Our 2007 Campground Reviews

Here you will find reviews of the campgrounds we visited in 2007.

For more information on how we choose a campground and on our review criteria, go to our Main Campground Reviews page.

These reviews are shown in the order we visited the campgrounds during the year. To see campground reviews by state with the most recent visits at the top of the page, go to our Main Campground Reviews page and click on the state by state links.

Also, note that these reviews indicate a "Journal Site" number. This number corresponds to the number of the stop since we began our adventure and also to the number on the Map Of Our Travels on our Journal page. You may be able to find more information about the campground or the area by clicking on Our Journal and locating entries for the dates indicated for each campground.





Direct Links To 2007 Reviews Below

Santa Ana National Wildlife Refuge Volunteer RV Compound, Alamo, TX - December 2006

Choke Canyon State Park, Calliham Campground, Three Rivers, TX - April 2007

Admiralty RV Resort, San Antonio, TX - April 2007

Parkview Riverside RV Park, Concan, TX - April 2007

Seminole Canyon State Park, Comstock, TX - May 2007

Big Bend Motor Inn & RV Campground, Terlingua, TX - May 2007

Davis Mountains State Park, Fort Davis, TX - May 2007

Brantley Lake State Park, Carlsbad, NM - May 2007

Sumner Lake State Park, Fort Sumner, NM - June 2007

Santa Fe Skies RV Park, Santa Fe, NM - June 2007

Cottonwood RV Park, Espanola, NM - June 2007

Ghost Ranch Campground, Abiquiu, NM - June 2007

Riana Campground - Abiquiu Lake, Abiquiu, NM - June 2007

Navajo Lake State Park - Cottonwood Campground, Navajo Dam, NM - June 2007

Echo Basin Ranch, Mancos, CO - June 2007

San Luis State Park, Mosca, CO - July 2007

Diamond Campground & RV Park, Woodland Park, CO - July 2007

Snackmaster (Wes) & Jan's Farm, Tribune, KS - August 2007

Marion Lake Corps of Engineers Recreation Area - Cottonwood Point Campground, Marion, KS - August 2007

Stockton State Park, Dadeville, MO - August 2007

Alley Spring Campground, Ozark National Scenic Riverways, Alley Spring, MO - August 2007

Hillman Ferry Campground, Land Between The Lakes, Great Rivers, KY - August 2007

Private Horse Farm, Louisville, KY - September 2007

Mammoth Cave National Park Campground, Mammoth Cave, KY - October 2007

David Crockett State Park, Lawrenceburg, TN - October 2007

Piney Grove Corps of Engineers Campground, Booneville, MS - November 2007

Frog Level RV Park, Philadelphia, MS - November 2007

Tickfaw State Park Campground, Springfield, LA - November 2007

Private Residence, Lake Charles, LA - November 2007

Brazoria National Wildlife Refuge Volunteer Village, Freeport, TX - November 2007





Journal Site 57: Santa Ana National Wildlife Refuge Volunteer Compound - Marinoff Tract - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: November 29, 2006 - April 16, 2007
Location: Seven miles south of Alamo, TX. About 2 miles west of FM 907 on Hwy 281 in the Lower Rio Grande Valley
GPS Coordinates: 26.08340N, 98.16437W
Our Site Number: N/A
Reason Selected: Site provided as part of our package as Tram Drivers/Interpreters for the Santa Ana National Wildlife Refuge for the winter of 2006/2007
Setting: Within a fenced compound with woods on two sides and farm fields on two sides; About a half mile down a gravel road on Refuge property
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amp electric
Laundry: Very nice three washer/three dryer set-up
Price & Discounts: FREE in exchange for volunteer hours
Other Factors: Biggest RV sites with the most space in between in the entire Rio Grande Valley; Also free propane, free laundry, free local phone service, and free drinking water provided; Lots of bird activity right outside the rig
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
Large paved sites with full hook-ups on a wonderful wildlife refuge. Great winter climate.


Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 58: Choke Canyon State Park, Calliham Campground - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: April 16, 2007 - April 19, 2007
Location: Twelve miles west of Three Rivers, TX on Texas Highway 72. About 90 miles south of San Antonio.
GPS Coordinates: 28.48954N, 98.34311W
Our Site Number: 130
Reason Selected: Good stopping point on our way from the Rio Grande Valley to San Antonio. Also, recommended by fellow RVers that had workamped there before and thought we would like it.
Setting: Campground is at the end of an 1100 acre peninsula that juts out into the 26,000 acre Choke Canyon Reservoir. There are trees within the campground with a wide range of sun, shaded, and partially shaded sites. All sites have a view of the water. Nothing but lake around the campground. Very quiet with deer wandering in and out of the campground.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig and the sites are spaced far apart.
Hook-ups: Water & 50 amp electric only. No sewer, but there is an easily accessible dump station on the way out.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: Sites are $16 per day, but there is an additional $3 per person per day state park fee which made our total $22 per day; You can get a Texas State Park annual pass for $75 for a couple which is worthwhile if you are staying more than 12 days a year at Texas state park campgrounds.
Other Factors: Website is decent with pretty good information, but no photos. Texas State Parks are now using ReserveAmerica for reservations - yuck!. Office personnel were friendly. Rooftop satellite was no problem. Bathhouses are on the older side, but were pretty good and very clean.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
There was just something about this campground. It should have been one we liked a lot. But it was not as pretty as some others, the lake views were not as good as some others. It just did not have the "it" factor for us. Perhaps a different site would have helped or perhaps we just needed to stay longer. I think site 133 might have pushed our rating up at least a half point. We will shoot for that one if we come back again and we definitely would stay at this campground again if in the area. Oh, by the way, don't go looking for a canyon - it's under water. :)


Choke Canyon State Park

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 59: Admiralty RV Resort - Overall Rating: 6.5

Dates: April 19, 2007 - April 23, 2007
Location: On the west side of San Antonio between I-410 and Loop 1604. Just off Highway 151. One mile southeast of Sea World on the same road as the main entrance.
GPS Coordinates: 29.44746N, 98.69196W
Our Site Number: 410
Reason Selected: We wanted to stop for a few days and visit our favorite big city on our way to Concan, TX and then to Big Bend National Park. We chose Admiralty because we had good friends staying there at the time and we knew we could use the transit system to get around.
Setting: Campground is in the middle of a quiet suburban neighborhood. There are trees within the park, but the sites are jammed in as you can tell by the photo.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig but there is little room between sites and pull-through sites are not long enough for really big rigs and a toad/tow vehicle.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amp electric.
Laundry: Facilities appeared to be nice, but we didn't use them.
Price & Discounts: Daily rates of $32 - $45; Weekly rates of $192 - $270; Monthly rates of $435 - $540. They accept Good Sams, FMCA, Escapees, Passport America, and just about any other discount you can think of. But ALL of them are 10% off daily rates. We paid $32.40 a day for a $36 site with our discount.
Other Factors: Website is very good. Resort is a short walk to an Express bus route that goes downtown - passes can be purchased at the resort. Free shuttles to Sea World. No problem with rooftop satellite.
OVERALL RATING: 6.5 (out of ten)
There is no overlooking the amenities of this "resort". There are lots of great things available like the huge swimming pool, an adult jacuzzi, fitness room, store, etc. It's also a great base from which to explore San Antonio. Others would probably rate this RV park much higher. However, these types of resorts are just not our thing. The sites here are way too close together, the setting is not our style, and the price is way more than we would normally pay. Therefore, under our criteria, we just couldn't give it a higher rating.


