 & 50 amps. There is a dump station at the entrance to the Spring Hill campground.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: Oklahoma State Parks charge a $10 base fee and then add on fees for hook-ups ($2/Water, $6/Electric, $3 Sewer.
Other Factors: The headliner at this park, the boiling springs, is rather lame. The bathhouse is old. There were a few sites where rooftop satellite was accessible. A good point is that there is a nice, reasonably priced, public golf course right outside the park entrance.
OVERALL RATING: 6.5 (out of ten)
This is an out of the way state park. To be honest, we didn't really explore it. We might have given the campground another half point, but no more than that. Our site was decent, but we wouldn't go out of our way to stay there again.

Boiling Springs State Park Campground

Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 105: Gladstone Mercantile & RV Park - Overall Rating: 3

Dates: June 22, 2008
Location: On U.S. Hwy 56 in the northeastern corner of New Mexico.
Our Site: 3
GPS Coordinates: 36.30418N, 103.974W
Reason Selected: We missed our turn to stop at Clayton Lake State Park. Rather than turn around we continued on toward our summer job in southern Colorado. We were low on gas and this store/gas station happened to have RV sites. We stayed because the electricity was out and the gas pumps weren't working. We couldn't go any farther with the Jeep, so we had to wait until the electricity came back on.
Setting: Parking lot in a field next to a U.S. Hwy.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: No problems for any rig except there are low hanging tree limbs at one entrance.
Hook-ups: Water and 30 amp electric. No dump station and no bathhouse.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: $20
Other Factors: If you need to stop, this will do. Owners are very nice people. They have gas/diesel but it is very expensive. Satellite is no problem. No website.
OVERALL RATING: 3 (out of ten)
It worked for an overnight stop. It just happened to fit our needs, but we certainly wouldn't plan with a stay here in mind.


Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 106: Blanco Campground, Heron Lake State Park - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: June 23, 2008 - June 26, 2008
Location: About 10 miles off of U.S. Hwy 84 south of Chama in north central New Mexico.
Our Site: 55
GPS Coordinates: 36.69125N, 106.66190W
Reason Selected: A good stopping point on our way to Pagosa Springs, Colorado for a summer job. We always look for public campgrounds on our routes that are between 100 and 300 miles from our starting point on travel days.
Setting: There are about 10 campgrounds in Heron Lake State Park, but only two have hook-ups - Blanco & Willow Creek. Those two campgrounds are near the lake but do not have lake views. They are in high desert scrub. However, the sites are huge and there is great privacy. If you have a smaller rig, and don't mind being without hook-ups, some of the other campgrounds have spectacular lake views.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: There is plenty of room in the Blanco and Willow Creek Campgrounds. I wouldn't take a larger rig into most of the other campgrounds.
Hook-ups: Water and 50-amp electric hook-ups in Blanco and Willow Creek. In those campgrounds there are 60 sites. Of those, 52 have water/electric, 4 have no hook-ups, and another 4 actually have full hook-ups. There is a dump station on the way out of these two campgrounds. And there is one shower house shared by the two campgrounds.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: Water/electric sites are $14. Full hook-up sites are $18. No hook-up sites are $10.
Other Factors: Satellite is no problem. The New Mexico State Parks websites aren't very helpful as far as campgrounds. If you like fishing or boating, Heron Lake is large and the park road also leads to a boat ramp on El Vado Lake. The Chama River connects the two lakes.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
We really liked the size of the sites and the privacy. However, there was no view. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to check out the hiking trails or explore the park very much. The electric sites are a bargain at $14. We would stay there again.


Heron Lake State Park



Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 107: V.A. Poma Ranch - Overall Rating: 5

Workamper SitesView From Guest RV Sites

Dates: June 27, 2008 - October 27, 2008
Location: On Piedra Road, 24 miles north of U.S. Hwy 160 and Pagosa Springs in southern Colorado. In the San Juan National Forest in the Weminuche Valley.
GPS Coordinates: 37.48133N, 107.24471W
Our Site Number: Workamper Site
Reason Selected: We were workampers for July through October 2008.
Setting:The V.A. Poma Ranch is 785 acre guest ranch located in a valley in the San Juan National Forest at 8000 feet. There are two workamper RV sites that sit near the Ranch headquarters tucked up in a pine trees - private, but no views. The two guest RV sites are side-by-side sitting in a cove along the ranch road with views looking out across the Weminuche River & Valley.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig, but there are some tight turns, rough roads, and a narrow bridge. Getting into the sites requires some uphill backing (especially the workamper sites).
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 30 amp electric, but the voltage fluctuates quite a bit - make sure you have voltage protection. And the water pressure is low.
Laundry: Laundy facility (one washer/dryer) for workampers only. Sportsman's Supply about seven miles away has public washer/dryers.
Price & Discounts: $32 per night plus tax; Weekly rate is 7 nights for the price of 6 plus tax; Rates are higher in hunting seasons. No membership discounts.
Other Factors: Very, very friendly manager; Dessert hour in the evenings in the main Ranch house during the summer; Fantastic trout fishing in the three miles of Weminuche River on the property and in two on-site ponds; Beautiful, remote setting with National Forest surrounding most of the property; Rooftop satellite works, but have to be positioned properly; Shower house is quite a distance from RV sites, but is fairly new and is adequate; Website doesn't provide much info on RV sites, but they were working on that; Wi-Fi is available at the Ranch house but not at the RV sites.
OVERALL RATING: 5 (out of ten)
Not really an RV destination. Caters more to those renting cabins. Eighteen of the 24 miles up Piedra Road are unpaved and range from decent to horrible depending on the most recent weather and the last time road crews were through. A fabulous place to spend a few days in a remote area especially for fly-fishing. A bit pricey, but few options in the area with full hook-ups and the type of hospitality you get. The RV sites aren't great, but the relaxing atmosphere can make up for that. We loved the Ranch, but it certainly isn't a place to just drop in. Being objective, it's not a place we would go without at least two weeks to stay.