Admiralty RV Resort

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 60: Parkview Riverside RV Park - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: April 23, 2007 - May 7, 2007
Location: On County Road 350 a couple miles east of U.S. Highway 83 in the Texas Hill Country River Region. About 30 miles north of Uvalde and 9 miles south of Leakey. Near Garner State Park - actually on the Frio River across from Garner.
GPS Coordinates: 29.58031N, 99.72973W
Our Site Number: 25 & 19
Reason Selected: We were attending a nature festival called Nature Quest in Concan, TX. They are numerous RV sites in the area in addition to the many sites at Garner State Park. However, this park has full hook-ups, sits on a beautiful river, has a great Passport America rate prior to the summer season, and came highly recommended.
Setting: Campground is in the middle of nowhere and sits right on the beautiful, clear Frio River. There are numerous large live oaks within the park and bald cypress trees along the river. It's as much of a natural setting as we have found for an RV park. There is another campround to the south, vacant land to the north, the river and Garner State Park to the west, and the barely used country road to the east.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Can handle any size rig. No problem.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amp electric.
Laundry: Facilities were very nice. Five washers and dryers in an air conditioned facility.
Price & Discounts: Summer rates (Memorial Day through Labor Day): Daily - $40; Weekly - $245. Several discounts available - 10% off daily rates in the summer. Winter rates (After Labor day but before Memorial Day): Daily - $28; Weekly - $151; Monthly - $330. In the winter, in addition to the normal 10% discounts, a 25% Escapees discount is available as well as a 50% Passport America discount.
Other Factors: Website is very good. The owner and staff are extremely nice and welcoming. We had no problem finding sites for our rooftop satellite access. We could not get cell coverage, but the park does have Wi-Fi.
OVERALL RATING: 8.0 (out of ten)
We loved our stay at Parkview - our favorite "RV park" to date. It was so peaceful and quiet and natural looking. However, the families from the state park across the river do increase the noise on the weekends (and I'm guessing that just increases during the summer). We had several of species of birds coming to our feeders including swarms of hummingbirds. We also had tree squirrels, rock squirrels, armadillos, and jackrabbits in the campground. And deer are everywhere outside the park - you have to be very careful when driving at night. There are 25 sites on the river and we would recommend 21 - 25. If we had not been on a river site we might have only rated our stay a 7.5. There are several sites that are a bit closer together than we would like, and many sites are not all that level. But the setting and the $14 a night Passport America price during our two-week stay more than made up for those minor issues. We would definitely stay here again and have no problem encouraging others stay here as well.


Parkview Riverside RV Park

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 61: Seminole Canyon State Park - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: May 7, 2007 - May 11, 2007
Location: On U.S. Highway 90, 9 miles west of Comstock in the southwestern part of Texas west of Del Rio.
GPS Coordinates: 29.69504N, 101.32060W
Our Site Number: E1
Reason Selected: We were traveling from the Texas Hill Country on our way to Big Bend National Park. It was a perfect stopping point on the way. Just about every RVer on their way to Big Bend stops here (at least those of us that prefer state parks over private parks).
Setting: The campground sits on the highest point in the state park, so the views are 360 degrees across the Chihuahuan Desert landscape. You have distant canyon views. There are two loops with the bathhouse and the dumpstation in between. The back loop sits higher, but there are more power lines in the views. There is nothing but desert and state park all around.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Can handle any size rig but the bigger the rig, the fewer sites available. Because the park is pretty remote, the sites are rarely full.
Hook-ups: Twenty-three campsites with water & 30 amp electric. No sewer sites, but the dump station was nice. It was a bit unusual to have the dump station in the middle of the campground rather than on the way out.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: $14 a night PLUS $3 entrance fee per day per person. So the effective rate for 2 people is $20. You can get a Texas State Park annual pass for $60 which is worthwhile if you are staying more than 10 days a year at Texas state park campgrounds and covers those pesky entrance fees.
Other Factors: Website is decent with pretty good information, but no photos. Texas State Parks use ReserveAmerica for reservations - yuck!. Office personnel were a mixed bag - some very friendly and helpful and some that were just collecting a check. Rooftop satellite was no problem. Bathhouse is one of the better ones we have seen in a state park. I was quite impressed with the cleanliness and condition. We could not get cell coverage even with our amplifier.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
I really enjoyed our stay at Seminole Canyon. I don't think Linda liked it quite so much. But we had horrible weather and the campground is quite exposed to storms, so her nerves were a bit frazzled at times. But we had a great site and the only noise was from the little bit of traffic from Highway 90. The night skies were gorgeous (once the storm clouds blew out). The sites are very well spaced although the front loop had much more vegetation between sites than the back loop. I highly recommend our site, E1. So, we compromised my 8 and her 7 and ended up with this 7.5. :)


Seminole Canyon State Park

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 62: Big Bend Motor Inn & RV Campground - Overall Rating: 5.5

Dates: May 11, 2007 - May 18, 2007
Location: On Texas Highway 118 in Terlingua 3 miles west of the western entrance to Big Bend National Park.
GPS Coordinates: 29.32772N, 103.533W
Our Site Number: 93A
Reason Selected: Big Bend is an 800,000 acre park and it requires a lot of driving to see each side of it. The best option for camping is in the Chisos Mountain Basin in the middle of the park. Unfortunately, because of the roads to get there, only rigs of around 20 feet can get in. The choices for big rigs within the park are in Rio Grande Village on the far southeast side of the park and the Cottonwood Campground on the far southwest side of the park. Rio Grande Village has a tight parking lot with full hook-ups and a more natural setting but no hook-ups. Cottonwood is very remote with no hook-ups. Either choice leaves you with lots of back and forth driving and few choices for food, necessities, and diesel. Therefore we opted for this dump which was the lesser of a lot of evils.
Setting: The campground sits behind an old hotel and gas station. Behind the RV park, there is a decent nine-hole golf course with pretty good views of mountains. But other than that, the setting isn't much. Don't let our photo and the website photos fool you - it ain't that nice.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Can handle any size rig but with 131 sites, and maybe ten rigs in the campground, they told us there were only about 10 sites that had 50 amps that were large enough for our fifth wheel and four slides. And all 10 of those sites are in a horribly ugly location. My photo makes it look better than it is.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups but not all sites had 50 amps.
Laundry: Lots of machines in a laundry also used by the public - not bad at all.
Price & Discounts: Weekly rate of $165 and a daily rate of $27 I think it was.
Other Factors: The website entices you with a couple of pictures but it has absolutely no substance. It was clear that there isn't much reinvestment going on as the website, and especially the campground, could use some updating. Office personnel were nice enough if you could get past the smell of stale smoke in the office. Rooftop satellite was no problem. Didn't even look at the bathhouses, but I know you had to pay for showers. We did have cell coverage but our NOAA weather radio couldn't pick up a signal. There was a small grocery, gas station with diesel, and diner on-site, and that was important. Didn't play the golf course, so can't comment on that other than to say it had good views.
OVERALL RATING: 5.5 (out of ten)
We hated staying at this place. So why did I give it a 5.5? Well, in the overall scheme of things and the choices available, the options are really limited for exploring Big Bend and the Big Bend Ranch State Park. I gave it a 5.5 because of location more than anything - it was closer to things we wanted to see and drives we wanted to take. And it did have diesel, a grocery, laundry, more eating choices, and full hook-ups. Still, Linda would have given it a 5 tops. It was the first campground/RV park we have been in where we kept the blinds closed the whole time. I wanted to do more at Big Bend, but the lack of good places to stay will probably keep us away for a long time. If you go, prepare to drive A LOT no matter where you stay.


Big Bend Motor Inn & RV Campground

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 63: Davis Mountains State Park - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: May 18, 2007 - May 28, 2007
Location: On Texas Highway 118 about four miles outside of Fort Davis in southwestern Texas.
GPS Coordinates: 30.59495N, 103.93472W
Our Site Number: 13
Reason Selected: This state park was recommended by several people. Also, it was on our way from Big Bend to New Mexico.
Setting: The campground sits down in a valley between two small mountain ridges. Some sites have trees and some are out in the open. But all are quiet (except for the park road construction that was going on at the time).
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Can handle any size rig but the bigger the rig, the fewer sites available. All full-hook-up sites are curved pull-throughs.
Hook-ups: Twenty-seven full hook-up sites with 50 amps. There are also some water and electric sites with pretty nice settings.
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: $20 a night PLUS $3 entrance fee per day per person. So the effective rate for 2 people is $26 for full hook-ups. Electric & water sites are $15 plus entrance fees or $21 for two. You can get a Texas State Park annual pass for $60 which is worthwhile if you are staying more than 10 days a year at Texas state park campgrounds and covers those pesky entrance fees.
Other Factors: Website is decent with pretty good information, but no photos. Texas State Parks uses ReserveAmerica for reservations - yuck!. Office personnel were very nice and even let me have a package shipped directly to the park. Rooftop satellite was no problem, but might have been in some sites. Bathhouse was clean and in pretty good shape. We could get cell coverage but only with our amplifier.
OVERALL RATING: 8.0 (out of ten)
Linda liked this campground better than I did. Birds play a big part for her and we had lots of birds. She was filling three hummingbird feeders and two seed feeders each day. For some reason I liked the Seminole Canyon campground better. The way the pull-through sites are set up, your rig's driver's side is next to the road effectively using the RV as a privacy barrier. Also, deer and javelinas roam the campground. Unfortunately, they have been fed and they are a little too friendly which can be dangerous. I probably would have given this one a 7.5 and Linda gave it an 8. I bumped it up to an 8 because of the full hook-ups.


Davis Mountains State Park

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 64: Brantley Lake State Park - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: May 28, 2007 - June 4, 2007
Location: Southeastern New Mexico, 12 miles north of Carlsbad on U.S. HWY 285 then east 4 1/2 miles on Eddy County Road 30
Our Site: 42
GPS Coordinates: 32.56332N, 104.3826W
Reason Selected: Closest campground to Carlsbad Caverns National Park that we thought we would like. Also, had just been visited by readers that thought we would like it.
Setting: This is a high desert campground that sits on a bluff above Brantley Lake and Dam. Though it is mostly open, there is vegetation between some sites for a little privacy. Each site does have a nice shelter. There are lots of birds and wildlife in the campground. My only complaint about the setting is that the campground is terribly exposed to weather, especially high winds
Guidebooks: None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of space for rigs of all sizes though it can be tight on weekends and holidays when locals have boats parked alongside the loops. The toughest part for big rigs is making it past the visitor center/office where the driveway is narrow and there is a very tough left hand turn where it's hard not to go scrape a curb
Hook-ups: Three sites have full hook-ups with 50 amp electric; All the rest have water and electric, but only 19 of the 51 total sites have 50 amps
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts:$14 per day
Other Factors: Website is lacking with respect to the campground as most New Mexico State Park websites are. Staff was very courteous and helpful. No problem at all for satellite. Two of the three full hook-up sites are non-reservable. The campground is divided into two loops. The northern loop has 26 reservable sites and the two non-reservable full hook-up sites. The south loop has 22 non-reservable sites. Both loops have plenty of great sites with wonderful views. The bathhouse is very clean but they have the institutional stainless steel toilets and the push button showers that go off quickly.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
We loved this campground and our site. We had the choice of a full hook-up site, but chose a water/electric site instead for its view, privacy, and size. The campground was well maintained and the mix of landscaping and the natural desert habitat was done well. Birds, including roadrunners, were all over as were jackrabbits and cottontails. But you do have to watch for the occasional snake, too. The only reason I didn't give this campground an 8 was because of the long 4 1/2 mile drive to get to it and the bathroom fixtures and showers. It is a good hour drive to Carlsbad Caverns. But we still loved it and would stay there again.

Brantley Lake State Park


Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 65: East Side Campground, Sumner Lake State Park - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: June 4, 2007 - June 7, 2007
Location: East central New Mexico; On NM State Road 203; Six miles east of US HWY 84 between Fort Sumner and Santa Rosa
Our Site: 34
GPS Coordinates: 34.61439N, 104.3773W
Reason Selected: Looked like a nice stopping point on our way from Carlsbad to the Santa Fe area
Setting: Beautiful & private campground on Sumner Lake; The East Side campground is all first-come, first-served and it is before you get to the State Park main entrance and main campground. Combination of open and treed areas, but mostly open
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: It's not the best for big rigs, but if you go slow and are careful, big rigs can get in.
Hook-ups: Some water & electric sites; no sewer and no dump station - the dump station is in the main campground four miles away; Also, hook-ups were in unusual locations near front of sites, so an extension cord was needed.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts:$10 for no hook-ups and $14 for electric
Other Factors: This campground is shown on a map on the website, but there is no information. We only knew about it because of a call to the state park and an informative discussion with a ranger. It was the better of the two campgrounds in my opinion even without the dump station. Also, pit toilets only - no flush toilets or showers. Nice adobe-style shelters at the electric sites. Satellite was no problem. Lake access and boat ramp at the campground.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
We really enjoyed our brief stay at this campground. It is very remote, quiet, and beautiful with lake views and sunsets. It's not the easiest place to get in and out of. Also, with only pit toilets and having to drive to four miles to the dump station, I had to knock it down a half point. We had some unbelievably windy weather and didn't get to enjoy our brief stay as much as we would have liked. This place is way off the beaten path which is how we like it.

Sumner Lake State Park

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 66: Santa Fe Skies RV Park - Overall Rating: 6.5

Dates: June 7, 2007 - June 11, 2007
Location: Just south of Santa Fe about a mile west of I-25
Our Site: Aster - 5
GPS Coordinates: 35.58904N, 106.0444W
Reason Selected: Easy access to Santa Fe area attractions and a top rated RV Park for beauty in "Frommers Best RV & Tent Campgrounds in the USA"
Setting: Several rows of close together gravel pull-through sites. Only a few sites have enough room to put out awning and sit outside. Sites with a concrete patio cost more according to the website. RV Park sits on top of a hill and has no trees. Sites are terraced, but only a few sites have good views of the surrounding mountains - of course those sites are the most exposed to the weather.
Guidebooks: Used Frommers, but was quite disappointed in this RV Park that is WAY overrated for beauty
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of room for all size rigs
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amp electric, water, and sewer
Laundry: Nice on-site laundry with several washers and dryers - a bit pricy though
Price & Discounts: Rates range from $30 - $35 plus tax. Ten percent discount for Good Sam & FMCA members
Other Factors: Easy satellite access and staff was friendly. Website is pretty good. Bathhouse is immaculate - like a fine hotel. Easy access to interstate.
OVERALL RATING: 6.5 (out of ten)
I really disliked this RV Park. It was claustrophobic. It did have good amenities, full hook-ups, and easy access to area attractions. It probably deserved a 7, but I knocked it down because of price. I'll try to avoid this one unless we have a need for a quick overnight stop.