V.A. Poma Ranch

Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List




Journal Site 108: Pagosa Riverside Campground - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: October 27, 2008 - November 7, 2008
Location: On U.S Hwy 160 about 2 miles east of Pagosa Springs in southern Colorado
GPS Coordinates: 37.2869N, 106.9801W
Our Site Number: 67
Reason Selected: We finished our job 25 miles north of Pagosa Springs and wanted a place to chill out for a week or so. It would allow our employer to follow-up with us if she needed anything, we could rest, and we could make sure any mail coming in would arrive before we left the area. After the end of October, there aren't many choices in Pagosa.
Setting: Varied setting (open and shaded sites) between Hwy 160 and the San Juan River. The campground sits down below the road, so the noise isn't too bad. It's mostly gravel, side-by-side sites with Cottonwood trees scattered throughout the campground. It's not bad for an RV park sitting close to a busy highway. The campground being right on the river is nice.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig. Our site was wide enough to park our Jeep and truck to the side. Over half the sites can accomodate rigs up to 45 feet and slides, but they are not as wide as the one we had.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 30 amp electric
Laundry: Six washers and two commercial dryers. Older, but a decent facility.
Price & Discounts: Full hook-ups for 31.95 per night; Weekly rate is seven nights for the price of 6; Monthly rate is $550; 10% discount for AAA, AARP, FMCA, & Good Sam members; Discounts and weekly rate do not apply to the riverfront sites (I'd choose site 56 if I wanted a riverfront site - it's a back-in that almost parallels the river). Our stay was at weekly (non-river) rate and was $204 including tax.
Other Factors: Very nice owners and workampers; Rooftop satellite was no problem, but it could be in some sites with cottonwood trees; Bathhrooms were older but in good shape; They don't have their own website, but they are listed on coloradodirectory.com. Free Wi-Fi, but may not reach all sites. At 7100 feet elevation. Fly-fishing right from the campground. Pond with paddle boats. Well-stocked store with groceries and RV supplies.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
There were only a few rigs in the park while we were there. The sound of the river was great and helped muffle road noise. Mostly pull-through sites for larger rigs. The price is a little high for us, and they don't have 50 amp service. Of course 50 amp service isn't really necessary at 7,100 feet elevation. With only a few rigs in the campground when we were there, I think it gave us an illusion of spaciousness. I'm sure it is prettier in the summer, but probably a bit more claustrophobic as well. :)

Pagosa Riverside Campground

Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List




Journal Site 109: Mom & Pop RV Park - Overall Rating: 4

Dates: November 12, 2008 - November 13, 2008
Location: Located just off U.S. Hwy 64 in Farmington in the northwest corner of New Mexico.
Our Site: 32
GPS Coordinates: 36.72007N, 108.1873W
Reason Selected: A good stopping point on our way from Pagosa Springs, CO to eastern Arizona. Gallup, New Mexico would probably have been a better stop from a distance standpoint, but having been through Gallup, we try to avoid staying there. This park was closest to our intended route through Farmington.
Setting: A small 40 site RV park near busy roads in an industrial section of town. A single loop with back-in sites around the perimeter and a few very long pull-through sites in the center. A few trees, but basically a place to park.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Lots of room to maneuver. Wide road through the little park. The pull-through sites are very long, but there are only a few of them. The back-in sites can hold larger fifth wheels, but there is not much room to park a tow vehicle. Roads getting in and out are fine.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 30-amp electric.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: $20 a night including tax. Forgot to ask about discounts.
Other Factors: Satellite is no problem. Pop is a very nice guy and gave us a map of the area, directions to attractions and restaurants, and made recommendations. If you like model trains, there is a big set-up outside the office and one inside as well. No website. Shower house is old, but clean and functional. Looks like there are several folks in the back-in sites that may be living in the park temporarily while working locally - that makes for noisy mornings with trucks starting, doors slamming, etc.
OVERALL RATING: 4 (out of ten)
This place served our purpose for a night. The friendly host and the easy in-and-out were nice. But it is certainly not a place we would stay for a week or so. I would have given it a 5 if not for the noise from the surrounding area and roads. But that is certainly a factor when just looking for a place to sleep.


Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 110: Crystal Forest Gift Shop - Overall Rating: 5

Dates: November 13, 2008 - November 15, 2008
Location: Eastern Arizona on U.S. 180 about 19 miles southeast of I-40 Exit 286. The exit is about halfway between Flagstaff, AZ and Gallup, NM.
Our Site: 4
GPS Coordinates: 34.7927N, 109.8909W
Reason Selected: Free camping at south entrance of Petrified Forest National Park.
Setting: It is basically a gift shop parking lot with a wide open, flat field between it and the national park. Though it wasn't bad while we were there, I imagine the wind can be pretty wicked.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of space for rigs of all sizes.
Hook-ups: There are a few 30-amp electric sites, but there are no water hook-ups, there is no place to take on water, and there is no dump station.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts:Free parking unless you use the electric hook-ups which are $10 per night
Other Factors: No website. Looked like one abandoned RV. Gift shop attendant was very nice - she even offered to pick up some groceries for us while she was in town. There is a bathroom inside the gift shop during business hours, but no bathrooms or showers dedicated to the RV parking. Satellite internet/TV are no problem.
OVERALL RATING: 5 (out of ten)
I ordinarily wouldn't rate a parking lot like this a five. But, if you are self-contained and don't use the electric hook-up, it is free and really convenient to the south entrance of Petrified Forest. Keep in mind that most people use the north entrance to the park where the main visitors center is located. But the friendly staff (much nicer to me than the gift shop across the road that also has parking), convenient location, and price make it deserving of a 5 if your sole intent is to visit the Petrified Forest for a day or two.

Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List




Journal Site 111: Roper Lake State Park, Cottonwood Campground - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: November 15, 2008 - November 25, 2008
Location: Eastern Arizona just south of the town of Safford off U.S. Hwy 191.
Our Site: 14 & 16
GPS Coordinates: 32.7551N, 109.7066W
Reason Selected: Looked like a nice, warm stopping point on our way from Petrified Forest to Benson, AZ for the holidays.
Setting: Two campgrounds sitting on 30 acre lake with mountain views. The campgrounds themselves don't have a lot of beauty, but they are set up so that you can enjoy views of the lake and/or mountains. Most sites are out in the open, but there are a few with trees or desert shrubs.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Nice big sites in most cases. The sites are plenty large, but some can be a challenge to get into for the biggest rigs.
Hook-ups: The Hacienda Campground has water and 20/30 amp electric. The Cottonwood Campground has water and 20/30/50 amp hook-ups. No sites have sewer, but there is an easily accessed dump station on the way out of the park.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts:$16
Other Factors: The Arizona State Park websites are pretty good at giving information on camping. However, the website for Roper Lake does not indicate how many sites are reservable and how many are first come, first served. Bathrooms/showers were very nice and clean. Satellite was no problem. Really a beautiful, small state park, that is convenient to a good-sized town with plenty of restaurants and a Walmart.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
We really enjoyed our stay at this campground. We planned on 3 or 4 days and stayed 10. Our first site, #14 is the best in both campgrounds. However, it is a reservable site and we didn't have reservations, so we had to move. There are 6 or 8 non-reservable sites with great views, so we quickly snagged one of those when it came open. By the way, there is a decent public golf course that's just a few miles from the campground. Sites can only be reserved by calling the park directly, but many of the better sites are non-reservable. There aren't many reasons to be in Safford, AZ, but we are sure glad we went out of our way to visit. There are some nice nature opportunities in the area and we'd go out of our way again to stay there.


Roper Lake State Park

Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 112: SKP Saguaro Co-Op Park - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: November 25, 2008 - January 8, 2009
Location: A few miles off of I-10 in Benson in southeastern Arizona. About an hour east of Tucson.
Our Site: 270
GPS Coordinates: 31.94408N, 110.2917W
Reason Selected: Escapees RV Club allows us acces to various parks across the country. We enjoy the family-like atmosphere, especially during the holidays. We decided to spend Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Years at this park and take advantage of the monthly rate.
Setting: Several rows of close but large RV sites most of which have casitas and landscaping. It is a co-op and people buy lifetime memberships and live on the sites. Fortunately, there is pretty strict management and enforcement of rules to keep things looking nice. There are good views of the Dragoon Mountains to the east, but it is really just a huge RV park that doesn't have the natural setting we prefer.
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of room for all size rigs. The sites are 75 feet wide and the roads are wide and paved.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amp electric, water, and sewer
Laundry: Nice on-site laundry with several washers and dryers.
Price & Discounts: Rates are for Escapee Club Members. Nightly $15.50 plus tax and metered electric; Weekly - $93.00 plus tax and metered electric; Monthly - $280 plus tax and metered electric; Dry Camping - $5 per night with three night maximum
Other Factors: Easy satellite access and staff was very friendly as you would expect at an Escapees park. Website is pretty good. Loads of activities in the large, wonderful clubhouse. Easy access to interstate, post office, Safeway, and Walmart.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
This type of "campground" is not really what we look for. However, the family-like atmosphere and activities are a nice change of pace for the holidays. You can't find much to complain about regarding the facilities. The monthly rate is hard to beat, but the metered electric is a bit costly and can be surprising when you check-out if you aren't careful.

SKP Saguaro Co-Op


Back To 2008 Campground Reviews List