Santa Fe Skies RV Park


Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 67: Cottonwood RV Park - Overall Rating: 6

Dates: June 11, 2007 - June 14, 2007
Location: About 25 miles northwest of Santa Fe on U.S. HWY 84 just south of Espanola
Our Site: 36
GPS Coordinates: 35.98482N, 106.04737W
Reason Selected: Selected as a base camp to visit Bandelier National Monument and to play a little golf before heading farther to the northwest.
Setting: The RV park sits back off the highway and is basically one long row of pull-through spaces. The park sits between two farms so it is fairly quiet the further you go back. There are several cottonwood trees in and around the park. The gravel sites are pretty close together.
Guidebooks: No factor. I just relied on internet research.
Big Rig Friendly: Big rigs can get in pretty easily, but the six sites at the very back of the park are the best. Even those pull-throughs are not long enough for end to end parking of tow vehicles or toads with the RV
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amp electric, water, and sewer
Laundry: On-site laundry with two washers/dryers in office building at very front of the park
Price & Discounts: April - October $23.95 (includes $2 surcharge for air conditioner; November - March $19.95 + $4 for electric heater; Weekly - stay six nights get seventh night free; Monthly - $400 plus electric
Other Factors: Satellite access is fine as long as you get site that doesn't have one of the tall cottonwood trees; No one in the office most of the time, but the young lady running things was polite and accomodating. Bathhouse was all the way at the front of the park with the laundry. Bathrooms, including showers, looked brand new. Only a mile away from a fabulous golf course - Black Mesa. Several casinos a short drive away as well.
OVERALL RATING: 6.0 (out of ten)
This is not a place we would normally stay with the side-by-side pull-throughs and close together rigs. But it served its purpose, had full hook-ups, and was reasonably quiet. It has its share of permanent rigs but those few pull-throughs in the very back are not too bad. This place would never be more than a 6 for us, but it could fall to a 5 with just a tiny bit of neglect.

Cottonwood RV Park


Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 68: Ghost Ranch Campground - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: June 14, 2007 - June 17, 2007
Location: About 40 miles north of Espanola on U.S. Hwy 84 in north central New Mexico in the middle of some of the most beautiful scenery you will ever see
Our Site: 69 (I think)
GPS Coordinates: 36.33394N, 106.4742W
Reason Selected: While in Santa Fe at an RV "Resort" we were looking to get away from it all. I happened to find Ghost Ranch on the internet. It looked like our kind of place.
Setting: Ghost Ranch is fabulous and the campground sits in a pretty valley. However, Ghost Ranch has a lot of cabins, dorms, and casitas for conferences and the campground (at least the RV part) is sort of plopped down behind them. There are only four sites for rigs over 30 feet and they are just side-by-side gravel spots that have not been very well kept. I had to do some weed pulling to get to the hook-ups.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Like I said, there are only four sites for rigs over 30 feet. And the 1 mile gravel road is not much fun to get from HWY 84 to the campground.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: On-site laundry in the single bathhouse used by the entire campground
Price & Discounts: $26 per day with full hook-ups and $19 for electric only; no discounts
Other Factors: Ghost Ranch has beautiful scenery and some fabulous trails to hike. It is where the artist Georgia O'Keefe fell in love with northern New Mexico. It is a place to relax and connect spiritually with the earth. The Ranch is owned by the Presbyterian Church. However, the campground is old and it is not really made for RVs and it is next to sort of a high traffic area for a ranch out in the middle of nowhere. The campground is great for pop-ups and tents that can get further back into the valley away from the activity. The website has very little information about the campground, and once there, I had to drag information out of the staff - they seemed pre-occupied with the groups at the Ranch which was understandable.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
I'm giving this a 7 simply because of the uniqueness of the terrain, the fabulous hiking trails, and the beautiful scenery. Oh yeah, and the full hook-ups. :) But the campground itself is not much and probably deserves something more like a 6 or lower.

Ghost Ranch


Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 69: Riana Campground - Abiquiu Lake (Corps of Engineers Project) - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: June 17, 2007 - June 20, 2007
Location: About a mile off U.S. Hwy 84 in northcentral New Mexico 30 miles north of Espanola
Our Site: 3
GPS Coordinates: 36.2448N, 106.4279W
Reason Selected: We were visiting Ghost Ranch about nine miles away and we drove into this campground to take a look. It was beautiful with the view of the lake and mountains. So we decided to park here a few days before moving north.
Setting: This campground sits on a 150-foot bluff above Abiquiu Lake; It slopes down toward the lake so all campsites have a view; The only noise you can hear is from the distant motorboats on the lake
Guidebooks: I had seen this campground in "Frommers Best RV & Tent Campground in the USA", but the drive-through was the deciding factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of room for the biggest of rigs
Hook-ups: Water and 30 amp electric - no sewer hook-ups; dump station is not the most convenient in the world, but at least there is one
Laundry: No laundry facilities
Price & Discounts: $14; half-price with America The Beautiful Senior Pass
Other Factors: All sites offer easy satellite access; Contracted campground hosts were fabulous and very friendly; The website has limited info, but the reservations site at least gives information on size of the sites; Bathhouses had flush toilets and showers, but they are in need of updating; there is no lake access from the campground, but there is a day use area and boat ramp nearby; Odd number sites are reservable and even numbered sites are non-reservable; Site #1 is fantastic if you can get it, but the shelter is a little close to the pad, so it's a little tighter than it needs to be and you have to make sure your slideouts clear. Site #2 and #4 are great non-reservable sites.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
This campground had incredible views and gorgeous sunsets. There is no shade and I suspect the wind could get wicked, but we REALLY liked this campground. There is nothing around and it is just a great place to relax. Well, there is fantastic scenery just a short drive away that you will see nowhere else, but there are no cities for miles. I don't know if we will ever find ourselves on that stretch of U.S. Hwy 84 again, but if we do, we will know where to stay. :)

Abiquiu Lake - Riana Campground


Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 70: Navajo Lake State Park, Cottonwood Campground - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: June 20, 2007 - June 25, 2007
Location: In northwest New Mexico 40 miles northeast of Farmington. One mile from the intersection of NM Hwy 511 and NM Hwy 173. West one mile to gravel/dirt road drive.
Our Site: 36
GPS Coordinates: 36.81231N, 107.67610W
Reason Selected: We were looking to visit some RV-Dreams readers in the Farmington area before we headed north to Colorado. This was the only place in the area we thought would be to our liking.
Setting: The campground sits a mile and a half back a rough road. It sits in a valley between rock walls with the San Juan River running around the campground. The sites don't sit on the river but it is a short walk. It is a single loop with sites on the outside and inside of the loop. The inside sites are separated by a large cottonwood grove.
Guidebooks: No factor. Just web research and a couple referrals from RV-Dreams readers.
Big Rig Friendly: Can handle big rigs, but the rough road getting to the campground might scare off most of them; Some sites can accomodate tow vehicle or toad end to end with RV, but most would require parking crossways for the biggest rigs
Hook-ups: 30 amp electric in some sites, but most had no hook-ups; There is a community water spigot between electric sites so you can fill up fresh water tank with hose after you park with a long hose. May need to fill up before parking if you take a no hook-up site. There is a dump station, but access is tight from one direction, so need to come in the other way if you have a large rig
Laundry: None.
Price & Discounts: $14 for electric site, $10 for no hook-ups
Other Factors: Several sites offer easy satellite access; Staff was friendly on the phone; The website has limited information about the campground - there is a little more detail if you go through the online reservation process without actually reserving; The bathhouses weren't great - a bit old and in need of updating - no showers; The road getting back to the campground is terrible and folks we talked to said it is usually worse
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
During our stay, it was extremely hot and buggy. But it was the type of place we would normally like a lot. We didn't get a chance to fish in the San Juan River which has a great reputation for fly-fishing. We did have more hummingbirds at this campground than anywhere we have stayed to that point. We might have to come back some day at a better time of the year - our only hesitancy would be that blasted mile and half road to get to the campground. :)

New Mexico State Parks - Navajo Lake State Park


Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 71: Echo Basin Ranch - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: June 25, 2007 - July 9, 2007
Location: Soutwest Colorado. Off Hwy 160 about 30 miles west of Durango and 3 miles east of Mancos.
GPS Coordinates: 37.39553N, 108.24677W
Our Site Number: 67
Reason Selected: Looked online for a natural setting in the Durango, Colorado area. Happened across this possibility in our research.
Setting: Way out in the middle of nowhere. Most sites are wooded with tall pines, but there are open sites as well. There is no brush between sites for privacy and the spacing between sites varies greatly. From our site, we had a view of Mesa Verde to the west, the La Plata Mountains to the east, and wide open pastures to the north behind our rig. There are several cabins and the ranch looks like an attempt to become more of a resort than it can afford to be. Sites are all gravel. But it is scenic, quiet, and remote. Bears were spotted in the campground a couple of nights we were there.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig, but there is a 3.5 mile drive back a fairly narrow, windy road to get to the ranch. Fortunately, there is almost no traffic.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: Very nice.
Price & Discounts: $35 Nightly rate; $220 Weekly ($31 a night); $630 Monthly ($21 a night). These are 2008 prices which have gone up considerably since we were there. We paid a $177 weekly rate which came out to about $25 a night.
Other Factors: Close to Mesa Verde National Park and San Juan National Forest. Sits at 7800 feet elevation, so nice summer temperatures and no bugs. Pretty place with some great views if you choose the right spots. Some tackiness with artificial grass and flowers in some areas. Staff was friendly, but often unavailable as their concentration seemed to be on catering and group events. Swimming pool and hot tub, but the pool heater was broken when we were there. Website is pretty good, but the Restaurant/Saloon are only open for private functions.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
The peace, quiet, views, remoteness, nice temps, no bugs, and full hook-ups warrant an 8. We liked it enough to change plans and stay two weeks. However, it is quite a drive to anywhere from this campground. If you just want to get away to a cool place for the summer, Echo Basin ain't bad. The management is a little lax - we had a hard time finding anyone to pay. Linda might have given it a little higher rating, but I think 8 is pretty fair.

Echo Basin Ranch

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 72: San Luis State Park - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: July 9, 2007 - July 11, 2007
Location: In the San Luis Valley. Eight miles east of Hwy 150 (Mosca) and a few miles west of the Great Sand Dunes National Park.
GPS Coordinates: 37.67842N, 105.734W
Our Site Number: 16
Reason Selected: We were looking for a place to stay on our way from Mancos, CO to Woodland Park, CO. We chose this state park because of its closeness to the Great Sand Dunes National Park.
Setting: Overlooks the San Luis Lake and the Great Sand Dunes on the eastern side of the lake. The Sangres Mountains are also part of the view to the east. The views are beautiful. The terrain is high desert with no trees. It is a remote state park and, therefore, very quiet.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig
Hook-ups: Electric hook-ups only (30 amps); Water sources are in the campground, but you need to take on water before parking in most sites. There is a dump station.
Laundry: Yes, very nice.
Price & Discounts: $18 PLUS $6 park entrance fee per day.
Other Factors: All sites have a nice little shelter over a picnic table. All sites are certainly satellite friendly. The views were nice, but the bugs were bad. And it is very windy - the harsh winds made us leave a little earlier than planned. Bathhouse was very clean. The state park website is pretty good, but there are no pictures of the campground. The camphosts were not on duty when we were there, but the contracted park managers were nice. Best campground for "it" factor near the Great Sand Dunes National Park. Unfortunately, the lake was very low and the wildlife area had closed just before we had arrived for nesting birds.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
I might have given this campground a 7.5, but Linda would probably have given it a 6.5 because of the wind. So we compromised once again and settled on the 7. It's certainly not what you think about when you visit Colorado. But its proximity to the Great Sand Dunes (a must see) and Zapata Falls, make it a very worthwhile stop.

San Luis State Park

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 73: Diamond Campground & RV Park - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: July 11, 2007 - August 10, 2007
Location: On Colorado Hwy 67 just north of Woodland Park, CO; about 20 miles from Colorado Springs
GPS Coordinates: 39.00867N, 105.0685W
Our Site Number: 175
Reason Selected: We had planned to meet up with friends of ours who were workamping at this campground. During their days off, they were helping us do an upgrade to our electrical system.
Setting:Quite wooded for an RV park near town. Lots of tall pines. Mule deer wandered through the campground daily and bears were known to visit once in awhile as well. The front of the park (east) is near Hwy 67 and is very loud. The back of the park (west) where we stayed is much quieter but backs up to a residential community beyond the privacy fence. The south side is next to commercial business and the north side is next to a wooded area that looks like will become a developed subdivision soon. Sites are very close together. Road is combination of gravel and hard-packed dirt.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig, but many sites required skill for back-ins.
Hook-ups: Full hook-up with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: Nice facility.
Price & Discounts: $27 per night plus tax; $162 per week plus tax; $450 per month (tax included) - We stayed a month just to get the better rate; $1495 seasonal for May 10 - Sept 30.
Other Factors: Very, very friendly staff (not just saying that because we knew some of them); Rooftop satellite options were very limited; Bathhouses were very clean; Website could definitely be improved; Lots of beautiful scenery and National Forest roads nearby; Cool summer temps and no bugs.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
The sites were way too close together for my liking, but the setting was better than I expected. There are lots of seasonal folks which is very understandable given the great price and wonderful summer weather. Some good community activities. Not really our cup of tea, but we liked it more than we thought we would. If you don't mind going without hook-ups, a National Forest campground a few miles up the road is more the type campground we like, but even there, there is still a lot of road noise from Hwy 67. Still, Diamond is probably the best option in the area if you want full hook-ups.

Diamond Campground & RV Park

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List




Journal Site 74: Snackmaster (Wes) & Jan's Farm - Overall Rating: N/A

Dates: August 10, 2007 - August 13, 2007
Location: Tribune, Kansas.
GPS Coordinates: Private home, so I can't give you coordinates. :)
Our Site Number: N/A
Reason Selected: Good stopping point on our way from Colorado to Kentucky. But the biggest reason we stayed here is because we were invited by wonderful folks. :)
Setting: Nice farm in the western Kansas plains. Several miles from the nearest town.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Sure. :)
Hook-ups: 50/30 amp electric and water with a place to dump nearby.
Laundry: Yes, if you ask nicely. :)
Price & Discounts: It's a secret. :)
Other Factors: What can we say? Our wonderful hosts invited us, fed us, and took us to a lovely local festival.
OVERALL RATING: N/A (out of ten)
We don't rate sites on private property.

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 75: Marion Lake Corps of Engineers Recreation Area - Cottonwood Point Campground - Overall Rating: 8.5

Dates: August 13, 2007 - August 16, 2007
Location: Marion Lake in east central Kansas; About 7 miles west of the U.S. 56 & U.S. 77 intersection.
GPS Coordinates: 38.39369N, 97.08868W
Our Site Number: 46
Reason Selected: Good stopping point on our quick trip from Colorado to Louisville, KY. It wasn't going to be a direct route, and this campground was in the line of our intended path through southeast Missouri. Also, we are quite partial to COE (Corps of Engineers) campgrounds.
Setting: The campground surrounds a cove off of the main lake. Many sites are on the cove and many are directly on the main lake with great views. Most sites are pretty shaded. Most of the campground roads are paved as are the sites. However, there are some gravel areas and sites. The sites in this campground are HUGE and very well spaced. Though it was not windy when we were there, I would suspect sites on the main lake could be quite windy.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could easily handle any size rig
Hook-ups: 50/30 amp electric and water hook-ups at about half the sites; Most other sites have 30 amp electric and NO water hook-ups; Water sources are available as is a dump station; No sewer hook-ups.
Laundry: No laundry facilities.
Price & Discounts: The 50/30 amp sites with water are $18 a night. The 30 amp sites with no water are $15 per night. America The Beautiful Senior and Access Pass 50% discounts apply.
Other Factors: There were a few places to get satellite from the roof, but it could be tricky; There are two boat ramps within the campground; There is one hiking trail; Bathhouses were okay; Staff was very nice and helpful; The COE websites are often weak and this one was no exception, but it had a little more information than some.
OVERALL RATING: 8.5 (out of ten)
This campground is awesome! We really liked the long, well-spaced sites, and waterfront options. There were some beautiful sunsets over the lake. Unfortunately, we were there in the absolute worst part of summer and it was over 100 degrees. So it was really buggy and we were not able to enjoy it as much as we wanted. The bathhouses weren't great and that caused me to knock the rating down a half point. If we are ever in that part of Kansas again, hopefully in Spring or Fall, we will definitely hang out here awhile.

Cottonwood Point Campground on Marion Lake

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 76: Stockton State Park - Overall Rating: 7.5

Dates: August 16, 2007 - August 21, 2007
Location: On the south side of Stockton Lake in southwestern Missouri near the town of Dadeville.
GPS Coordinates: 37.60788N, 93.74177W
Our Site Number: 40
Reason Selected: We were looking for a state or federal campground between Kansas and the Ozark National Scenic Riverways in southeastern Missouri, and this one fit the bill.
Setting: Two loops. The East Campground sits up on a hill with some partial lake views. The West Campground sits down in a little wooded valley (we stayed in the West Campground). Most sites are shaded. Not a lot of privacy, but the sites are well spaced. The roads and sites are all paved. The campgrounds don't have direct lake access, but there is a ramp and a marina right outside the campground.
Guidebooks: No reliance.
Big Rig Friendly: There are plenty of sites available for big rigs, but there aren't any pull-throughs. It's pretty easy to get around the loops. However, getting to the state park can involve some very narrow, windy roads depending on which way you approach.
Hook-ups: Most sites have electric. There are a few scattered 50 amp sites, but most are 30 amps. There are no water or sewer hook-ups. Water spigots are readily available in each campground to fill fresh water tanks, but the only dump station is in the East Campground.
Laundry: The facilities were not great, but at least they had them in each campground.
Price & Discounts: $16 for electric sites during peak season (April 1 - October 31). $14 for November - March. Senior discounts (Age 65 and over) and discounts for disabilites are available. The rate is $14 year round for those that meet the criteria. Sites with no hook-ups are $9 in season, $8 in the off season, and $8 year-round for those eligible for discounts.
Other Factors: There were only a few sites that would work for rooftop satellite dishes. Bathhouses were old and could be in better shape, but they were okay. Now, the Missouri State Parks websites are fabulous for RVers. For the parks with campgrounds, you can get campground maps, wonderful details about individual campsites, and even photos of each site! Missouri has the best website for RVers I have seen thus far for any state.
OVERALL RATING: 7.5 (out of ten)
Stockton State Park is for boating enthusiasts and there is not much else to do. We took our inflatable pontoon boat out on the lake. But it is still a nice, out of the way campground for a fairly peaceful stay - especially during the week.

Stockton State Park

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 77: Alley Spring Campground, Ozark National Scenic Riverways - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: August 21, 2007 - August 26, 2007
Location: On State Hwy 106 about 10 - 15 miles north of U.S. Hwy 60 in southeastern Missouri. About 10 minutes west of the town of Eminence.
GPS Coordinates: 37.14538N, 91.44883W
Our Site Number: 618
Reason Selected: We wanted to spend some time in the Ozark Scenic Riverways Park and do some canoeing. Our research showed this was the best option for our tastes and rig size.
Setting: Nine different loops out in the middle of nowhere. Some are heavily wooded and some are wide open with very little shade. The campground sits on the very lovely Jack's Ford River, but the sites themselves are not on the river. The campground roads are paved as are the sites.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Plenty of room to maneuver, but most sites are too small for big rigs - lengthwise. Trailers can get into more sites because they are able to hang over the back of the paved part of the site, but the sites are pretty short. If we would have paid attention to the site lengths on the reservation website, we probably wouldn't have stayed there.
Hook-ups: Only Loop 600 has electric. It has 50/30 amps with water. All other sites have water only (water is shut off November through April 15). No sites have sewer, but there is a dump station.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: Electric sites in Loop 600 are $17. All other sites are $14.
Other Factors: Loop 600 is pretty open. We had one of the few sites in the middle of the loop that had a little bit of shade. But the lack of shade meant we had no satellite issues. There isn't much privacy in the electric loop and the sites are pretty close together. The loop was packed on the weekend with mostly pop-ups and small travel trailers. We didn't see any other large rigs. Bathhouses were decent. We never spoke to the campground hosts, but the rangers were very nice. The website doesn't tell you much.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
We really enjoyed our stay in that part of the country. The campground was good for a little bike riding and there is a beautiful part of the Jack's Fork River accessible from the campground. We even launched our canoe from the campground for one trip. But the electrical loop we were in didn't have the "it" factor at all. It wasn't very attractive and they jam a lot of rigs into a small space, so there is no privacy. We would stay there again when visiting the Ozark National Scenic Riverways, but the campground itself isn't the draw for us. :)

Ozark National Scenic Riverways Camping

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 78: Hillman Ferry Campground - Overall Rating: 7

Dates: August 26, 2007 - August 29, 2007
Location: Located at the north end of Land Between the Lakes (Barkley Lake & Kentucky Lake) in southwestern Kentucky.
Our Site: C67
GPS Coordinates: 36.94424N, 88.17069W
Reason Selected: We heard lots of great things about this campground from several RVers. Even being from Kentucky, we had never been. So we decided to check it out on our way from southeastern Missouri to Louisville.
Setting: Land Between The Lakes is a nature lover's haven. This campground surrounds a cove of Kentucky Lake and is heavily wooded. The campground roads and campsites are all paved. There are several lakefront sites.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Can handle any size rig, but some loops are tougher than others.
Hook-ups: The sites range from no hook-ups to full hook-ups. There are sites with full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric. There are sites with electric only. There are sites with electric and water. There are places to fill fresh water tanks and there is a dump station. Water is turned off November through March.
Laundry: On-site washers and dryers in nice new bathhouses.
Price & Discounts: Full hook-ups - $24; Electric & Water - $20; Electric Only - $16; No hook-ups - $12. American The Beautiful Senior and Access Pass 50% discounts apply.
Other Factors: This campground has 380 campsites. Almost all of them are heavily shaded, so the possibilities of getting rooftop satellite connections is tough. Staff in the campground are very nice. Website is pretty good and provides more detail than lots of other campground websites.
OVERALL RATING: 7 (out of ten)
We found a beautiful site overlooking the lake that allowed us to get satellite internet. It was really hard to get to and tough to get into. My biggest complaint about this federal campground is the number of seasonals they allow. I don't mean seasonal campers that stay there for months. I mean the locals that keep rigs at the campground all summer, but only use them on the weekends. It seemed as if half of the campground had rigs parked in sites that were not being used. Because of the seasonals, it is hard to get into the campground, and I just have a problem with that for a public, federal campground. For that reason alone, I can't give it more than a 7.

Hillman Ferry Campground


Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List




Journal Site 79: Private Horse Farm - Overall Rating: N/A

Dates: August 29, 2007 - October 22, 2007
Location: Just east of Louisville, KY
Our Site: N/A
GPS Coordinates: Can't give you coordinates - private property
Reason Selected: Owners were looking for workampers to help with groundskeeping. We contacted them about staying, but they had lined someone up. Since they have two sites, we asked if we could just rent one of the spaces while we needed to be in Louisville. They agreed. :)
Setting: The horse farm is back a rural road behind a gated entrance. The RV sites are back a gravel side road so that you can't see the owners' house from the sites. It is a beautiful setting.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: Can handle any size rig - no problem.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric
Laundry: Nope. No problem, we just took it to relatives' houses in Louisville. :)
Price & Discounts: Can't disclose publicly. :)
Other Factors: Really nice family.
OVERALL RATING: N/A (out of ten)
We don't rate private property sites.


Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List




Journal Site 80: Mammoth Cave National Park Campground - Overall Rating: 6

Dates: October 22, 2007 - October 28, 2007
Location: About 10 miles off of I-65 in southern Kentucky. Exit from either exit 53 (Cave City) or 48 (Park City) and follow the signs.
Our Site: 77
GPS Coordinates: 37.18039N, 86.09848W
Reason Selected: We had never stayed at Mammoth Cave, so we wanted to check it out on our way south to Mississippi.
Setting: Very, very wooded campground. It is really pretty, but could get tight when it is full. The campground roads and the campsites are paved. Though it is RV friendly, it seems to be more geared to tenters. There were deer and wild turkeys all around.
Guidebooks: No factor.
Big Rig Friendly: A few sites can handle any size rig, but some of the pull-throughs are really made for smaller RVs.
Hook-ups: No hook-ups at all. There is a dump station and places to fill fresh water tanks.
Laundry: There are some old washers and dryers (3 each) available at the camp store just outside the campground.
Price & Discounts: $17 for no hook-ups. American The Beautiful Senior & Access 50% discounts apply.
Other Factors: We had maybe the only site in the campground where we could just squeeze a satellite signal. Staff was friendly enough. The bathhouse in our loop was closed for construction. The bathhouse at the camp store had showers, but the showers cost $2 for ten minutes. The showers and bathroom was not very nice. As usual, the website for this public campground didn't provide much information.
OVERALL RATING: 6 (out of ten)
We had terrible weather while were here. I tried to not let that affect our rating. The campground is really convenient to the attractions in Mammoth Cave National Park, and there is great, free Wi-Fi at the Mammoth Cave Hotel less than 1/4 mile away. The setting is pretty. My biggest issue was the $17 price for no hook-ups. The campground might have deserved as much as a 7, but I just couldn't do it based on the price, the barely adequate bathhouses, and the $2 charge for showers.

Mammoth Cave National Park Campground


Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List




Journal Site 81: David Crockett State Park - Overall Rating: 6.5

Dates: October 28, 2007 - October 29, 2007
Location: Off Hwy 64 about a 1/2 mile west of Lawrenceburg and about 15 - 20 miles east of the Natchez Trace Parkway
GPS Coordinates: 35.2599N, 87.3620W
Our Site Number: 75
Reason Selected: Our first choice on the Natchez Trace Parkway heading south was full. We try to avoid RV parks in favor of state or federal campgrounds and the David Crockett State Park was our Plan B.
Setting: There are two campgrounds. Campground 2 seems to be more suited to RVs, but we didn't actually see Campground 1. Campground 2 was a nice, wooded campground. However, there was some construction in the campground and we felt a need to move on. So, we really didn't get to check out the campground or the state park fully.
Guidebooks:None used.
Big Rig Friendly: Only a few big rig sites on "top of the hill".
Hook-ups: Water and electric hook-ups (50/30 amps). Dump station is in a funny place. It's right in the middle of the exit from the campground.
Laundry: None
Price & Discounts: $17.50 - April - October; $14.50 - November - March. The website says discounts are available for seniors over 62, but there are no specifics.
Other Factors: Very wooded. We managed to get satellite TV in our spot, but not internet with our rooftop dish. We didn't even look at the bathhouses. The website doesn't give much information on the campground.
OVERALL RATING: 6.5 (out of ten)
In all fairness, we didn't give this campground much of a chance. So our rating is based more on the fact that it didn't grab us, that no one was available in the state park office to help us when we arrived, and the construction in the campground. If we had stayed longer, we might have given it a higher rating. It was a decent setting, so I doubt the rating would have been lower.

David Crockett State Park

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List




Journal Site 82: Piney Grove Corps of Engineers Campground - Overall Rating: 9.5

Dates: October 29, 2007 - November 12, 2007
Location: On the west side of Bay Springs Lake in northeastern Mississippi. About 10 miles off of the Natchez Trace Parkway. Can be accessed from either State Hwy 4 or State Hwy 30. Actually about 15 miles east of Booneville.
GPS Coordinates: 34.56466N, 88.32618W
Our Site Number: 53
Reason Selected: We were looking for natural settings in a state or federal campground along the Natchez Trace Parkway as we traveled south for the winter. Campground hosts at our prior campground recommended Piney Grove highly.
Setting: Mostly wooded campground right on Bay Springs Lake. Several waterfront sites with beautiful views. Many sites have privacy with trees and brush in between. Deer, turkey, armadillos, and other wildlife in and around the campground.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Several pull-throughs, but the back-ins are more suited to the larger rigs. Wonderful paved roads and sites. Plenty of room to maneuver.
Hook-ups: 50/30 amp electric with water. Two nice, conveniently located dump stations.
Laundry: Decent facilities - 3 washers, 3 dryers
Price & Discounts: Waterfront sites are $20. All others are $18. America The Beautiful Senior & Access 50% discounts apply.
Other Factors: Campground hosts and managers were all very nice. They provided us with free firewood after the reservation season ended October 31. Website is decent. Rooftop satellite is difficult - only a few sites to get through the trees to a southern sky view. About 6 miles from a small restaurant/grocery/gas station with both gas & diesel. Wal-mart is about 20 miles. Sites have really nice, large patios with fire rings, pedestal tables, picnic tables, grills, posts for hanging lanterns, etc. Boat ramp within the campground. Short nature trail. Fish cleaning station. Plenty of overflow parking for extra vehicles. Bathhouses are older, but very clean and well maintained.
OVERALL RATING: 9.5 (out of ten)
This is our highest rated campground yet. We loved it! The natural setting, the good roads and paved sites, the huge patios, the lake views - all played a part in the overall camping experience. There are many subtle things in the design of this campground that make you say "Hey, that's well thought out." Plus we were here when the Fall colors were peaking and hardly anyone else was in the campground. We might have had a different experience had we been here on a crowded summer weekend. :) Our anticipated 3 or 4 day stay turned into 2 weeks! This campground would have received our first 10 rating if the sites had sewer hook-ups. Of course they may not have been able to get rid of us if that were the case. :)

Piney Grove Recreation Area Camping

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List



Journal Site 83: Frog Level RV Park - Overall Rating: 5

Dates: November 12, 2007 - November 15, 2007
Location: On the west side of Philadelphia, Mississippi just off Highway 16. About an hour northeast of Jackson.
GPS Coordinates: 32.76023N, 89.15009W
Our Site Number: 39
Reason Selected: We were visiting friends in Philadelphia, MS. The choices for parking were limited, so we selected Frog Level for its conveniences and proximity to the Pearl River Resort casinos and championship golf courses.
Setting: Open campground with side by side, narrow, angled sites. Interior roads and sites are paved. The south side is bordered by a privacy fence with a gas station on the other side and the four-lane Hwy 16 just beyond. A Lowes home center is to the east. A mini-storage is to the north, and a field is to the west separating the RV park from two or three motels. Bradford Pear trees have been planted between sites for some shade, but the sites are so narrow they hinder awnings.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: All pull-throughs. But even the largest sites are barely large enough for a big rig and another vehicle.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50/30 amp electric. Be careful though. The electric is a little suspect. Our SurgeGuard shut our 50 amp electric down several times due to high/low voltage. It was better on 30 amps, but we still had one system shutdown. I wouldn't plug in without a high/low voltage power monitor or power management system.
Laundry: Nice facilities - 4 washers, 4 dryers. And reasonably priced.
Price & Discounts: $20 a night plus tax. Passport America & Happy Camper 50% discounts are a1lowed for two weekday nights per stay (not good on weekends). Good Sam and Escapees discounts available. Weekly rates available - works out to be seven nights for price of six.
Other Factors: Campground office personnel were nice enough but very "matter-of-fact". Bathhouse was decent. No problem with satellite. Website is terrible. Gas and diesel is near at a tenth of a mile. Wal-mart is about a mile. Casinos and golf are three miles away. All campground interior roads can be accessed by a public road - it's not very secure and not remote enough to not worry about it.
OVERALL RATING: 5 (out of ten)
This is not the type of place we would normally stay. And everyone knows we don't like the side-by-side sites where the neighbors are a few feet away. Still, I'm trying to be objective. The good aspects are the full hook-ups, the level sites, the nice laundry facilities, and the convenience to all local attractions and services. However, the suspect electrical detracts just a little from the hook-ups. The website is not helpful at all and includes no information on discounts. The complete accessibility to the public is a little disconcerting as well. And it's certainly not the friendliest place we have ever been. Personally, we had a death in the family and had to leave suddenly. They wouldn't make an exception on their "ABSOLUTELY NO REFUNDS!" policy. I won't ding them too much on that, but most places that desire repeat business would make an exception. Next time we are in the area, we might stay here again because of the limited options, but we would probably opt for camping without hook-ups in the nearby casino lot.



Frog Level RV Park

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 84: Tickfaw State Park Campground - Overall Rating: 8.5

Dates: November 27, 2007 - November 28, 2007
Location: About 10 miles south of I-12 in southeastern Louisiana. Sort of between New Orleans and Baton Rouge. Not real easy to get to.
GPS Coordinates: 30.38412N, 90.63505W
Our Site Number: 19
Reason Selected: We were looking for natural settings in Louisiana as we were making our way to Texas for a volunteer job. It was
RVParkReviews.com that made us take a look at this state park.
Setting: Nice wooded campground sites on a loop. Sites are not really private, but there is great spacing in between. Roads and pads are paved.
Guidebooks: None used, but did use RVParkReviews.com
Big Rig Friendly: All back-in sites, but plenty of room for big rigs. All RV pads are over 65 feet long.
Hook-ups: 50/30 amp electric with water. Nice dump station.
Laundry: There is a laundry but I forgot to check it out.
Price & Discounts: All RV sites are $16. America The Beautiful Senior & Access 50% discounts apply - the only state park we have visited so far that takes those federal discount cards.
Other Factors: Park personnel were very friendly. Website is pretty good. But Louisiana State Parks now also use Reserve America for reservations which, as I have said often, I hate. But we rarely make reservations, so they didn't get my extra $8 or whatever ripoff fee they charge on top of the camping fee. We had a few choices for our rooftop satellite, even with the wooded campground. Trails, boardwalks, and a canoe trail are also in the park. Bathhouses and laundry are located in an elevated building just outside the campground loop - very clean when we were there.
OVERALL RATING: 8.5 (out of ten)
We really like this campground. Unfortunately, because our time was limited, we didn't get a chance to check out the rest of the park. So I have to admit that this rating is sort of based on what we thought the overall experience might have been. If we are ever passing through that part of Louisiana again, you can be sure we will make another stop for a longer period. :)

Tickfaw State Park

Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 85: Private Residence, Lake Charles, LA - Overall Rating: N/A

Dates: November 29, 2007
Location: That's a secret. :)
GPS Coordinates: Can't disclose. :)
Our Site Number: N/A
Reason Selected: We were invited to stop by RV-Dreams readers as we passed through Lake Charles on our way our volunteer stint at Brazoria National Wildlife Refuge in Texas.
Setting: A residential subdivision.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Yep.
Hook-ups: Water & 50/30 amp electric.
Laundry: Did not partake. :)
Price & Discounts: N/A
Other Factors: Great hosts!
OVERALL RATING: N/A (out of ten)
It's always nice staying with folks that have a fifth wheel and have installed hook-ups for guests. :)




Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List


Journal Site 86: Brazoria National Wildlife Refuge Volunteer Village - Overall Rating: 8

Dates: November 30, 2007 - February 15, 2008
Location: About 50 miles south of Houston and a few miles north of the port town of Freeport off of FM 523.
GPS Coordinates: 29.09484N, 95.27913W
Our Site Number: N/A
Reason Selected: Site provided as part of our package as Volunteers for the Brazoria National Wildlife Refuge for part of the winter of 2007/2008
Setting: Open field with 8 gravel RV sites. Open fields to the east, north, and south. There is a public fishing area on Bastrop Bayou across the road to the west. Our site as pictured was one of the few with a tree of any size.
Guidebooks: None used
Big Rig Friendly: Could handle any size rig although interior gravel road could be larger for making turns around loop and backing into sites.
Hook-ups: Full hook-ups with 50 amp electric
Laundry: One very slow, water conserving washer and one dryer in a small community room at the Village.
Price & Discounts: FREE in exchange for volunteer hours
Other Factors: Large, well-spaced RV sites. Also free propane and free laundry. Wind can be very strong and mosquitoes are bad when the wind isn't blowing. Excellent for our rooftop internet satellite.
OVERALL RATING: 8 (out of ten)
Really nice RV sites out in the middle of nowhere. Very quiet most of the time. Would be nice if there was a larger gathering place for volunteers and more washers/dryers. Large sites with full hook-ups on a wonderful wildlife refuge. All roads to the Volunteer Village are paved, but the loop and sites are gravel. Would like to have seen better weather during our stay and the mosquitoes make it almost impossible to sit outside.


Back To 2007 Campground Reviews List